![]() |
![]() |
#1 |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 435
|
Can't make bebbo's amiga-gcc work
i really need help here guys i have been trying to make this amiga-gcc by bebbo thing work and when i try to compile some code it says:
Code:
sh: /bin/sh: No such file or directory sh: *** [Makefile:97: clean] Error 127 any help appreciated ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Total Chaos forever!
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,104
|
Msys2 comes with Bash so 'sh' should just use that. You might need to check the path.
|
![]() |
![]() |
#3 | |
botcher
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 675
|
Quote:
You have to open the command line via the provided `cmdline.bat`. Or you have to provide a proper configuration by yourself. It uses msys2, which is linux for windows and that uses sh. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 435
|
thanks for replying bebbo! I have msys2 installed
actually to make sure i went and installed it again a newer version i hope. i opened cmdline.bat and cd to the folder where my code is and i still get the same error what to do now? ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denmark
Posts: 872
|
Did you install the toolchain in the default location? If not, try doing that (a path with spaces could causes issues).
In cmdline.bat try changing line 3 from Code:
path %path%;%prefix%\bin\ Code:
path %prefix%\bin\;%path% |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
This cat is no more
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 7,597
|
I never use that msys crap, only gnu make for windows & Bebbo's as / gcc and it works fine.
|
![]() |
![]() |
#7 | ||
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 435
|
i installed the toolchain in the default c:/amiga-gcc
Quote:
![]() Quote:
|
||
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denmark
Posts: 872
|
1. Does e.g. m68k-amigaos-gcc.exe work on its own if you cd into c:/amiga-gcc/bin ?
2. Does sh.exe? 3. How about make.exe 4. What about a simpler Makefile that you create from scratch? 5. Check if the Makefile contains windows line endings (perhaps only some lines) 6. If all that fails, try attaching the Makefile |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
This cat is no more
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 7,597
|
cputest (WinUAE cpu tester) uses Bebbo's gcc toolchain but no shells or crap. Try building that, I could build it with only "make" command installed, no crap msys or sh (sources from WinUAE github in "cputest")
|
![]() |
![]() |
#10 | |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 435
|
1. amiga-gcc successfully compiles hello.c when i launch cmdline.bat so i am assuming its working
2. sh.exe works on its own when invoked from the command line 3. make when invoked on its own in any random dir says "sh: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop." 4. i dont know how to make a makefile ![]() 5. they are all cr/lf 6. there is a line there that says Code:
# The shell in which to execute make rules. SHELL = /bin/sh Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#11 |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 435
|
I tried this, still getting similar errors:
Code:
C:\amiga-gcc\cputest>make sh: /bin/sh: No such file or directory sh: /bin/sh: No such file or directory /opt/amiga/bin/m68k-amigaos-gcc -mcrt=nix13 -O2 -m68000 -fomit-frame-pointer -msoft-float -DREVDATE="\"\"" -DREVTIME="\"\"" -DAMIGA -DM68K -I. -c -o main.o main.c sh: /bin/sh: No such file or directory sh: *** [makefile:20: main.o] Error 127 |
![]() |
![]() |
#12 |
botcher
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 675
|
The package setup-amiga-gcc.exe is intended to be used in Windows without installing MSYS2. It should also work having MSYS2.
I remember there was a problem with make and shell. That's why the cmdline.bat creates a wrapper for make.exe. The real make.exe was renamed to _make.exe. The new make.exe invokes _make.exe with setting SHELL=c:\amiga-gcc\bin\sh.exe If you are using MSYS2 then you have to verify which make.exe is used. Also some of the DLLs may be duplicates or even worse: differ a bit. Invoke a real make.exe - not the wrapper and maybe you have to provide the variable SHELL=.... You should remove all files in amiga-gcc/bin which are dups of files in MSYS2 Nowaday you shouldn't use MSYS2, you should use WSL2, which is soooooooooooooooooooooo much faster. Last edited by bebbo; 07 June 2023 at 11:37. |
![]() |
![]() |
#13 | |
This cat is no more
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 7,597
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#14 |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 435
|
i installed msys2 following some guide. i will uninstall it then.
as for the wsl i dont know if i have enough space in my drive to run a linux subsystem, will look into it thanks all for your help so far [edit] i uninstalled msys2 and i still get the same error trying to compile cputest |
![]() |
![]() |
#15 |
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denmark
Posts: 872
|
Ah, I can reproduce you issue with just:
Code:
.PHONY: test test: echo Hello! Code:
echo Hello! sh: /bin/sh: No such file or directory sh: *** [Makefile:3: test] Error 127 Not sure what's causing it, but I think you can work around it by using another version of "make" with the amiga-gcc distribution (needs to be earlier in the path obviously). I'm using the one from https://nuwen.net/mingw.html (for the gcc part) but YMMV. |
![]() |
![]() |
#16 |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 435
|
I went ahead with your advice so now i have un installed msys2 and I have a Debian install on Windows, but no idea how to proceed
what should I do? i am still getting the error |
![]() |
![]() |
#17 |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 435
|
anyone can help at this point? bebbo?
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#18 |
This cat is no more
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 7,597
|
the version of "make" is at fault
Code:
K:\jff\AmigaHD\PROJETS\arcade_remakes\pengo\src>c:\amiga-gcc\bin\make.exe -v GNU Make 4.4 Built for x86_64-pc-msys Copyright (C) 1988-2022 Free Software Foundation, Inc. License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <https://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html> This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it. There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law. K:\jff\AmigaHD\PROJETS\arcade_remakes\pengo\src>make -v GNU Make 3.82 Built for i686-pc-mingw32 Copyright (C) 2010 Free Software Foundation, Inc. License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html> This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it. There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law. |
![]() |
![]() |
#19 |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 435
|
i figured out how to make wsl2 work and now i can compile cputest ! i didnt realize i should follow instructions to make it work like if it was Linux because it is Linux
![]() |
![]() |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
Thread Tools | |
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
StormC makefile to classic "gcc" make file conversion tools ? | kas1e | Coders. General | 0 | 31 March 2022 08:26 |
bebbo gcc+eclipse problem | Raislin77it | Coders. C/C++ | 1 | 15 February 2022 08:37 |
gcc-bebbo: argc is always 0 | sparhawk | Coders. C/C++ | 8 | 31 January 2021 18:42 |
Anyone able to make Cobra work? | Mclane | support.WinUAE | 6 | 05 September 2010 15:40 |
Can anyone make this demo work? | Ziaxx | support.Demos | 20 | 02 January 2002 21:03 |
|
|