English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. Blitz Basic

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 April 2021, 17:08   #1
seko
Registered User

seko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: istanbul * turkey
Posts: 66
Amiga Robocop game, rework.

Graphics are Arcade robocop game . Checked on amiga 500 512 kb +slow ram 512 kb. Nice , graphic. Game engine , like seem to Kungfu master game .


I just wanted to see the results. Not bad.It takes quite a bit of code to make it work.



Adf image:


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1E8G...ew?usp=sharing




Tested on real amiga 500

[ Show youtube player ]




Tested on winuae amiga 500+



[ Show youtube player ]
seko is offline  
Old 24 April 2021, 12:25   #2
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,151
Wow - one of my favourite games ever but it does get a bit hectic later on! Excellent work.
Havie is offline  
Old 25 April 2021, 23:34   #3
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,449
I had forgotten how much better the arcade graphics were. There is some difference in the order of the mini-games too.
demoniac is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 03:10   #4
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,924
I can help seko with the music but, since cannot find the hoot files for robocop, will likely go for my own mix hoping people will NOT go mad and demand arcade perfect
Actually i just find a file that MIGHT work with hoot so will see what i can do

Last edited by saimon69; 26 April 2021 at 03:30.
saimon69 is offline  
Old 26 April 2021, 15:40   #5
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 46
Posts: 2,316
Nice work. Would be great to see a decent version of this. I was always disappointed with the conversion.
Dastardly is online now  
Old 26 April 2021, 15:42   #6
manossg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Greece
Posts: 756
Looks very good, I will be following this project!
manossg is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 23:52   #7
denymetanol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Alcoy
Posts: 3
Amazing, Murphy now smiles... thanks a lot ^ ^
denymetanol is offline  
Old 11 May 2021, 11:07   #8
Fiery Phoenix
Registered User
Fiery Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bury, Lancs
Age: 44
Posts: 352
The opening speech in the Amiga version, reading the directives - man that always disappointed me. Just sounded (probably was) like an English member of staff reading it out and adding a robotic sound fx. Why didn't they sample the movie?

Thing is, even more annoyingly, the Speccy speech of the directives is spot on and sounds like it is taken directly from the movie!

Always remember the rather weedy hand of Robocop as he grabs his gun in the Amiga version too!
Fiery Phoenix is offline  
Old 11 May 2021, 12:20   #9
VincentGR
Registered User
VincentGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiery Phoenix View Post
The opening speech in the Amiga version, reading the directives - man that always disappointed me. Just sounded (probably was) like an English member of staff reading it out and adding a robotic sound fx. Why didn't they sample the movie?

Thing is, even more annoyingly, the Speccy speech of the directives is spot on and sounds like it is taken directly from the movie!

Always remember the rather weedy hand of Robocop as he grabs his gun in the Amiga version too!
CPC, ZX, GB had the best versions for me, even from the arcade.
Amiga's was terrible, this looks fantastic though.
VincentGR is offline  
Old 11 May 2021, 13:17   #10
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 46
Posts: 973
This looks really nice and the scrolling is lovely and smooth.
Superman is offline  
Old 11 May 2021, 14:48   #11
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
I don't know... going to play the devil's advocate here.

From comparing with the Arcade version via MAME; the graphics look very washed out to me.

I understand it's early days though...
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 May 2021, 14:57   #12
apex
Registered User
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 568
Will check it, thank you!!!
apex is offline  
Old 11 May 2021, 18:41   #13
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I don't know... going to play the devil's advocate here.

From comparing with the Arcade version via MAME; the graphics look very washed out to me.

I understand it's early days though...
I think is due to color reduction, seems 8 colors for DP rather than go for the 16 but might be wrong, and by automatic reduction too
saimon69 is offline  
Old 11 May 2021, 21:39   #14
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
I think is due to color reduction, seems 8 colors for DP rather than go for the 16 but might be wrong, and by automatic reduction too
Probably. Whatever method used though; it doesn't look great at the moment.

As mentioned though, understand this is an early teaser, so am sure things will be improved
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 00:35   #15
seko
Registered User

seko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: istanbul * turkey
Posts: 66
I just made the game sixteen colors.More color was the problem for the Blitz basic.



If your game design is made with assembly. It can use more colors. But writing code, assembly is a very long time.I give up immediately





Arcade robocop captures seventy sprite pieces. reduce colors and then work one day to convert to amiga then code design each sprite frame sequential for showing. it is not easy .


Arcade Robocop sprites include in my blitz code. but only used forty sprites. design continues.Player are controlling partial . jump , punch , walk


I agree with everyone. amiga robocop conversion very bad. no playable




Download new disk
https://drive.google.com/file/d/16j6...zH3gh4WcV/view


New video


[ Show youtube player ]
seko is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 21:11   #16
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,151
So are you using a 16 colour screen or dual playfields?

Is Robocop a sprite as potentially you could make him out of 16 colours and keep your backgrounds the same and have colours for the enemiies too?

Conversion would be a lot of work and I'd be really interested in how you would cope with all the sprites!
Havie is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 22:31   #17
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 46
Posts: 973
Just tried the latest disk and on WinUAE A500 config 512k chip 512k fast it crashes during loading to a guru meditation. The first demo posted loaded fine. It does work with an A1200 config however.

Last edited by Superman; 16 May 2021 at 22:42.
Superman is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 22:54   #18
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 37
Posts: 1,743
Looks amazing Seko, keep up the good work. Did you use HitchHikrs Mame version to Rip the gfx?

I'm guessing the Score at the top is using sprites on top of the tile.

Is Robocop a blitter object of the same 16 colours is he a sprite?

Are you aiming for the A500+ with 1MB chip ram?
redblade is offline  
Old 17 May 2021, 00:22   #19
Gzegzolka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warszawa / Polska
Posts: 1,519
Awesome work it looks great.
Gzegzolka is offline  
Old 17 May 2021, 12:37   #20
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,250
I am sorry but this doesn't look as good as the amiga version, which was IMO meh...



To do this game justice and to match the arcade you're going to need assembler. Blitz most likely won't cut it unless you use some inline assembler.


Nice idea, but I fear you're shooting for the stars in a firework



Quote:
Originally Posted by seko View Post
I just made the game sixteen colors.More color was the problem for the Blitz basic.



If your game design is made with assembly. It can use more colors. But writing code, assembly is a very long time.I give up immediately





Arcade robocop captures seventy sprite pieces. reduce colors and then work one day to convert to amiga then code design each sprite frame sequential for showing. it is not easy .


Arcade Robocop sprites include in my blitz code. but only used forty sprites. design continues.Player are controlling partial . jump , punch , walk


I agree with everyone. amiga robocop conversion very bad. no playable




Download new disk
https://drive.google.com/file/d/16j6...zH3gh4WcV/view


New video


[ Show youtube player ]
BippyM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Pawn rework: freehand Graphics. Finished Work 16 27 June 2020 02:34
[Request] Turrican 1 - Rework slowtide project.WHDLoad 66 04 March 2016 08:14
A1200 Schematics Rework MadAngus support.Hardware 17 22 September 2012 10:23
Amiga used for special effects in Robocop movie vroom6sri Amiga scene 4 29 July 2011 17:48
[Found: RoboCop] Which game's music is this? ancalimon Looking for a game name ? 8 12 February 2009 11:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15929 seconds with 15 queries