English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 December 2022, 20:22   #1
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
AMPlifier Invokes a Guru when PLAYing a MP2 via ARexx

Hi all!

I wrote ARexx tests for many players supporting it and I got a problem with AMPlifier: when invoking its PLAY command via ARexx, I receive the visit of the Guru 8000 0003 (AMPlifier works as expected when I use its GUI.)

I increased the stack and checked with SnoopDOS... Any idea? Is it still under development or does anyone know its developer?

Take care!
Attached Files
File Type: txt SnoopDos.txt (3.9 KB, 39 views)
tygre is offline  
Old 04 December 2022, 22:41   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,305
The play command works fine here with the old version 2.10.
daxb is offline  
Old 04 December 2022, 23:18   #3
DisasterIncarna
Registered User
 
DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 1,203
Off topic(ish) but maybe FFPlay support? it also has ARexx support and can play audio only as well as video, has its own arexx script(s) to do things and has extra arexx options shown in its readme, i have my own script which uses FFPlays arexx quit function before trying to open a new file so any previous playing file is exited before the new one is loaded.

Code:
The "ffplay_loadfile.rexx" script can be modified to for example enable
framedrop option,

rx "ADDRESS FFPLAY_AREXX <COMMAND>"

available commands:

QUIT, PAUSE, AUDIOWAVE, FULLSCREEN, BACKWARD, FORWARD, FBACKWARD, FFORWARD,
SKIPFRAME, SCREENSHOT, CYCLEAUDIO, CYCLEVIDEO, CYCLESUBTITLE, ABOUT,
VOLMIN, VOLHALF, VOLMAX, HELP
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 05 December 2022, 01:18   #4
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
The play command works fine here with the old version 2.10.
I'm using the 2.33 version... Will try with the 2.10!
tygre is offline  
Old 05 December 2022, 01:20   #5
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisasterIncarna View Post
Off topic(ish) but maybe FFPlay support? it also has ARexx support and can play audio only as well as video, has its own arexx script(s) to do things and has extra arexx options shown in its readme, i have my own script which uses FFPlays arexx quit function before trying to open a new file so any previous playing file is exited before the new one is loaded.

Code:
The "ffplay_loadfile.rexx" script can be modified to for example enable
framedrop option,

rx "ADDRESS FFPLAY_AREXX <COMMAND>"

available commands:

QUIT, PAUSE, AUDIOWAVE, FULLSCREEN, BACKWARD, FORWARD, FBACKWARD, FFORWARD, SKIPFRAME, SCREENSHOT, CYCLEAUDIO, CYCLEVIDEO, CYCLESUBTITLE, ABOUT, VOLMIN, VOLHALF, VOLMAX, HELP
I may try it in the future but the set of ARexx commands is rather limited: it doesn't seem to allow loading new songs, playing them, etc. Or does it?
tygre is offline  
Old 05 December 2022, 04:08   #6
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Hi Daxb!

I tried with 2.10 and, indeed, I can OPEN and PLAY a MP2 However, I have now a problem with PLAYSTATE

In my tests, if AMPlifier is not playing anything, then:

rx "OPTIONS RESULTS; ADDRESS 'AMPLIFIER.1'; PLAYSTATE; SAY RC; SAY RESULT"

outputs, as expected:

0
1


(With 1 meaning stopped, 2 paused, and 3 playing.)

BUT, if AMPlifier starts playing, then the same command line blocks on PLAYSTATE until I close AMPlifier, which results in RC being 100. (Even when the song is over, PLAYSTATE still blocks.)

I think that SnoopDOS confirms the problem:

ARexx FindPort AMPLIFIER.1 OK
ARexx SendRexx PLAYSTATE AMPLIFIER.1 <NOTHING HERE, OK EXPECTED>


Does AMPlifier do the same for you? Would you have any idea?

Take care!
tygre is offline  
Old 05 December 2022, 15:20   #7
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,305
Here with V2.10 it works fine (behave and return codes are ok as expected). If you get the problems with V2.10 I would search for other error sources. Maybe rexxsyslib.library (I use V45.3). Debug tools like MuForce, SegTracker, sashimi, ... can help.
daxb is offline  
Old 05 December 2022, 15:50   #8
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Thanks Daxb!

So you played a MP2 and, while playing, PLAYSTATE returned as expected?

I have MuForce et al. always running and nothing showed there...
I will check my version of the rexxsyslib.library later today
tygre is offline  
Old 05 December 2022, 18:40   #9
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,305
It was MPEG1 Layer 3 but yes, playstate returned as expected. If you think it could be the file format. Try other types like AIFF, MAUD, WAVE or RAW (should work, at least the readme say so).

I tried AIFF and RAW and both let Amplifier crash (Exception 00000005). MuForce shows audio.outmod at the address where it might happened. Maybe this bugs has been fixed in V2.33?
daxb is offline  
Old 06 December 2022, 02:00   #10
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Hi Daxb!

My version of rexxsyslib.library is much older than yours: 36.24

I think that mine comes with Workbench 3.0 or 3.1, what about yours?

Thanks!
tygre is offline  
Old 06 December 2022, 11:47   #11
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,305
Sorry, I can't remember where I got it from. Usually the library is provided with the OS, but maybe it was a patch or was released by THOR? Ask him or check the latest OS version.
daxb is offline  
Old 06 December 2022, 18:49   #12
Ponki1986
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Glubczyce / Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 168
Someone already came up with something similar. There is support for AMPlifier. Check it may help you.

http://aminet.net/package/mus/play/MultiMeedio
Ponki1986 is offline  
Old 06 December 2022, 19:21   #13
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Thanks Ponki1986 The Arexx script there does actually less than I want and doesn't help with the Gurus that AMPlifier invokes
tygre is offline  
Old 06 December 2022, 21:29   #14
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,254
tygre also exists Amplifer 2.35, I have successfully tested WAV, AIFF, FLAC, MP3 files !


Amiplifier 2.35:
- fixed negative time display bug when the size of the mp3 increase while playing (when downloading the actual song from internet).
- fixed MPEG-infowindow filename underscore bug
- The ARexx interface has been re-written using the arexx.class (this fixed a bug in the ARexx interface using it with very long commands, droped the WAIT command - the arexx.class doesn't support it).

http://web.archive.org/web/200703051...plifier235.lha
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 06 December 2022, 23:40   #15
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Hi AmigaSystem!

Thanks for finding this version but it crashes my Amiga at the start: it looks for a Workbench.library v45, which I don't have on my Amiga. I have v40.5... In which AmigaOS version does v45 appear?

Take care!
tygre is offline  
Old 07 December 2022, 01:21   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by tygre View Post
Hi AmigaSystem!

Thanks for finding this version but it crashes my Amiga at the start: it looks for a Workbench.library v45, which I don't have on my Amiga. I have v40.5... In which AmigaOS version does v45 appear?

Take care!
- Workbench.library v45.131, you can find it in the BoinBag 3
http://lilliput.amiga-projects.net/F...ingBag39-3.lha

- Workbench.library v45.138, you can find it in the BoingBags 3&4 v1.47
http://amigan.1emu.net/releases/


I use the Workbench.library v45.132
http://amigan.1emu.net/releases/BoingBags3&4.lha

Important info Workbench.library v45.132 !!!
https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=65735

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 07 December 2022 at 01:33.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 07 December 2022, 17:09   #17
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Hi AmigaSystem!

Thanks for this info. All these BoingBags are for OS3.9 and not official, or are they? In the meantime, I will stick to my "vanilla" AmigaOS v3.1

Still the same problems with AMPlifier v2.33 and v2.10 though I tried with a new version of rexxsyslib.library without luck.

I will leave my evaluation ofAMPlifier as it is for now, it should work (at least not crash) on AmigaOS v3.1.

Take care!
tygre is offline  
Old 07 December 2022, 19:37   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,254
Ok tygre and sorry to say my point about OS3.1, everyone chooses to use what they like best.
Unfortunately OS 3.1 is too outdated, at the moment people who like old games use it, people who like to use Applications usually use Os 3.9 or OS 3.1/3.2.

Updating OS 3.1 always brings issues whenever you try some newer application!
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 08 December 2022, 00:48   #19
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Hey AmigaSystem!

Actually, out of the 27+ players that I tested, only AMPlifier is causing me so many problems

And, according to its readmes/guides, its requirements are AmigaOS v2.04 for v2.10 and AmigaOS v3.0+ for v2.35

Take care!
tygre is offline  
Old 08 December 2022, 04:08   #20
tygre
Returning fan!
 
tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 1,434
Hey!

Thanks AmigaSystem, you put me into the right direction!
I read more carefully the change logs for v2.33 and v2.35 and got both v2.10 and v2.33 to work!

The clue was in the change log of v2.35, which says "The ARexx interface has been rewritten [...] with very long commands [...]." I realised that the path to my test files was (quite) long so I changed my tests to copy first the files to RAM: and now they pass

(I still can't run v2.35 because it requires workbench.library v45+ but that's okay for me!)

Cheers!
tygre is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mp3's / mp2's not playing on amiga ed777 support.Apps 15 06 December 2016 12:21
Key For Amplifier? dannyp1 support.Apps 8 02 August 2015 13:19
Amplifier macce2 request.Apps 5 07 September 2006 19:42
Some mp3s not playing in Amplifier Smiley support.Apps 4 12 June 2006 09:47
Amiga Amplifier Dave_wb support.Apps 2 04 September 2005 13:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:41.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09732 seconds with 14 queries