English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 October 2019, 22:58   #1
Borgy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Wokingham/uk
Posts: 102
TBL's EON demo Whdload

Hi folks,

Does anyone know whether a Whd version of Eon exists? Can't seem to find it anywhere and the disk version simply refuses to stop Guru-ing.

Ta

Sent from my G8341 using Tapatalk
Borgy is offline  
Old 02 November 2019, 09:03   #2
hUMUNGUs
Registered User

hUMUNGUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: .no
Posts: 113
ThereĀ“s no WHD version for EON. They said they were almost done with a hardrive version months ago. Still nothing :-(
hUMUNGUs is offline  
Old 02 November 2019, 13:43   #3
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 411
With TBL's track record of releasing "final" versions of their demos, what do you expect?
It only took them 12 years to release Starstruck final version
UberFreak is offline  
Old 02 November 2019, 14:37   #4
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Posts: 549
I dont want to wait that long just have put in on 2 floppy disks - arguable or not, I find it awesome.
Nightshft is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 22:48   #5
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borgy View Post
Does anyone know whether a Whd version of Eon exists? Can't seem to find it anywhere and the disk version simply refuses to stop Guru-ing.
I've had no problems with this demo on ADF. Why is it guru-ing?
Foebane is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 01:42   #6
B2k_ad
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Braunschweig / Germany
Posts: 57
What kickstart and cpu are you using?
It runs fine on my stock A2000 apart from using kick 3.1
Not so well on my A4000.
B2k_ad is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 12:42   #7
Aburamushi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: France
Posts: 7
Works fine on my 500, but on my A1200 or A4000, colors and graphics are corrupted.
Tried with relokick, same story. Glad I still have my good old A500
Aburamushi is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 18:34   #8
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 515
Dawm, i have no floppy disks and no Gotek, BUT a PCMCIA Port and a CF/SD card in my A600.

I still waiting
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 30 December 2021, 01:27   #9
IvanEBC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 492
Stingray might have completed this awhile ago but he run into this read me issue

What's where he writes "code is great except for <lists all known coding issues>
but maybe EON is a perfect piece of code and he doesn't know what to say?

I jest of course...
IvanEBC is offline  
Old 15 January 2022, 21:02   #10
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 1,997
I'm also interested in a WHDLoad for TBL-EON... I don't think we'll ever see an official final HD version
hexaae is offline  
Old 16 January 2022, 07:05   #11
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 49
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
I'm also interested in a WHDLoad for TBL-EON... I don't think we'll ever see an official final HD version
Exactly. Maybe sting or someone else could make an unofficial version?
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 16 January 2022, 11:56   #12
kriz
Junior Member

kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 40
Posts: 3,011
A WHdload version is most wanted for sure!!
kriz is offline  
Old 18 April 2022, 22:19   #13
hUMUNGUs
Registered User

hUMUNGUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: .no
Posts: 113
Still nothing ?
hUMUNGUs is offline  
Old 19 April 2022, 07:03   #14
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 49
Posts: 1,268
There were some really great releases done by TEK which people would surely appretiate WhdLoad treatment of:

TEK Transhuman / Pachinkoland : https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=91267
download normal ADF version here: http://pc.sux.org/tomcat/TEK-Transhuman.adf

TEK Hologon : https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=88025
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 19 April 2022, 13:11   #15
kriz
Junior Member

kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 40
Posts: 3,011
Better make a new request for other demos though
kriz is offline  
Old 19 April 2022, 14:48   #16
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 1,997
Why these groups don't release normal files instead of adfs (especially today) is beyond me. Files can still run from disks too... so why? There's a technical reason to make them prefer non-std FS floppies?
hexaae is offline  
Old 22 April 2022, 08:53   #17
A500
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Why these groups don't release normal files instead of adfs (especially today) is beyond me. Files can still run from disks too... so why? There's a technical reason to make them prefer non-std FS floppies?

My guess is it's part of the art. But yes, normal executables are very nice to have when you have a HD (which is not uncommon anymore).
A500 is offline  
Old 22 April 2022, 09:24   #18
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 1,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Why these groups don't release normal files instead of adfs (especially today) is beyond me. Files can still run from disks too... so why? There's a technical reason to make them prefer non-std FS floppies?
I guess you heard about Gotek?

It is simply the most easy and cheap way to run Amiga software.

Most of the adf files from sceners can be read from a Gotek and copied to HDD.

You can even mount the adf files without any Floppy at all. Try GoADF!

EON is 2 disc and require ECS chipset and Rom 1.3 from what I remember.
Try to run HDD with 1.3

I understand that a whd-load install would at least fix the 1.3 problem.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 22 April 2022, 10:14   #19
khph_re
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Why these groups don't release normal files instead of adfs (especially today) is beyond me. Files can still run from disks too... so why? There's a technical reason to make them prefer non-std FS floppies?
OCS/ECS demoscene competitions usually require A500 512k/512k and floppy disk. The whle thing is probably geared towards a track loader.
khph_re is online now  
Old 22 April 2022, 10:40   #20
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by khph_re View Post
OCS/ECS demoscene competitions usually require A500 512k/512k and floppy disk. The whle thing is probably geared towards a track loader.
Sure, but the point is that they could use a std floppy with a S:Sseq to run an executable (so floppy or HD source is unimportant). But probably they wanted to squeeze even those few KB taken by std FS+SSeq etc. out of the disk size limit....
hexaae is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Silkcut/TBL Bobic support.Demos 18 13 July 2008 15:52
TBL - Starstruck Music ? blade002 request.Modules 6 30 October 2006 15:39
Music from MAGIA by TBL tomcat666 request.Modules 7 07 September 2003 14:25
TBL's Tint demo problem in 0.8.22 R8 Alan_HU support.WinUAE 0 19 July 2003 10:55
TBL-Captured Dreams Akira support.Demos 0 05 March 2002 21:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10431 seconds with 15 queries