English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 June 2007, 13:21   #1
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
DKB1202 + 68882 higher than 20mhz?

Hi folks,

My newly put together A1200 tower has now got a DKB 1202 expansion with the following specs/bits:
8mb RAM (actually more is physically fitted, but can only see 8mb, this is working fine though).
68882 chip fitted.
20mhz crystal is fitted.

So really what I want to know is can I put a faster crystal in it and if so, should I add a heatsink to the FPU?

Amigakit stock 24, 25, 28.6363, 33.330, 50, 60, 64,66, 66.667, 80 & 100mhz crystals...which one to choose?

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 19 June 2007, 13:40   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 43
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
just wondering, what do you use the FPU for ?
coze is offline  
Old 19 June 2007, 14:09   #3
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
I have no idea, I just put the machine together
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 10:10   #4
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
On a more serious note.

Would people please check this link http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...cfcb49ff22227c and tell me which crystals I can use for the following:

a: To speed up the processor of my A600.

b: For my DKB1202 with 68882.

c: To speed up the processor of my A1200.

Someone please let me know, as I don't want to kill anything by over-speeding it

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 10:20   #5
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 43
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
you can't just pop in a faster crystal to a standard amiga and expect it to work. The crystals on amiga boards not only determine processor clock, but also bus, floppy access, video timings.

The DKB1202 may have a seperate crystal which controls only the FPU clock. if this is so you can change it. However, FPU is not something which used a lot, and you won't notice any difference at your computer unless you do some serious 3d rendering or use spreadsheets, database applications.
coze is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 10:24   #6
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
The crystals on amiga boards not only determine processor clock, but also bus, floppy access, video timings.
Ok, thanks man, I was not aware that it would ruin everything else, so I'll avoid changing the mobo crystal

Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
The DKB1202 may have a seperate crystal which controls only the FPU clock. if this is so you can change it. However, FPU is not something which used a lot, and you won't notice any difference at your computer unless you do some serious 3d rendering or use spreadsheets, database applications.
It does, and I appreciate your input, point noted, but could you give me some idea of what I can go up to without causing damage?

Thanks heaps
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 10:31   #7
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 43
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
I'ld say go for 33 MHz or something if the original is at 20 MHz. It shouldn't cause any damage since the chip is sitting idle, however I can't accept any responsiblity if it blows in your face
coze is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 10:33   #8
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Cool, many thanks and disclaimer noted!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 10:42   #9
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 43
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
before you swap the crystal, run your amiga and keep your hand over the chips on the DKB1202 and try to feel how hot they run. Then do the same after swapping the crystal. If any chip is getting too hot to hold your hand on, it's not good. You don't want to burn some GAL or other peculiarity. remember, always be safe
coze is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 10:43   #10
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Good point man
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 November 2007, 08:31   #11
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Just a little update and checking some facts...

I went for a 33.330mhz crystal and it's been running fine, without any heating problems.

BUT, the guy I bought it off emailed me today and said the 68882 could handle over 55mhz.

Sounds great to me...can anyone verify?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 November 2007, 08:37   #12
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
why bother overclocking the useless FPU in the amiga? unless u use some ancient rendering prog, there is no point in it...
keropi is offline  
Old 12 November 2007, 09:22   #13
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
For the sake of it...just like everything else we do with Amigas

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 November 2007, 12:50   #14
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
@Fingerz

Cool over-clocking I just love it

you should be able to play the FPU version of doom quite quickly now

The 68882 should handle 50mhz, but remember to put atleast a passive heatsink on it and a small fan if you plan to abuse it
insofar as the A600, I will be working on a VERY cheap CPU/RAM upgrade for it soon. so watch that space.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 November 2007, 12:58   #15
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@Fingerz

Cool over-clocking I just love it

you should be able to play the FPU version of doom quite quickly now

The 68882 should handle 50mhz, but remember to put atleast a passive heatsink on it and a small fan if you plan to abuse it
insofar as the A600, I will be working on a VERY cheap CPU/RAM upgrade for it soon. so watch that space.
Always loving the good words from Zetro!

All above noted, new crystal, heatsink, grease, etc ordered this payday!

As for the RAM...I gots to know man, did you fire six shots or only five? (Dirty Harry) Can you PM me with some info?

Whoot!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 November 2007, 13:01   #16
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
I can indeed, check your PM in a couple moes
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 November 2007, 13:06   #17
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Incessantly refreshing the PM page as we speak!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 November 2007, 13:08   #18
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
LOL, can you hear me now?!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 November 2007, 13:22   #19
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Yeah man, took me while to reply...I can't see the keys properly!

So, I forgot to add in the PM...........I should hold off on an A600 RAM purchase for now?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 12 November 2007, 13:29   #20
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
@Fingerz

unless you need one in the next couple of months, it might be wise to hold back a bit.
Zetr0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SoundFX 1.994 or higher chris70c request.Apps 0 20 May 2010 19:42
2x 68882 25 MHz (Motorola PGA) against 1x 68882 50 MHz bastibs Swapshop 2 26 April 2009 14:41
I guess if I want higher resolutions... tonyyeb support.Hardware 1 25 August 2008 17:36
Workbench 2.05 or higher Coldwinter request.Apps 4 10 August 2006 16:49
Forcing old programs to higher resolution BiL0 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 30 April 2006 11:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10195 seconds with 13 queries