English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 May 2023, 21:13   #101
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
PiCiJi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 44
Posts: 349
Denise has completely different settings and identifiers. That can't work.
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 09 May 2023, 21:40   #102
pixie
Registered User
 
pixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Figueira da Foz
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiCiJi View Post
Denise.exe Disk1.adf -config-amiga settings.ini
This will start Disk 1 and load its own settings file. In the settings file, the swapper can be filled with the following parameters.

swapper_1_path: D:/amiga/disks/Amoon.zip
swapper_1_file: AmbermoonA.adf
swapper_1_id: 0
swapper_2_path: D:/amiga/disks/Amoon.zip
swapper_2_file: AmbermoonB.adf
swapper_2_id: 1
...


Here the disks are inserted into the drives
DF0_path:
DF0_file:
...
Would it make sense to have a .den file extension format that would be nothing more then a zip file with a config for the disk swapping, much like an osx app, which is nothing more then a standardized folder... ?
pixie is offline  
Old 10 May 2023, 19:22   #103
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
PiCiJi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 44
Posts: 349
Quote:
Would it make sense to have a .den file extension format that would be nothing more then a zip file with a config for the disk swapping, much like an osx app, which is nothing more then a standardized folder... ?
I think the easiest way is to pass the followup disks directly as command line parameters. The script a few postings above looks to me like a dynamically assembled config file for UAE emulators. I think that's almost too complicated to just hand over the follow disks in a dynamic generated settings file. Sure, most frontend loaders have a way to generate command line parameters dynamically.

Denise.exe Disk1.adf -config-amiga settings.ini -swapper game.zip
or
Denise.exe Disk1.adf -config-amiga settings.ini -swapper Disk1.adf Disk2.adf Disk3.adf
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 28 May 2023, 22:08   #104
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
PiCiJi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 44
Posts: 349
In the last nightly, Vsync can now be enabled again together with VRR.
This may be necessary for certain graphics hardware. There are isolated indications of this. I can't confirm it with my hardware, at least not for 2D retro gaming, which is described by the fact that the frame pacing remains constant and changes are rather the exception and certainly not from frame to frame.
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 01 June 2023, 12:45   #105
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
(there are only a few .exe files left that I could not find on the pack disks)
I found solution for a few .exe file left by using exe2adf tool! ( https://www.exe2adf.com/ )

This tool creates an .adf file and put the .exe file on it together with startup-sequence file. (I think winuae uses a similar metod to start an exe file directly)

So tested remain demos = no prob. found! (EDIT: Some problems found and reported in Denise bugfixes and improvements thread)

Last edited by amilo3438; 01 June 2023 at 18:39.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 09 July 2023, 18:25   #106
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,446
I recommend updating to the latest nightly version! (many of the gfx problems have been fixed)

How? Check it out in post #1.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 08 August 2023, 16:10   #107
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
PiCiJi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 44
Posts: 349
nightly: added DMS support

currently supported: ADF, ADZ, EXT1, EXT2, DMS or archives

DMS, ADZ, ZIP, GZ, TAR.GZ archives can be written in the emulation and the write process is also visible within the emulation.
However, these changes are not saved permanently (outside of emulation) because Denise does not modify archives.
Savestates, however, also store these changes. In this way it is possible to permanently preserve changes in ADZ and DMS files.

Note: EXT1 (used by some Factor 5 games) is not suitable for mapping write operations. For this reason, each write operation within an EXT1 creates an EXT2.
So the next time you start it, it's an EXT2.
Don't worry, persistent writes don't happen right away. But only when the floppy disk is removed or restarted.
If a write process takes place in the emulation, there is a security question when swapping the disk whether the changes should actually be written.
In this way, an EXT1 will not accidentally become an EXT 2 or changes will be made to ADF's.
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 08 August 2023, 16:46   #108
hexaae
Bug hunter
 
hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 47
Posts: 2,153
Great!
hexaae is offline  
Old 08 August 2023, 19:25   #109
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiCiJi View Post
nightly: added DMS support
I checked several demos with the .dms extension and they all worked fine!

Ps.
Maybe IPF would be nice to support also in Denise!
IPF Support Library: http://www.softpres.org/download

Last edited by amilo3438; 08 August 2023 at 19:36.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 12 August 2023, 17:24   #110
rutra80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 302
@PiSiJi I did a bit more testing of problems I have, and it seems that:

1. GSync is indeed working, and interlace jerkiness comes from somewhere else not related to frame pacing - I suspect GUI updates (disk drive info?).

2. Integer scaling is integer when I disable Crop border. You might reconsider order in which you do cropping & scaling so it is always integer when enabled.

Also looking forward for IPF and encrypted ROM support.
rutra80 is offline  
Old 25 August 2023, 15:42   #111
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
PiCiJi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 44
Posts: 349
nightly: add IPF support, minimum supported version is 4

Windows: put CAPSImg.dll or CAPSImg_x64.dll in Denise folder
Linux: put libcapsimage.so to /usr/lib, ln -s /usr/lib/libcapsimage.so.4.2 /usr/lib/libcapsimage.so.4 OR ln -s /usr/lib/libcapsimage.so.5.1 /usr/lib/libcapsimage.so.5
macOS: put CAPSImage.framework to /Library/Frameworks OR copy CAPSImage to /usr/local/lib and rename to libcapsimage.4.dylib or libcapsimage.5.dylib

When using the floppy setting "Turbo" in combination with IPF, problems can occur, as exact timing is often important here.
In order not to have to constantly remember to change the "Turbo" setting when switching from ADF to IPF, "Turbo" (if enabled) is automatically deactivated temporarily on all tracks of an IPF image, where timing informations
are included in the IPF.
This reduces the likelihood of read errors with Turbo IPF's. However, a track without timing information can also have a non-normal (like EXT.ADF) bit cell length and thus serve as copy protection. Without timing information, the bit cell length applies equally to the entire track.
Only by means of timing information can variable bit cell widths be defined within a track.
edit: like DMS or compressed ADF there is no way to write changes (e.g. hiscores) back to IPF. Only a savestate can memory such changes. Later i will support delta files. this way a image can be restarted without a savestate.

Quote:
Also looking forward for IPF and encrypted ROM support.
What do you mean by Encrypted ROM's? some archives currently not supported like: rar or 7z

Last edited by PiCiJi; 25 August 2023 at 15:59.
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 25 August 2023, 16:33   #112
Anubis
Retro Gamer
 
Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underworld
Age: 51
Posts: 4,008
Great improvements!!!

Erm, how I download nightly build to test it?
Anubis is offline  
Old 25 August 2023, 16:44   #113
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee
 
TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 29,765
Quote:
to find nightlies: click a build (top most entry), click OS, click "Artifacts", download it
Have you disabled signatures?
TCD is online now  
Old 25 August 2023, 19:21   #114
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiCiJi View Post
"Turbo" (if enabled) is automatically deactivated temporarily on all tracks of an IPF image, where timing informations
are included in the IPF.
Interesting approach. I played some Lost Patrol with 8x floppy speed and my team survived the 2nd screen (copy protection check succeeded)

BTW: Build failed with g++ 13.2.1 due to missing
#include <cstdint>
in emulation/tools/DLLoader.cpp
jbl007 is offline  
Old 25 August 2023, 20:53   #115
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
PiCiJi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 44
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbl007 View Post
BTW: Build failed with g++ 13.2.1 due to missing
#include <cstdint>
in emulation/tools/DLLoader.cpp
ok will add it
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 25 August 2023, 21:43   #116
rutra80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiCiJi View Post
What do you mean by Encrypted ROM's? some archives currently not supported like: rar or 7z
I mean Kickstarts from Cloanto Amiga Forever - they are encrypted and come with .key file to work. Officially they are the only legal Kickstarts to purchase.
rutra80 is offline  
Old 26 August 2023, 04:33   #117
Magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by rutra80 View Post
I mean Kickstarts from Cloanto Amiga Forever - they are encrypted and come with .key file to work. Officially they are the only legal Kickstarts to purchase.

The Kickstart ROM files that shipped on the 3.2.x CDs are not legal?
Magic is offline  
Old 26 August 2023, 13:26   #118
rutra80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 302
Right, 3.2+ are from Hyperion and are unencrypted. But Denise emulates A500 where 1.3 is most relevant.
rutra80 is offline  
Old 26 August 2023, 15:07   #119
ptyerman
Registered User
 
ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 1,317
Load Workbench in WinUAE or other emulator, insert a grabkick.adf image or extract the Grabkick.lha to RAM: and run it from there. It will read and save the Kickstart ROM as a unencrypted file.
You can get Grabkick on Aminet.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 27 August 2023, 20:45   #120
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptyerman View Post
Load Workbench in WinUAE or other emulator, insert a grabkick.adf image or extract the Grabkick.lha to RAM: and run it from there. It will read and save the Kickstart ROM as a unencrypted file.
You can get Grabkick on Aminet.
Decrypted Kickstart 3.1 still won't work thanks to one deliberately corrupted byte that WinUAE accounts for
rhester72 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECS Denise borderblank mfilos support.WinUAE 8 28 November 2019 15:38
Super Denise and screens. Marchie support.Hardware 5 03 January 2019 11:44
Removing denise from a500 Hoopz support.Hardware 5 10 June 2014 16:28
Denise versions banedon support.Hardware 3 03 February 2014 20:59
ECS Denise .... when ? Another World New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 13 February 2009 18:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16490 seconds with 14 queries