English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 January 2014, 19:10   #81
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,343
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGS View Post
Maybe this happens because I take the Mousepos rather from the Window than from the Message. Because I have Popupwindows that require me to get a mousepos relative to that windows. Other explanation: when you release the mousebutton, there are still messages to process. so it looks like a delay ...
Don't know whether you solved this problem yet, but how do you handle multiple IDCMP_MOUSEMOVE messages? Could doing something like this improve things (in C-like pseudo-code):
Code:
eventloop:
  get_message();
  if (message_type == IDCMP_MOUSEMOVE) {
    update_mouse_pos();   // Update your program's mouse X and Y variables, but don't do any other processing
    goto eventloop;
  }
  // Handle other types of message
  ...
The idea of doing that is, you effectively ignore all but the most recent IDCMP_MOUSEMOVE.

Also, are you only interested in mouse events when the pointer is over a gadget? You can use GACT_FOLLOWMOUSE instead of receiving mouse events for the entire window (WA_ReportMouse).

Last edited by mark_k; 18 January 2014 at 19:53.
mark_k is offline  
Old 18 January 2014, 20:40   #82
AGS
XoXo/Tasko Developer
 
AGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Munich
Age: 48
Posts: 450
I think I need to process the mousemoves because if I just update the pos, classes will never known that user moved the mouse over a gadget. I do not use intuition or boopsi gadgtes but render and manage my own. However I am ignoring mousmoves that come with the same coordinates. Sometimes I get a lot of those, dunno why.

Last edited by AGS; 18 January 2014 at 21:14.
AGS is offline  
Old 18 January 2014, 21:13   #83
AGS
XoXo/Tasko Developer
 
AGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Munich
Age: 48
Posts: 450
Happy

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Colorpicker:
Freeze/crash (no hit) after press the button preview to get the color red and then change the RGB values vial keyboard. At least it happens also in the last version.
This means the crashes I described do not happen on your system? Please try 'use'-ing the config and then click 'revert'.
AGS is offline  
Old 18 January 2014, 21:18   #84
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,343
Okay. Suppose the user has moved the mouse over a gadget, but by the time you process the mousemove messages the pointer is not over the gadget any more. Do you want to process the messages, reading the pointer position at the time of the message (i.e. from each message), or just read the current pointer position from the Window structure? If no button was pressed, could you ignore all the "older" mousemove messages? Or do your gadgets need to know all mouse moves?

Maybe if there is some way to quickly discard unneeded mousemove messages that could reduce any lag effect. Or if in some cases you don't actually need mousemove messages (maybe they are only needed for certain gadget types???), change the window's IDCMP flags so you don't get mousemove messages.
mark_k is offline  
Old 18 January 2014, 22:32   #85
AGS
XoXo/Tasko Developer
 
AGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Munich
Age: 48
Posts: 450
I discard mousemoves that come with the same coordinates as the previous ones. On slow systems this seems to happen. I need the moves always, so that I know if the mouse has entered a gadget or left it. If the mouse is not over a gadget, how will I know if it entered a gadget without reading the mousmoves.
AGS is offline  
Old 18 January 2014, 23:32   #86
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,343
This might not be possible depending on how versatile your custom gadget system is. But have you considered using a "dummy" Intuition gadget for each of your custom gadgets? The dummy gadget wouldn't have any imagery, but you could easily be notified when the mouse moves over it or is clicked on it.
mark_k is offline  
Old 19 January 2014, 14:08   #87
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGS View Post
This means the crashes I described do not happen on your system? Please try 'use'-ing the config and then click 'revert'.
Starting GUI twice or more works. Click on revert works too.
daxb is offline  
Old 19 January 2014, 14:18   #88
AGS
XoXo/Tasko Developer
 
AGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Munich
Age: 48
Posts: 450
Thank you, the Bug occured if some file of the skin images was missing or so. Fixed. Can you provide me an Enforcer output of the colorpicker bug?
AGS is offline  
Old 19 January 2014, 20:53   #89
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,304
No MuForce hit or something else, sorry.
daxb is offline  
Old 20 January 2014, 00:26   #90
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,377
Quote:
when I use the original icon.library and open my App on an own screen, the icon colors are wrong. When I use your lib, the icon colors are correct. Can you tell me why?
Hi AGS, you can find my answer in the IconLib thread.
PeterK is offline  
Old 22 January 2014, 16:53   #91
AGS
XoXo/Tasko Developer
 
AGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Munich
Age: 48
Posts: 450
New Version. Features live Screen-Switch (added, yet on the 'application' test page in oxlibinfo). Colorpicker bug might still be there.

http://images.quicktunnels.net/openxui_latest.zip


@mark_k

I cannot really use system gadgets because I support virtual clipping areas, so called 'windows in windows' for which intuition and boopsi gadgets don't care. They are also not compatible to windows with scrollbars if the window is not GZZ (they hang out over the borders).

Last edited by AGS; 22 January 2014 at 17:16.
AGS is offline  
Old 26 February 2014, 08:09   #92
AGS
XoXo/Tasko Developer
 
AGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Munich
Age: 48
Posts: 450
First App using this GUI-engine released: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=72695
AGS is offline  
Old 14 March 2014, 06:57   #93
JPQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
is totally unsable using for example c language*?*looks nice and maybe even east way make modern gui.
JPQ is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 14:51   #94
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,187
It might work in high level languages with the right wrappers. Have you ever written an fd file for the library?
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 17:54   #95
JPQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
It might work in high level languages with the right wrappers. Have you ever written an fd file for the library?
No. btw i dont need this if i found nice way make gui with C.
JPQ is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 04:38   #96
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,187
An FD file could be converted into a pragma file using FD2PRAGMA (found on Aminet and elsewhere) for use with any C compiler and other converters like FD2MODULE (which comes with AmigaE) for use with the AmigaE compiler. All the information that's needed to be used to create an FD file is already included in ox_lib.i in the comments and LVOs.

I guess my next question should be: Would you be interested in getting OX to work on C, AmigaE, and others?
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 21:08   #97
AGS
XoXo/Tasko Developer
 
AGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Munich
Age: 48
Posts: 450
Smile upcoming new version

Yet new features include:

* new working window menus
* alpha png images using pngflux.library
* on the fly calculated color gradients
* screen change and iconify
* tooltips for any GUI elements (even for menu entries)
* auto saving/loading of options in applications

Do you have an idea what little tool to code using this engine? I am looking for ideas.

AGS is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 21:32   #98
oRBIT
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 339
This looks really promising! I have to check this out.
oRBIT is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 21:49   #99
AGS
XoXo/Tasko Developer
 
AGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Munich
Age: 48
Posts: 450
Please look into the XoXo-Thread. There you can find a working app that uses the GUI.
AGS is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 15:37   #100
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
Hey AGS, this looks great. What open source license is this released under?
wXR is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open-source dos.library Don_Adan Coders. System 273 02 September 2020 00:42
Misc Amiga Assembler Source Code copse Coders. General 14 20 October 2019 02:05
Open-source graphics library Don_Adan Coders. System 32 15 January 2013 22:15
NewsRog goes Open Source Paul News 0 04 December 2004 16:37
BlitzBasic - Is now open source Djay Amiga scene 2 08 February 2003 01:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:18.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12975 seconds with 14 queries