English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 March 2005, 22:43   #1
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,350
Happy A prototype CD drive for a500.

Hey check out this 'prototype' cd rom drive. Produced by commodore.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...177184648&rd=1

Info on the cd-rom drive.

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showha...i?HARDID=533m/

If anyone here buys it feedback to us about it



Looks quite cool
Smiley is offline  
Old 18 March 2005, 23:35   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
An a570 isn't unheard of. I doubt this is really a prototype since the text is a direct copy paste from amiga-hardware.com
 
Old 19 March 2005, 00:14   #3
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
Prototype my arse, some of these DID go to the streets with the A690 badger on them I think.
Quote:
I have had this device connected to my own Amiga 500. I did NOT manage to get anything other than my Kickstart 1.3 screen. Therefore this device is being sold as defective.
Seems like someone can get a bargain out of the guy's Amiga ignorance... Bid ahead!
Akira is offline  
Old 19 March 2005, 10:32   #4
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 414
HMMM. looks like it might just qualify as a proto...

http://amiga.emugaming.com/prototypes/a690.html
tin is offline  
Old 19 March 2005, 13:22   #5
DopPie
Zone Friend

DopPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Den Hoorn, NL
Age: 43
Posts: 259
That has to be a proto. Otherwise; what is up with all the patching cables?
DopPie is offline  
Old 19 March 2005, 15:02   #6
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,350
It is a kind of prototype. It was an early a570. The a570 and a690 are virtually identical. According to one website only a few a690's were given out.
Smiley is offline  
Old 19 March 2005, 15:25   #7
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Then we've seen so many lies on ebay that we didn't believe even if it's fact this time!
 
Old 19 March 2005, 15:38   #8
lloyd
Mehh :D
lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bristol, SW UK
Age: 59
Posts: 242
I've got one of them A570's in my garden shed! Used to work, stopped one day so got stored. By no means rare are they?
lloyd is offline  
Old 19 March 2005, 17:39   #9
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
In any case the bargin is cheap. The drive surely works but the guy doesn't know how to get it going, as I quoted above.

So get it now!
Akira is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500++ Prototype Smiley Amiga scene 36 08 January 2015 01:55
Vesalia A500 Drive quantum112 support.Hardware 28 23 March 2012 17:21
Is it possible to use A500 CD drive for games? aksuduud support.Hardware 9 09 September 2010 11:44
A500 Hard Drive raindancerob support.Hardware 2 26 August 2009 13:42
Project: Adding a CF Drive as an Hard Drive to an A500 mfletcher support.Hardware 8 03 July 2008 00:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07278 seconds with 13 queries