English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 April 2021, 21:51   #1
falken
Amiga Lover
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 151
How to change 'default tool' in Workbench?

Is there a way in Workbench to change the default tool for opening certain files? For example <More> for text files and put another application to see them?
falken is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 21:58   #2
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 43
Posts: 6,472
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Quote:
Originally Posted by falken View Post
Is there a way in Workbench to change the default tool for opening certain files? For example <More> for text files and put another application to see them?
AFAIK you can not bulk change default tool for all the files of the same type, because Amiga does not use extensions for recognising file types. Amiga has only four icon types - tool, project, drawer and disk - and you can set a default tool for a default system project icon, which means if you add a new icon from Presets to a file, it will have a default tool previously set to it (hence Default). But you can/have to set a default tool for each existing project icon separately. So for text files "More" (or PPmore, multiview, whatever), for scripts IconX etc.

Correct me someone if I am wrong, maybe I forgot a lot already.
Predseda is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 21:59   #3
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 536
Generally you would use Multivew + Datatypes for that.

However, I just checked Aminet and there's a program called Show that might do what you want: http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/Show1.0

I haven't tested it but it sounds promising.

There might be a better/more modern way so I'll leave it up to others to make suggestions
Radertified is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 22:04   #4
falken
Amiga Lover
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
AFAIK you can not bulk change default tool for all the files of the same type, because Amiga does not use extensions for recognising file types. Amiga has only four icon types - tool, project, drawer and disk - and you can set a default tool for a default system project icon, which means if you add a new icon from Presets to a file, it will have a default tool previously set to it (hence Default). But you can/have to set a default tool for each existing project icon separately. So for text files "More" (or PPmore, multiview, whatever), for scripts IconX etc.

Correct me someone if I am wrong, maybe I forgot a lot already.
So you suggest that we have to change the files one by one?
falken is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 22:04   #5
falken
Amiga Lover
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radertified View Post
Generally you would use Multivew + Datatypes for that.

However, I just checked Aminet and there's a program called Show that might do what you want: http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/Show1.0

I haven't tested it but it sounds promising.

There might be a better/more modern way so I'll leave it up to others to make suggestions
I'll take a look to see if it helps
falken is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 22:12   #6
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,679
Deficons system.
zipper is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 22:38   #7
falken
Amiga Lover
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
Deficons system.
I'm not talking about changing the icon, but the default tool that opens the different files.
falken is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 22:39   #8
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 3,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by falken View Post
So you suggest that we have to change the files one by one?
This is the idea if you have different icons (image).

OR you can only change 'one' and considering that other text files have the same icon image, simply copy the 'changed one' over the other. Quick and easy to do with a script.
malko is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 23:26   #9
andy2004
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hampshire
Age: 46
Posts: 188
Send a message via Yahoo to andy2004
This is one of the reasons the amiga died.. every time someone wanted to open a file so they clicked on the icon.. thinking it would open a standard app and it would result in PPmore, more, muchmore, least, etc and people would have to have that app in their C folder.. some people preferred one app for certain types.. that of cause was 1 example.. then there where iff files.. etc.. music apps.. you would have to manually change each one.. even today i still have to change when i want to read a file on a emulated floppy and its set to use muchmore.. cause due to screen resolution it screws up the text.. where ppmore doesnt. or it just says cant find program cause someone put the app name in a different folder.. ie.. instead of Cpmore or C:muchmore it says pmore :viewer/ppmore etc.

just did a search on aminet and found another app http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/Action seems to add what i was looking for
andy2004 is offline  
Old 09 April 2021, 23:51   #10
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 3,465
^ This is not correct as usually the needed tool to open the file (cf. your list) was provided on the the floppy containing the text file.
It is only if you copied the file to your HD or to another place that you had to take care about the 'default' tool associated with the icon.
malko is offline  
Old 10 April 2021, 12:34   #11
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,847
Use a proper Filemanager with filetype recognition to open files like DOpus and your problem is solved. For WB there is Deficons as already mentioned. There might be other special tools that help.
daxb is offline  
Old 10 April 2021, 13:04   #12
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by falken View Post
I'm not talking about changing the icon, but the default tool that opens the different files.
Deficons does it by sniffing the first lines of the file and defining the file type, then a default tool can be defined. Like a JPG which begins with: ÿØÿá ¯Exif - it's a JPEG encoded with EXIF metadata.

Last edited by zipper; 10 April 2021 at 13:17.
zipper is offline  
Old 10 April 2021, 13:07   #13
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,903
Have a look at : http://aminet.net/package/util/rexx/dofile52

Needs Arexx !
PeterK is offline  
Old 10 April 2021, 14:27   #14
Exodous
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Leicester / England
Posts: 121
Replex does exactly what you you're looking for:

http://aminet.net/package/util/cli/Replex
Exodous is offline  
Old 10 April 2021, 17:49   #15
falken
Amiga Lover
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exodous View Post
Replex does exactly what you you're looking for:

http://aminet.net/package/util/cli/Replex
This one works like a charm. Thank you all guys !
falken is offline  
Old 11 April 2021, 19:52   #16
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,831
I use IDer:
http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/IDer

You can set which prog opens what file type
by extension or file header
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 16 April 2021, 14:27   #17
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,248
DefIcons is great, it was included as part of OS3.9 so I've been using it for over 20 years and I miss it whenever I'm using an Amiga without it. I believe it's coming back for inclusion in OS 3.2, which is great news.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 April 2021, 16:20   #18
crazyc
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 719
I couldnt get IDer to work for me on 3.1.4.1 but may have messed up my setup trying other things.

I suspect I will not bother spending much more time with 3.1.4.1 then and keep using my 3.9 system until 3.2 appears. (Except for one game I cant make work on 3.9)
crazyc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set default tool? fstltna support.Other 4 19 April 2019 21:31
Workbench 1.3 path and icon default tool question AmigaLee support.Other 3 15 March 2019 17:10
How to change default tool for file types AndyFC project.ClassicWB 2 13 February 2013 10:18
HELP! How to change icon default tool in WB buckrogers New to Emulation or Amiga scene 18 07 March 2005 05:27
The icon(s) have no default tool(s) !!!! THX1138 support.Apps 5 08 March 2003 03:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10696 seconds with 15 queries