English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 August 2022, 23:19   #1
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 46
Posts: 3,901
virtua racing on amiga possible ?

Hi guys,
do you think that virtua racing is doable on amiga ??
Myself, i think yes, on a 030 50mhz or at least on a 040.
I always asked myself why nobody tried to make a port or a clone ????
Which cpu do you think will be necessary to make it run on aga ?
If aga is a must have for it ??
turrican3 is offline  
Old 03 August 2022, 23:59   #2
Adropac2
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 939
In the right hands with a good engine I'm sure a decent effort could emerge. It would be very paired back visually of course on a 68030 but NSP showed that even on the A500 a an excellent game is possible at decent speed so potentially a 68030 could be very good indeed

Leading Lap was an example of a not incredibly blazing engine however even on a 68030 so hopefully not like that. Although I actually don't mind the game
Adropac2 is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 03:15   #3
Gorf
Registered User

Gorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 1,667
I guess this version for the "pico 8", might be doable even with lower specs:
https://freds72.itch.io/virtua-racing
Gorf is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 06:12   #4
Matt_H
Registered User

Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 757
I'm sure an 030 could handle this easily. See this thing, which seems far more complicated and based around an A3000.
Matt_H is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 07:07   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 25,222
This isn't the same as Virtua Racing, but I think it shows that it would be possible to make at least a tuned down version of Virtua Racing. I mean if the MegaDrive/Genesis can do it...
TCD is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 08:12   #6
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 47
Posts: 3,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
I mean if the MegaDrive/Genesis can do it...
Well, it didn't do it alone.
https://www.sega-16.com/2006/03/sega...oad-not-taken/
Retroplay is online now  
Old 04 August 2022, 08:25   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 25,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
I know If that chip is really so powerful that a 68030 (or better) won't be able to do more or less the same then hats off to Sega Also shame on them for making a 32X and not simply using that chip more often instead
TCD is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 08:46   #8
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 46
Posts: 3,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_H View Post
I'm sure an 030 could handle this easily. See this thing, which seems far more complicated and based around an A3000.
Yes, but with a special 3d gfx hardware.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 10:08   #9
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
I know If that chip is really so powerful that a 68030 (or better) won't be able to do more or less the same then hats off to Sega Also shame on them for making a 32X and not simply using that chip more often instead
AFAIK the chip SEGA used is some sort of RISC monster. In a previous thread on Virtua Fighter for the 68030 it turned out that this chip is probably faster than a 68030@50MHz.
roondar is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 10:28   #10
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 25,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
AFAIK the chip SEGA used is some sort of RISC monster. In a previous thread on Virtua Fighter for the 68030 it turned out that this chip is probably faster than a 68030@50MHz.
Interesting. Here's the thread: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=101353

I just skimmed the thread, but I assume the answer to this thread is already in that thread
TCD is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 10:35   #11
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,224
Probably, yeah
roondar is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 11:48   #12
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 5,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
Interesting. Here's the thread: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=101353

I just skimmed the thread, but I assume the answer to this thread is already in that thread
The general gist seems to be anywhere between "Of course the Amiga can do anything" VS "No" and "Hell no". And then for some reason it ends with "who needs Virtua Fighter, all you need is IK+". So a classic EAB thread I would say full of hope, desperation, denial and pride.

Virtua Fighter 1 was for the 32X and the Saturn though, Virtua Racing seems to run on a stock Genesis too. So it might be comparing apples and oranges.
gimbal is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 11:55   #13
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 25,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
Virtua Fighter 1 was for the 32X and the Saturn though, Virtua Racing seems to run on a stock Genesis too. So it might be comparing apples and oranges.
Surely you know that Virtua Fighter was also ported to the MegaDrive/Genesis using the same chip as Virtua Racing.
TCD is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 12:21   #14
khph_re
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 411
If this can run fully texture mapped and with vertex shading,:
https://hol.abime.net/1578
I don't see why flat shading on an 030 would be a problem in the right hands.
In the right hands
khph_re is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 15:34   #15
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,224
I guess the issue is mostly one of speed. Virtua Racing (& fighter) both ran at high frame rates, most of complex the Amiga 3D games don't come close to that.
roondar is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 15:43   #16
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 5,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
Surely you know that Virtua Fighter was also ported to the MegaDrive/Genesis using the same chip as Virtua Racing.
Nope, just going off of what a google and youtube search told me. I only saw a Virtua Fighter 2 for the Genesis (without 32X expansion).
gimbal is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 15:56   #17
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 25,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
Nope, just going off of what a google and youtube search told me. I only saw a Virtua Fighter 2 for the Genesis (without 32X expansion).
Yeah, my bad. It's Viruta Fighter 2 that was released unsing that chip after the 32X was discontinued. Point still stands though: Virtua Fighter 2 and Virtua Racing would have very similar requirements when ported to the Amiga. In the thread there's a lengthy discussion why the Amiga (without a 3D accelerator) won't be able to run Virtua Fighter well. I mean I recently played Metal Slug on the MegaDrive, so I wouldn't be surprised if someone finds a clever way to do it still.
TCD is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 15:56   #18
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 5,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by khph_re View Post
I don't see why flat shading on an 030 would be a problem in the right hands.
In the right hands
But which hands? But which hands?
gimbal is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 17:18   #19
Matt_H
Registered User

Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
Yeah, my bad. It's Viruta Fighter 2 that was released unsing that chip after the 32X was discontinued. Point still stands though: Virtua Fighter 2 and Virtua Racing would have very similar requirements when ported to the Amiga. In the thread there's a lengthy discussion why the Amiga (without a 3D accelerator) won't be able to run Virtua Fighter well. I mean I recently played Metal Slug on the MegaDrive, so I wouldn't be surprised if someone finds a clever way to do it still.
Virtua Fighter 2 on the Genesis/MegaDrive doesn't use the SVP chip (Virtua Racing was the only game to do so). It's not even a 3D game, just a 2D fighter with some pseudo-3D background effects. Totally different code and assets compared to the arcade/Saturn versions.


But given that the Amiga has Hunter, Frontier, Stunt Car Racer, Zeewolf, Guardian, etc., an 030 could definitely handle Virtua Racing or Virtua Fighter 1. Virtua Fighter 2 is a much more complex beast that I don't think would be possible; a hypothetical Amiga port would need to be significantly cut down in resolution and graphical complexity... unless you want to port the 16-bit version, which should be a piece of cake.
Matt_H is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 17:18   #20
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 13,236
I imagine you could do this on the A3000++ with an 030 AND a DSP

But the problem is that it is a huge undertaking to write a bespoke version (rather than have the horsepower to just emulate an existing system). You'd have to get someone very very invested or a very big bounty to get anything.

Or possibly a source code leak.
alexh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stunt Car Racer - still the best Amiga racing game Mr Creosote Retrogaming General Discussion 9 24 June 2022 21:41
The Best Amiga Racing Games kad3t Retrogaming General Discussion 5 26 March 2022 02:39
Could an Amiga with an 030 do Virtua Fighter? Glen M Retrogaming General Discussion 394 30 November 2021 17:50
[Found: Virtua Cop] shootie game with a gun cosmicfrog Looking for a game name ? 11 05 October 2009 22:11
3D racing game from Amiga Mania mag Twistin'Ghost Looking for a game name ? 6 17 July 2003 14:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10205 seconds with 13 queries