English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 December 2018, 10:35   #1
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 367
"SERIOUS ERROR" message from PFS3

WHen I'm trying to boot i get a disconcerning message from PFS3. It pops up before workbench loads. This came out of nowhere. I have not changed the setup in any way. I have absolutely no luck getting a stable working A1200-setup these days
PICTURE


I've not managed to progress to workbench. After the message above I get a message saying:
"TD32 and Direct SCSI access modes failed!
Can't read block 6114674 (<4G)
1230scsi.device:0"

Followed by:
"No disk present in device DH0"

"Retrying" just brings the massage back up, "canceling" brings me to a blank "AmigaDOS"-screen.

Now all of a sudden it won't boot at all with the HD's connected. I just get a black screen.
I have two scsi disks connected to my Blizzard 1260. I think this is a problem with the second disk and not the boot disk, as disconnecting the second disks boot's me into wb no problem. Does anyone know what is happening and how I can work this out?

Last edited by Overmann; 03 December 2018 at 10:52.
Overmann is offline  
Old 03 December 2018, 17:43   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,738
If PFS3 fails to do any size validations (drive returns error), it refuses to mount the partition (=not a dos disk. No disk in drive probably means hardware problem and driver also "lost" the disk). Boot can still continue normally if problem is with non-boot drive/partitions.

I guess most likely reason is marginal power supply if you only get black screen/errors when both drives are connected.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 05 December 2018, 11:17   #3
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 367
Both HDD's are connected to the PSU, I just unplugged one from the SCSI-controller.
This setup was working fine a couple of weeks ago, and it works fine when I unplug the second HDD. COuld it have just died quietly at some point, and is now preventing a boot due to some failure?
Overmann is offline  
Old 05 December 2018, 19:50   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overmann View Post
I just unplugged one from the SCSI-controller.

and it works fine when I unplug the second HDD.
Maybe the first HDD is required for SCSI bus termination?

"unexpected phase change" indicates a problem with the SCSI bus, in most cases termination-related.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playing "Legend of Faerghail", suddenly "Software error - Task Held"? arto support.WinUAE 12 05 January 2016 18:07
"Exception "Line 1111 Emulator" ($2c) Error at $1004" when exiting game demolition support.WinUAE 15 30 November 2012 16:43
"Error validating disk" message.. what's wrong? scifi Hardware mods 4 19 November 2011 21:28
"block zero write failed!" Error message MoreGrog support.WinUAE 5 21 July 2010 21:30
"Unpack.library failure" error message Another World New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 16 December 2008 14:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06575 seconds with 13 queries