English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

Old 02 April 2019, 21:24   #1
oRBIT
Zone Friend

How fast can the Amiga read a floppy?

I'm just a bit curious, how fast could the Amiga read a floppy, assuming we bypass the filesystem? As far as I remember, X-copy read like 1 track / second (or something similar), but is it possible to go faster (with minimum error-detection/correction)?
I've no experience writing custom trackloaders but I'm just curious..
Old 02 April 2019, 21:52   #2
ross
Defendit numerus

Quote:
Originally Posted by oRBIT View Post
I'm just a bit curious, how fast could the Amiga read a floppy, assuming we bypass the filesystem? As far as I remember, X-copy read like 1 track / second (or something similar), but is it possible to go faster (with minimum error-detection/correction)?
I've no experience writing custom trackloaders but I'm just curious..
Some raw data, but consider that everything depends on the Amiga base clock, so they are slightly approximated.

A bitcell in a DD floppy is 2us and there are 5 disk rotations/sec (300 rpm).
So theoretically you can read 100000 cells/rotation (actually Amiga can do a little better than this).
In a standard MFM encoding 2 cells are required for 1 bit of data, so 100000/2/8=6250 raw bytes per track.
For a raw speed of 6250*5=31250kB/s -> 30.5Kib/s

Off course there are sector headers, checksums, gaps, syncs and times lost for settle and head movement, so values are a little "worse".
I would say that with commitment you can also reach a real 25KiB/s speed (with 11*512bytes sectors/track).

So with a good loader and a complete 160-track disk reading (880 KiB), this is something like a time of ~35 secs
(much much more that a 1 track/second)

EDIT: just checked X-Copy and got 37secs for a full disk read so I was a bit optimistic
I should try a version of my loader designed only for maximum speed, maybe a day..

Last edited by ross; 02 April 2019 at 22:52. Reason: spelling...