English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 June 2003, 08:55   #1
dmrvf
 
Posts: n/a
3640 on A4000 weird problem Help

I have a weird problem and my A 4000. I have installed a C= 3640 card replacing the stock 030, all jumpers ok, when i switch on the amiga everything is fine. several time on-off and no hangs. When i am switching on the computer the next day it doesn't display anything and the power led is blinking.. In order to make in switch on i have to remove the card install the 030 back switch on and then install the 3640 in.

Anyone experience the same problem?

Please help

Please do not use signatures in your messages. Configure UserCP insead. -Admin
 
Old 03 June 2003, 17:42   #2
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 57
Posts: 584
sounds like one of the capacitors on the CPU board may be leaking charge as the problem takes time to occur. Or a diode could be part failing, giving rise to the same problem.

Try uplugging the system completely overnight and see if that makes a change. If it gets you working, then it'll be worth it
Syko is offline  
Old 04 June 2003, 08:13   #3
dmrvf
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Syko
sounds like one of the capacitors on the CPU board may be leaking charge as the problem takes time to occur. Or a diode could be part failing, giving rise to the same problem.

Try uplugging the system completely overnight and see if that makes a change. If it gets you working, then it'll be worth it
Thanks a lot for the help Syko

It happened again when i switched on this morning..

I was working all night long copying files e.t.c and switched off round 11:00pm this morning when switched on again power led linking. Now if i remove the card install the 030 and back the 040 will switch on.:eek I beleive i can't find out wich capacitor or diode has a problem. Any tips how to solve it? or shall i scrap the damed thing... Before i will try the last one you've mentioned

Please do not use signatures in your messages. Configure UserCP insead. -Admin
 
Old 04 June 2003, 20:11   #4
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 57
Posts: 584
Try swapping the A4000 psu for an AT one - 300W or better. The ones that come in the A4000 desktop are only about 140W if that, and are easily overloaded - if you've got a fair amount of stuff in there that could also be part of the problem.

Trouble is, it's one of those Bastard Faults from Hell, and BFH's are always total gits to trackdown. Sorry, not much help I know, but you never know
Syko is offline  
Old 04 June 2003, 20:19   #5
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 946
I remember reading something that might help here. When you have the computer off, but plugged into the mains, switch the mains off at the wall and turn the computer on. Leave it for five or ten minutes, then switch everything back on again.

This apparently discharges all of the capacitors by earthing the computer.

It might not work, but it won't damage anything and it's certainly worth a go.
ant512 is offline  
Old 04 June 2003, 20:45   #6
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 57
Posts: 584
Bugger, should have mentioned that bit in my first post. I'm stoopid!
Syko is offline  
Old 05 June 2003, 09:15   #7
dmrvf
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by Syko
Bugger, should have mentioned that bit in my first post. I'm stoopid!
THANKS FOR THE HELP GUYS

That's a logical explanation to me I will try it today and i will post back the results. I thought about that also but in a deferent way something to do with the grounding of the system.

Please do not use signatures in your messages. Configure UserCP insead. -Admin
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird problem tesla support.Other 2 28 March 2013 01:57
A4000+CV64(3D)+CSPPC+OS3.9(1) weird problem misticjoe support.Hardware 3 13 August 2010 13:49
Weird CF problem (maybe...) squidbass support.Other 10 01 March 2009 14:45
Weird A4000 floppy problems mrluff support.Hardware 9 14 February 2009 15:12
Weird problem BippyM Coders. General 12 03 August 2008 14:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12463 seconds with 13 queries