English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 October 2022, 23:29   #1
arpz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 38
VSCode Assembly issue

I'm having a right nightmare with this visual studio code extension - I absolutely love the concept of what it's supposed to be doing, I have been able to execute the example code but no matter what I do, no changes I make to it seem to make any difference at all - the emulator loads and shows the scrolling bar as expected. The hash of the resulting 'example.o' file never changes yet the build supposedly does happen each time

This is the output which looks to me like it's actually doing something and the timestamp on the .o file changes too so I really have no idea what's going on, can anyone help please?

Code:
Starting build...
Compiling_________________________________________
building c:\AmigaASM\example\build\example.o
c:\Users\Arps\AppData\Roaming\Code\User\globalStorage\prb28.amiga-assembly\downloads\vscode-amiga-assembly-binaries-@-1.6.0\prb28-vscode-amiga-assembly-binaries-1480d09/vasmm68k_mot -m68000 -Fhunk -linedebug -o c:\AmigaASM\example\build\example.o c:\AmigaASM\example\example.s
vasm 1.9 (c) in 2002-2022 Volker Barthelmann
vasm M68k/CPU32/ColdFire cpu backend 2.5 (c) 2002-2021 Frank Wille
vasm motorola syntax module 3.15d (c) 2002-2022 Frank Wille
vasm hunk format output module 2.13a (c) 2002-2021 Frank Wille

CODE(acrx2):             482 bytes

Linking_________________________________________
c:\Users\Arps\AppData\Roaming\Code\User\globalStorage\prb28.amiga-assembly\downloads\vscode-amiga-assembly-binaries-@-1.6.0\prb28-vscode-amiga-assembly-binaries-1480d09/vlink -bamigahunk -Bstatic -o c:\AmigaASM\example\uae\dh0\example c:\AmigaASM\example\build\example.o
Build Success
arpz is offline  
Old 16 October 2022, 06:08   #2
aZtOcKdOg
Registered User
 
aZtOcKdOg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 93
VSCode Assembly issue

Ahh yes I remember being frustrated with this.. it has to do with the cache type accessing of the builds. Sorry I will have a better think but it was something to do with the save file actually being in a different location to the one being executed / manually executing the latest build

it is bizarre and there is a solution sorry I can just attest to the fact that there IS a solution!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
aZtOcKdOg is offline  
Old 16 October 2022, 11:55   #3
arpz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by aZtOcKdOg View Post
it is bizarre and there is a solution sorry I can just attest to the fact that there IS a solution!
Well that is somewhat reassuring! Will continue to play but if you (or anyone else) do happen to recall how to solve it, I'd be chuffed to hear from you. thanks!

Last edited by arpz; 16 October 2022 at 13:20.
arpz is offline  
Old 16 October 2022, 16:36   #4
gigabates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 57
It looks like vasm and vlink are being called correctly so I'd say the either:

A. the source file 'c:\AmigaASM\example\example.s' isn't the one you're editing

B. The output binary 'c:\AmigaASM\example\uae\dh0\example' isn't what's being run in the emulator.
Check that the correct directory is being mounted in your run/debug settings and that 'uae\dh0\s\startup-sequence' references 'SYS:example', and not something else like 'SYS:gencop' per the example project.
gigabates is offline  
Old 16 October 2022, 17:15   #5
aZtOcKdOg
Registered User
 
aZtOcKdOg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 93
Oh tht’s right, is it a write access / admin access issue? Because it is in your personal folder or something otherwise yes the emulator could point to the wrong build spot and purely runs the ‘example’ not the actual build location…


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
aZtOcKdOg is offline  
Old 16 October 2022, 19:13   #6
arpz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 38
Ok, I can't honestly tell you how I made this work but somehow it now is. The change which seems to have done the trick is changing the 'gencop' reference in "C:\Users\Arps\AppData\Roaming\Code\User\globalStorage\prb28.amiga-assembly\downloads\vscode-amiga-wks-example-@-1.6.0\vscode-amiga-wks-example-master\uae\dh0\s\startup-sequence" which makes no sense because as far as I can tell, that's not even the version of the file that gets used?

It's a total mystery but I have successfully managed to break the example code and witness it running in broken form in the emulator. I can start walking down the long road of trying to do something useful now! Thanks for the pointers and suggestions
arpz is offline  
Old 17 October 2022, 07:46   #7
aZtOcKdOg
Registered User
 
aZtOcKdOg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 93
VSCode Assembly issue

Great! Sounds like @gigabates was right on the money…

so glad you worked it out…

Last edited by aZtOcKdOg; 07 January 2024 at 11:21.
aZtOcKdOg is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Assembly VSCode extension v1.0 prb28 Coders. Releases 3 28 November 2021 17:00
Pre-release vscode amiga assembly with WinUAE integration prb28 Coders. Asm / Hardware 31 30 November 2020 21:54
Features requests for vscode amiga assembly extension ? prb28 Coders. General 0 27 December 2018 16:19
Assembly Hex Help Sim085 support.Other 4 06 December 2018 22:07
assembly TV L8-X Amiga scene 2 04 August 2002 02:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:02.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12523 seconds with 15 queries