English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 March 2008, 23:35   #1
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 744
CF Prob.

Hi,
Installed my CF-IDE card today and managed to get it all working and installed 3.1 onto it.
Problem is my HDD LED no longer works. On closer inspection 2 pins of the cable are cut, 43 and 44 I believe. When installing it wouldn't read the parameters, I had to do it manually.
Bizzare, any help appreciated.
Eclipse is offline  
Old 20 March 2008, 01:44   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 9,768
hmmm I will look into this.

Would you have a picture of the CF adapter ?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 20 March 2008, 18:47   #3
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 744
I can post pictures. Pins 33 and 34 are cut on the cable btw.
Eclipse is offline  
Old 20 March 2008, 19:26   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 9,768
Thats DA1 and PDIAG,

hmmm

you only need Pin 39 (activity) and ground

heres a cool mod

http://www.zapwizard.com/Guides/IDE/index.html
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 20 March 2008, 21:50   #5
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 744
Looks like it's the adapter.
It does the same in the 600, new IDE cable and different CF cards
Can anyone reccomend where to buy one that usually works.
Eclipse is offline  
Old 21 March 2008, 01:55   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 9,768
I would say

these male 44pin or these male 40pin

other options could include

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DUAL-slot-CF-t...QQcmdZViewItem

and the 44 pin female variant, which i am having trouble finding on fleabay,
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 21 March 2008, 03:55   #7
scrappysphinx
Registered User

scrappysphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nottingham
Age: 37
Posts: 477
Hi Guys, i too have installed a cf adaptor with a 1gb CF card and my hdd led no longer works either.
If i put the 2.5" hdd back in led functions normally but with the cf adaptor no led. Seems to work fine but would be nice if the led worked too.
This is the CF adaptor i bought from ebay.

Mike
scrappysphinx is offline  
Old 21 March 2008, 07:03   #8
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 744
lol,
Exactly the same card from exactly the same seller
Eclipse is offline  
Old 01 May 2008, 00:44   #9
martingclark
 
Posts: n/a
i got this cf to ide card too from same seller, but when hdinstall was run it read the configuration showing corrupted characters, and when trying to save it gave Error 4 in device description. Did any of you have this issue. I tried 2 different CF cards, a 256mb SIMPLETECH (which shows as a hitachi), and a 512mb Hagiwara (which shows up as a toshiba).

Lastly i then took closer look at the card and it appeared to have blobs of solder bridging where there should be any (in between some of the back of 2 cf pins and also on a little chip there was 3 pins soldered together to the right top of the board when you hold it so you can read the "2.0mm ADAPTER V.B1").

Did any of you have issues with this board and how did you solve them.

Thanks
 
Old 01 May 2008, 02:12   #10
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion

DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 555
I am using this adapter and everything works fine here.
DJBase is offline  
Old 01 May 2008, 13:11   #11
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 53
Posts: 804
...I bought here and I have this working:

http://cgi.ebay.it/3-x-CF-to-2-5-IDE...QQcmdZViewItem
fc.studio is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C code prob Jherek Carnelia Coders. General 22 08 May 2007 23:28
Not really a prob amiga support.WinUAE 1 20 March 2007 21:31
Not really a prob amiga support.WinUAE 1 25 May 2005 19:53
Sound Prob. Bootay support.WinUAE 3 18 January 2003 13:01
networking prob.. poppe Retrogaming General Discussion 7 16 October 2002 00:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09810 seconds with 13 queries