English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 May 2013, 17:43   #1
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,687
enhance colours games ?

in my memory, i remember a tool to enhance cpc games, enhance the numbers of colours.
sorry for my bad memories, i am not sure if it was on cpc if it was with the emulator or a tool.
Nobody remember this ?
turrican3 is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 17:45   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 41
Posts: 17,789
In CPCE emulator you can use 'dither' function. You can see results here https://www.youtube.com/user/s2325/videos?query=dither
s2325 is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 18:07   #3
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,687
i'm not sure it was that, like i'm not sure it was on cpc. sorry
turrican3 is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 18:12   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,204
You can do this with the EmuZWin emulator, not sure about CPC though.

http://www.yantragames.com/ZX256.html

http://kolmck.net/apps/EmuZWin_Eng.htm

http://www.emulatronia.com/emusdaqui...wnload-eng.htm
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 18:44   #5
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,687
that's it retro nerd, spec 256.
i was thinking if it was possible to the same with amiga ????
turrican3 is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 18:47   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,204
Spec256 is pretty old, you can also edit the games directly with EmuZWin.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 18:56   #7
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,687
could be great if we could do this on amiga games.
could it be possible for whdload to give it the graphics of the games in a file but in 256 colours and whdload could replace the old ecs or ocs graphics by aga graphics???
could it be possible, if this is impossible, sorry i'm not a coder, and i'm always optimist.
wepl do you think this could be possible ?
through winuae, less interest, because it will never works on the real deal.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 28 May 2013, 03:23   #8
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
could be great if we could do this on amiga games.
could it be possible for whdload to give it the graphics of the games in a file but in 256 colours and whdload could replace the old ecs or ocs graphics by aga graphics???
could it be possible, if this is impossible, sorry i'm not a coder, and i'm always optimist.
wepl do you think this could be possible ?
through winuae, less interest, because it will never works on the real deal.
Funnily enough, the easiest games to alter like this would be the low-quality ST port crap like Human Killing Machine from Tiertex, as you'd only have to change a few places to get the graphics displaying more colours and there are so few of them. However, HKM isn't worth the effort as it's probably the worst beat'em-up ever made.

Most well coded games would require a lot of work, and some that heavily rely on the copper/blitter/sprite timings etc would be an absolute nightmare. Stuff like Shadow of the Beast, Turrican, Jim Power, Risky Woods etc would be near on impossible as increasing the depth by a single bitplane (to double the colours) could cause the game to have sprites stop working/flicker/drop a frame/crash etc.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 28 May 2013, 08:37   #9
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,687
you want to say that this is possible for bad games but not for well optimized games.
i must say that enhance a little, not enhanced games is the goal.
could it be possible to make a tool to achieve this or you 'll have to be a good coder like codetapper ?
turrican3 is offline  
Old 28 May 2013, 08:44   #10
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 41
Posts: 17,789
few games which I think need more colors
Brataccas http://hol.abime.net/199 (but maybe it's not possible with med/hi-res)
Space Station http://hol.abime.net/2038
Rolling Thunder http://hol.abime.net/1277
Mouse Trap have small amount of colors but I think graphician made great job and game should not be modified
s2325 is offline  
Old 28 May 2013, 08:58   #11
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
few games which I think need more colors
Brataccas http://hol.abime.net/199 (but maybe it's not possible with med/hi-res)
Space Station http://hol.abime.net/2038
Rolling Thunder http://hol.abime.net/1277
Mouse Trap have small amount of colors but I think graphician made great job and game should not be modified
there is surely much more ...
how much bad atari st ports with just 16 colors do we have ????
plenty for sure.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 28 May 2013, 09:03   #12
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 41
Posts: 17,789
Not all games need more colors - Chaos Engine, Speedball 2, Magic Pockets, Lionheart. ST ports may have jerky scrolling, I don't think more colors will improve that. Games are and should be different.
s2325 is offline  
Old 28 May 2013, 09:38   #13
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,687
for sure nobody should touch gems like chaosengine !!!!
never think about it !!!!
don't even write it
turrican3 is offline  
Old 28 May 2013, 09:57   #14
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,847
i once edited the graphics in chaos engine just for a test
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 28 May 2013, 11:01   #15
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 3,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
i once edited the graphics in chaos engine just for a test
go in hell
turrican3 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A little bit of ography to enhance your Easter Sunday Secret Vampire Hardware pics 7 22 April 2010 20:28
wb colours source support.Apps 4 31 December 2009 20:00
Is it possible to somehow make Amiga version of some games 256 colours? ancalimon project.Amiga Game Factory 7 06 December 2009 03:27
how many colours has the petza Amiga scene 21 17 August 2006 11:26
Enhance the Zone message Jim project.EAB 15 12 January 2005 13:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09258 seconds with 15 queries