English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 June 2011, 06:20   #1
Aria
 
Posts: n/a
Little hex editing help please

I am having a great time playing Alternate reality and Battletech using the amiga forever prem and all its goodies I recently purchased.

However I forgot what a pain battletech is in the beginning in regards to money, been trying to hex edit my save game but honestly not sure if I gave myself more money or just added a 3rd arm!

Is there anyone that might be able to edit a save game for me or point me in the direction of a "hex editing for dummys" site?


Thanks
 
Old 14 June 2011, 12:58   #2
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,966
Instead of editing the save game files you can change the cash value directly in memory using WinUAE's debugger.


To enter the debugger, use Shift+F12 and to continue the emulation use g<return>.

Use the following steps to locate the memory address containing the value you're looking for:

C value<Return> [where value is the value you're searching for]

The debugger will report that it has found x addresses

g [continue emulation]

In the game, do something to change the value

Re-enter the debugger

C newvalue<Return> [where newvalue is the new value you're searching for]

Keep doing this until you find your memory address. To reset the C command use just C on its own.


Now, once you have the memory address use

Use the "m" command to view the value at an address:

m address

The "W" is used to write a hex value to an address.

W address hexvalue
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 14 June 2011, 19:31   #3
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,449
There's Battletech hex offset info at http://amigan.1emu.net/releases/rpg-form.txt

Another thing you could do is save the game, put a lot of money into the high risk stocks, then play a while, re-check stocks. If you made money, save. Otherwise, reload save game.
demoniac is offline  
Old 15 June 2011, 09:11   #4
Aria
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodyJarrett View Post
Instead of editing the save game files you can change the cash value directly in memory using WinUAE's debugger.


To enter the debugger, use Shift+F12 and to continue the emulation use g<return>.

Use the following steps to locate the memory address containing the value you're looking for:

C value<Return> [where value is the value you're searching for]

The debugger will report that it has found x addresses

g [continue emulation]

In the game, do something to change the value

Re-enter the debugger

C newvalue<Return> [where newvalue is the new value you're searching for]

Keep doing this until you find your memory address. To reset the C command use just C on its own.


Now, once you have the memory address use

Use the "m" command to view the value at an address:

m address

The "W" is used to write a hex value to an address.

W address hexvalue

Thank you for this info soon as I drink a pot of coffee I might even try it!


Quote:
Originally Posted by demoniac View Post
There's Battletech hex offset info at http://amigan.1emu.net/releases/rpg-form.txt

Another thing you could do is save the game, put a lot of money into the high risk stocks, then play a while, re-check stocks. If you made money, save. Otherwise, reload save game.
I have been doing this with limited success, I have around 20k now but game appears to punish me if I place more then 5k in the high risk stock even when it should be going up it always fails. But I will keep at it thank you for the suggestions.
 
Old 16 June 2011, 20:20   #5
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aria View Post
I have been doing this with limited success, I have around 20k now but game appears to punish me if I place more then 5k in the high risk stock even when it should be going up it always fails. But I will keep at it thank you for the suggestions.
It doesn't always gain -- that's why it's a stock market. If it doesn't work after reloading a few times, put the money on the next tier of stable stocks. Also when you have a lot of money (from memory like 1 million), the game seems to always loss on the higher risk stocks.
demoniac is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hex Comp mai support.Other 2 28 May 2010 20:00
Hex Editor Retro1234 request.Other 9 24 October 2006 11:03
Hex to Decimal -Rob- Coders. General 8 21 June 2006 19:22
Hex Editor Help misguided_fool request.Apps 5 22 March 2006 09:53
HEX --> DEC Converter Joe Maroni request.Apps 9 03 May 2005 11:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07567 seconds with 13 queries