English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2021, 10:07   #41
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 39
Posts: 4,200
Yep. My precious second hand A500 stopped functioning and since at that time the PC had taken over and Commodore had gone bankrupt, we tossed it rather than see if it could be repaired. To be fair at that point it had already cost tons of money in replaced monitors, joysticks and mice and it wasn't really being used anymore so at the time it was a fair financial and space decision. It was just another piece of defunct hardware taking up too much space.

Oh oh oh how I hated myself a couple of years later when nostalgia became a disease. Thankfully I discovered WinUAE was already a thing.
gimbal is offline  
Old 15 May 2021, 00:42   #42
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Back in Somerset
Posts: 526
I broke my 1200 in about 1999 and that got binned.
(Who thinks about repairing when the 'delights' of Pentium 2 power and 3D awaits!).
The Microvitec multisync went a year or so later with my VidiAmiga 12 and anything else still lying around..

In around 2004 someone gave me a 1200. I plugged it in, played with Deluxe Paint for 5mins then we'll I don't know where it is. Could have left it in rental loft or given it away I really don't know.
What I find strange is I must have had NO nostalgia for it at that time. I did not even go on the web to check out the scene or how to get software on it.
Bearing in mind at Uni in 1998 I found FTPs with ADF's and those PreWHDLoad HD installs and used my Power Computing HD Floppy Drive to get the stuff off PC floppies. I even found and bought those Lazarus Amiga CDs. I kick myself that I basically had turned my back on Amiga (for dare I say it PC gaming and all that amazing 3D! + COD multiplayer on house LAN etc).

The Microvitec multisync would be handy to have again now.
Higgy is offline  
Old 15 May 2021, 16:25   #43
haps
Rumpig

haps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The bottom of the bottle
Age: 90
Posts: 204
A500 and 2xA600 6 months ago when me and the old girl bought a new house. A heap of peripherals and other old computers went with them. Took them to Office Works because they recycle old computer gear, and the young bloke was amazed that I still had such 'ancient' computer equipment. I wanted to keep it all, but she who must be obeyed needed to be obeyed if I wanted to buy some new fishing gear or tools or what not. :P
haps is offline  
Old 15 May 2021, 17:04   #44
rothers
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 151
I had a 1.2 (with the different coloured LED) Amiga someone (from a publishing company) gave me back in about 1998 and I wanted to see what chips it shared with the Megadrive (and other 68k machines) and I managed to break the machine pulling some chips and yeah it was worth about £20 at the time and it went in the bin. It had a hand written note from commodore about the 1.3 upgrade, I think it was likely an early review machine, it also had hand done mods on the board. Whoops.

But last year on here I gave away another one I had which was working and I think that absolves me
rothers is offline  
Old 15 May 2021, 19:17   #45
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 43
Posts: 3,293
Around 10 years ago I purchased a 'working' A4000.

So I decided to give it a good clean - there was quite a bit of corrosion on the motherboard (battery was already gone) so I put the board in the dishwasher.

It never worked again!

So I gutted the 4000 and sold all the components but I did throw the case away (just the metal chassis).


So my advice: be very wary about motherboards and dishwasher (especially fragile AGA boards - I think an early 500/2000 board could withstand this type of cleaning but just stick to manual methods for best results )
Paul_s is offline  
Old 15 May 2021, 20:08   #46
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 45
Posts: 3,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by haps View Post
I wanted to keep it all, but she who must be obeyed needed to be obeyed if I wanted to buy some new fishing gear or tools or what not. :P
Glad I don't live with my mom anymore
Thorham is offline  
Old 15 May 2021, 22:51   #47
Hercules
Vodka monster.

Hercules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 303
Sold my Blizzard 1260 + SCSI Module as was desperate for cash at the time. Regretted it ever since.
Hercules is offline  
Old 15 May 2021, 22:52   #48
Hercules
Vodka monster.

Hercules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzza View Post
A1200 in a tower, with a PPC and graphics card. I was moving home in 2004. It was taking up space and I hadn't used in years. I threw it in the bin. The regret is strong.
Hercules is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 14:30   #49
haps
Rumpig

haps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The bottom of the bottle
Age: 90
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Glad I don't live with my mom anymore

Hmmmm... The old girl is my wife. I'm the old boy. If I was talking about mum it would be the old girl taking the dirt sleep.
haps is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 17:23   #50
BennehBoy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: England
Posts: 55
I skipped an a1200, squirrel scsi, various scsi cdrom drives, a couple of syquest prodrives and ~5 or 6 removable disks somewhere around 1997/8 - not that long after discovering Quake on the PC.

Literally threw it in a skip, so it's probably in landfill somewhere to this day.
BennehBoy is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 18:28   #51
deladrevoc
Not enough time

deladrevoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: England
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by BennehBoy View Post
Seriously? I'll drive down and collect the lot
2nd in line
deladrevoc is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 19:13   #52
BennehBoy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: England
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by deladrevoc View Post
2nd in line
Sorry mate, I actually already went and got them.

The A600 needed some repairs (There's a recent thread in here). Both C64's work, but one probably needs a recap as it's not loading from tape too well.

I'm just waiting for some upgrades to arrive for the A600 now, 8mb A608 Mini from Poland, PLCC RGB2HDMI, and a 1mb chip upgrade from Ireland. It will then be my kids' whdload machine.

One of the 2 C64C's will become my daily, and my existing breadbin is going to get the full zif treatment so I can use it as a test bed. 2nd C64C I'm giving to a friend.
BennehBoy is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 23:57   #53
Akiko
Registered User
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 202
Yes shamefully I binned several A4000's over the years, I chucked three faulty A4000's in the bin and later sold another three faulty A4000 motherboards on eBay as a joblot and chucked their cases in the bin.

This was the early/mid 2000's when these machines were quite cheap usually under £200, my rational at the time was that I found it cheaper and less stressful to replace the A4000 with another from eBay than it was to actually get the machine repaired, as I recall the only person who was widely recommended for Amiga repairs back then on the forums was a technician called Jean-Jacques Boulet from France, I never had any luck with any of the hardware I sent him, the two A4000's I sent came back repaired which were quite expensive but died again several weeks later, as I recall some people back then were saying he would only replace the damaged component rather than recap the whole machine, which in hindsight is probably exactly what these A4000's needed.
Akiko is offline  
Old 17 May 2021, 12:44   #54
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 46
Posts: 971
I haven't binned any Amiga hardware but I have binned a few floppies and my Amiga Format magazines. I do wish I had kept them.
Superman is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jet Set Willy II, Time for a "Shit Game Time" Review! ZEUSDAZ Retrogaming General Discussion 0 30 July 2020 19:22
Amiga joystick on pc for xyz time, but this time with adapter? :) Srksi support.WinUAE 3 24 May 2018 03:57
Guess it's time to go back in time :) mhh Member Introductions 6 10 April 2011 23:40
App to update Amiga System time from web time?? DDNI request.Apps 2 31 December 2007 07:21
Icon colors are shifting from time to time digital support.WinUAE 15 11 March 2003 22:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12912 seconds with 15 queries