English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 March 2009, 11:05   #1
Andymiga
Got the C= spark again :)
Andymiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 69
PC to 1084 : RGB or S-Video?

Hi,

I have a Commodore 1084 (no SCART socket, just the round 6-pin DINs and also Luma/Chroma) here, and at the moment it is connected to an A1200, Atari ST and a C64, thus:

* A1200 via RGB
* Atari ST via RGB
* C64 via S-Video (chroma/luma)

Now, I also want to connect a PC to this monitor (for MAME purposes), and I do not want to resort to an ArcadeVGA card solution.

I guess the easiest way would be to just use chroma/luma (S-Video from the TV-out of the PC video card), but I was thinking that maybe VGA (RGB) would also be possible? Anyone have any experience on this?
Andymiga is offline  
Old 22 March 2009, 11:23   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andymiga View Post
I guess the easiest way would be to just use chroma/luma (S-Video from the TV-out of the PC video card), but I was thinking that maybe VGA (RGB) would also be possible? Anyone have any experience on this?
Yes, you are right about the easiest way to do this. To connect VGA to the RGB input of your 1084 monitor would require an adapter which incorporates circuitry to convert the VGA signal for compliance with the monitor's RGB input.

See this page on the cable forum for more details:
http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/19...tv-output.html
or just Google for "VGA to SCART"

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 22 March 2009, 12:29   #3
Andymiga
Got the C= spark again :)
Andymiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 69
Thanks prowler for the link.

I also found this:
http://www.epanorama.net/circuits/vga2tv/cindex.html

According to the info above, I'm not at all sure I want to go through all the hassle for a bit of image quality, especially because I would need a special driver to make it work.

S-Video (luma+chroma) is an easy plug-n-play solution, all I need is to solder a simple cable for the job
Andymiga is offline  
Old 22 March 2009, 12:33   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andymiga View Post
Yes, that's a useful link too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andymiga View Post
S-Video (luma+chroma) is an easy plug-n-play solution, all I need is to solder a simple cable for the job
That sounds like the way to go, mate!
prowler is offline  
Old 22 March 2009, 20:58   #5
Andymiga
Got the C= spark again :)
Andymiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 69
Yes, except that I just realized I don't have TV-out (S-Video) on my HTPC motherboard (780G chipset with HD3200 graphics, only VGA and HDMI outputs)

I also have a "Game Box" video converter box I bought a few months back, maybe it will be able to convert the VGA signal to S-Video... Have to check tomorrow
Andymiga is offline  
Old 22 March 2009, 21:45   #6
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 47
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=370177346717
Chain is offline  
Old 23 March 2009, 19:27   #7
Andymiga
Got the C= spark again :)
Andymiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 69
Well, I couldn't get the "Game Box" video converter thingy to output S-Video. It has an S-Video connector but I think it is only for input (there was no manual with that silly box!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain View Post
Thanks Chain, yes I was thinking about a similar product.

I think I'll go for a converter/adapter like that one - I don't want to buy a video card just to get S-Video (TVout)!
Andymiga is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 05:51   #8
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 385
Hello all,
I know this is an old thread, but I wanted to see if I can ask a similar question:
I am trying to connect my PC (Windows XP) to 1084S-D1 for MAME and other emulator purposes.

Surely, 1084S-D1's RGB port, somehow must be able to receive a comparable signal from ThinkPad (or a modern computer for that matter), and convert this into something comparable to a real Amiga video signal. My issue with S-Video (from ThinkPad) to Y/C on 1084S-D1 is that it is NOT as sharp as when you connect a real Amiga to 1084S-D1 using a a DB 15-pin to DB 9-pin cable.

http://www.ambery.com/db9todbadca.html
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 06:35   #9
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 385
Looks like it is possible and have been already done here!

http://www.dragonslairfans.com/smfor...hp?topic=127.0

"No need extra converter, VGA to SCART in RGB will work fine BUT you'll have to use AdvanceMame under DOS, or, more easy for setup : buy an Ultimarc's ArcadeVGA and you'll be able to use windows. I strongly suggest you that option if you never worked under dos and AdvanceMame config"

c0dehunter is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 09:03   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,746
IIRC you were not actually using s-video to connect, you only had one RCA cable from the thinkpad to the monitor?

The amiga.org thread you started about this had too many cooks in it, so I decided to not bother answering any more.

Anyway, soft15k either with the dongle or without and a suitable cable should help. Laptop video cards are often difficult to get working with 15kHz, better success is had with desktop PCs and one of the known working video cards.

http://wiki.arcadecontrols.com/wiki/...9_-_Soft-15khz

The dongle:
http://www.arcadeshop.de/product_inf...54&language=en
Jope is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 09:20   #11
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 385
Thank you.
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 12:42   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,746
Please let us know how it went, if you decide to try the soft15kHz solution.

And be quick with the 1084's power switch in case you accidentally feed it 31kHz.. I'm sure it won't like prolonged exposure to high frequencies. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 17:23   #13
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 385
Thank you, I will!
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 17:26   #14
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
Hey, that's what I said in the other thread! :-) :-)

Good luck..

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 17:49   #15
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 385
You are the best! One question: The current S-Video connection to my 1084S-D1 is a natural 15Khz, right? Since I have been using S-Video connection on my 1084S-D1 this way and playing with it since last week, I hope it is OK. (I know with my desktop computer and installed soft 15Khz, I have to be careful though)
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 18:23   #16
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0dehunter View Post
The current S-Video connection to my 1084S-D1 is a natural 15Khz, right? Since I have been using S-Video connection on my 1084S-D1 this way and playing with it since last week, I hope it is OK. (I know with my desktop computer and installed soft 15Khz, I have to be careful though)
Yeah, s-video is 15khz. You're good...

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 21:50   #17
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 708
@c0dehunter

As other have stated, the S-Video output from the GPU is best but spend a little bit more on a good quality cable. The mini-din connectors can degrade the signal if not adequately shielded internally. They are difficult to wire up but do make a difference in the signal quality.

Modenr GPUs (since 2006) do not support RGB @ 15 KHz from the TV DAC, if the manufacturer does support HDTV, you may have YPrPb at SDTV frequencies. Older ATI/AMD cards (9000 series) do support 15 KHz RGB.
GPUs are good at scan-converting and interlacing, I've watched fast DVD video on a Y/C output with no perceivable issues.

Hope the 1084 works Ok.

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 04:53   #18
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 385
Thanks for your response. I am having someone hack a VGA to RGB (15 to 9) cable for me, and I have asked his to use this schematic:

http://www.dragonslairfans.com/smfor...hp?topic=127.0

(The first message in that thread, by user named "DarthNuno")

The thing is, I am not entirely sure if that is accurate or not.

For example this page, has a different pin schematic:
http://www.gamesx.com/hwb/co_C1084dd.html

And user named "funkycochise", in this forum, has used a yet another one:
http://www.dragonslairfans.com/smfor...p?topic=127.15

On male connector witch to be plugged on the female of the monitor :

1. Gnd
2. -
3. Red
4. Green
5. Blue
6. -
7. Sync
8. -
9. -

Would you kindly verify WHICH ONE is the correct pin layout/shcematic please? I don't want to have this guy make this cable (he is charging a bit high) to realize that is not the correct one! Any help would be greatly appreciated!
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 06:44   #19
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 385
OK, my first attempt is not successful I guess. This is what I did:

1) I went out I bought a D9M-15HF "Gender Changer" adapter, and a male Db9 Serial cable. (already had a male-male VGA).

2) Installed 15Khz soft utility on my PC desktop (nVIDIA 6200 AGP, which has 1VGA, 1DVI and 1S-Video out)

3) lowered my resolution to 640x480.

4) Restarted Windows XP

5) Connected my 1084S-D1, via the cable contraption that I mentioned in step 1.

6) 1084S-D1 only displays garbled red video signal. I even changed my VGA cable for a different one, pressed on buttons in the back of 1084S-D1, nothing changed however.

All screenshots are here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/4890168...ream/lightbox/

I am asking someone to make a cable for me, according to the following instructions:

http://www.dragonslairfans.com/smfor...hp?topic=127.0

So hopefully I have better success with this one.

I will keep you posted.
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 12:11   #20
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,746
You made up that and connected it between the monitor and the VGA connector?! Did you measure that the right signal went to the right pin?

As far as I remember, the 1084-D1 has the 9-pin D-sub connector behind it, thus the pinout is:

http://www.gamesx.com/hwb/co_C1084dd.html

Please don't assume that if a connector fits directly or using a gender changer, it will just work. Serial cables are sometimes wired straight, sometimes crossover. The VGA 9 pin D-sub pinout is completely different to the 1084 9 pin D-sub pinout.

At least the voltages coming out from the VGA port should be the around same as what the monitor expects, so you probably didn't blow anything up with your experiment. Let's hope you got lucky.

However in the future, please look at the pinouts and buy/make a suitable cable and don't just blindly connect stuff up.
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commodore 1084/1084S RGB connector pinout 8bitbubsy Hardware pics 2 25 February 2011 17:45
FOR SALE: Vidi RGB Video Colour Spliter - Video Digitiser LDR MarketPlace 0 02 March 2009 13:35
WTB: rgb to 1084 monitor lead DoogUK MarketPlace 6 07 February 2009 16:26
For sale a NEW RGB CGA to S-Video and Composite Video converter Vars191 MarketPlace 0 11 January 2009 05:09
WTB: 1084 RGB cable (old round type) T_hairy_bootson MarketPlace 7 23 November 2005 00:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12040 seconds with 13 queries