English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 December 2022, 22:10   #1081
OldB0y
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Letchworth/UK
Posts: 83
Amazing work guys - this is definitely the best I've seen AB3D2 running on real H/W!

Have tried the exe from post 1061, and get the following:

A1200 with Blizzard 1260:
small screen, 1x1 pixel - between 15 -> ~ 29fps
full screen , 1x1 pixel - between 7 -> ~13 fps

A4k with A3660 (which tbh is actually not particularly quick)
small screen - 11 -> 19fps
full screen - 5 -> 11

If I get chance to try on my Vampire V2 1200 I'll let you know.
OldB0y is offline  
Old 12 December 2022, 22:55   #1082
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldB0y View Post
Amazing work guys - this is definitely the best I've seen AB3D2 running on real H/W!

Have tried the exe from post 1061, and get the following:

A1200 with Blizzard 1260:
small screen, 1x1 pixel - between 15 -> ~ 29fps
full screen , 1x1 pixel - between 7 -> ~13 fps

A4k with A3660 (which tbh is actually not particularly quick)
small screen - 11 -> 19fps
full screen - 5 -> 11

If I get chance to try on my Vampire V2 1200 I'll let you know.
I am impressed with the A3660 results considering the obvious lack of local fast ram.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 12 December 2022, 23:31   #1083
amipal
Registered User
 
amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
That's not going to work. The game assumes a planar bitmap layout in chip memory that it c2ps on. We need proper RTG support for what you are trying to do.
Ah, that'd do it! I shall give it a skip for now then.

Last edited by amipal; 12 December 2022 at 23:43.
amipal is offline  
Old 12 December 2022, 23:33   #1084
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
yeah. its not that simple. the screen is an intuition screen but the c2p copies data directly into chip ram (or something). promoting to another AGA screen mode may be possible like dblPAL or euro36/72 but not RTG.

@karlos
is that how it works?

Yep
Karlos is online now  
Old 12 December 2022, 23:34   #1085
OldB0y
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Letchworth/UK
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
I am impressed with the A3660 results considering the obvious lack of local fast ram.
apologies - have just been playing it for a little while longer

the A3660 figures were a tad optimistic/and or was in 2x1 pixel mode

small screen = 5 - 11
full screen = considerably slower more like 7 max

the B1260 literally kicks its butt in every way possible!!
OldB0y is offline  
Old 12 December 2022, 23:37   #1086
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldB0y View Post
apologies - have just been playing it for a little while longer

the A3660 figures were a tad optimistic/and or was in 2x1 pixel mode

small screen = 5 - 11
full screen = considerably slower more like 7 max

the B1260 literally kicks its butt in every way possible!!
that makes more sense
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 00:02   #1087
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,139
Does anyone have comparable benchmarks for the mod? I'm keen to understand if it takes a performance hit relative to the base game. Level A certainly has a lot more geometry and textures.
Karlos is online now  
Old 13 December 2022, 00:18   #1088
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,944
I don't have any as yet but can try tomorrow (so long as things don't go sideways like over the weekend). Unless anyone else is in a better position to provide any info?
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 00:40   #1089
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,944
@Karlos

I see you have been sewing the seeds for some conditional code based on which cpu is detected, the same code I shoehorned in to set the screen size to full screen if 040 or above could be expanded to detect if an fpu is also present and if it was a 881,882 or 040fpu.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 00:54   #1090
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
@Karlos

I see you have been sewing the seeds for some conditional code based on which cpu is detected, the same code I shoehorned in to set the screen size to full screen if 040 or above could be expanded to detect if an fpu is also present and if it was a 881,882 or 040fpu.
If you look, you'll see I used your 040 detection to set the move16 flag. I'm keen to test optional FPU based transformation on 040/060 FPU.
Karlos is online now  
Old 13 December 2022, 01:00   #1091
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,944
cool. not sure how the 060 is handled. I think testing bit 7 will tell you if its an 060 but not sure about the 060fpu.
Code:
*  Processors and Co-processors:
	BITDEF	AF,68010,0	; also set for 68020
	BITDEF	AF,68020,1	; also set for 68030
	BITDEF	AF,68030,2	; also set for 68040
	BITDEF	AF,68040,3
	BITDEF	AF,68881,4	; also set for 68882
	BITDEF	AF,68882,5
	BITDEF	AF,FPU40,6	; Set if 68040 FPU
;
; The AFB_FPU40 bit is set when a working 68040 FPU
; is in the system.  If this bit is set and both the
; AFB_68881 and AFB_68882 bits are not set, then the 68040
; math emulation code has not been loaded and only 68040
; FPU instructions are available.  This bit is valid *ONLY*
; if the AFB_68040 bit is set.
;
;	BITDEF	AF,RESERVED8,8
;	BITDEF	AF,RESERVED9,9
	BITDEF	AF,PRIVATE,15	; Just what it says
edit: shamelessly ripped this from another thread.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 01:32   #1092
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaAmiga View Post
Also, how do I change pixel mode (if it can be changed?).

I would like to run some FPS tests with my TF1260 at various speeds (if I can keep it stable).

I can also test my original disks install, the WHDLoad version and the versions everyone is working on if people feel the need?
'(' and ')' on the numeric key pad of real amiga will switch between 1x and 2x height/width pixel modes.
FYI 2x width modes do not work correctly at the mo.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 09:38   #1093
AlphaAmiga
Registered User
 
AlphaAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
'(' and ')' on the numeric key pad of real amiga will switch between 1x and 2x height/width pixel modes.
FYI 2x width modes do not work correctly at the mo.
Thanks Abu
AlphaAmiga is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 09:43   #1094
AlphaAmiga
Registered User
 
AlphaAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 163
Morning.

I am going to assume that this might be a bit of an ask, but, would it at all be possible for the game to output the monitored FPS to a file?

That way it would be great to then be able to copy the data over to a spreadsheet and compare overall FPS (average as well as highs and lows) when looking at performance across hardware and CPU frequencies.

Or, would it be possible to implement something in the vein of Quakes time demo where the game runs itself for a couple of minutes and then outputs its FPS statistics at the end, maybe also with detected hardware (this is deffo more of a nice to have)?

Last edited by AlphaAmiga; 13 December 2022 at 11:15.
AlphaAmiga is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 10:09   #1095
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
 
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 46
Posts: 1,096
Quake's method is better I think, although never understood why it slows down when less polygons are visible on the screen during the turnaround. :P
Reynolds is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 11:42   #1096
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reynolds View Post
Quake's method is better I think, although never understood why it slows down when less polygons are visible on the screen during the turnaround. :P
Is it not graphing the draw time, i.e. lower is better?
Karlos is online now  
Old 13 December 2022, 11:43   #1097
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,139
Performance wise it is probably simpler and perhaps better to have three averages over longer time spans. A min and max tracker could also be added.

On the flipside, the game no longer shuts down the system so streaming the frame times to a file is possible. I'm not sure how safe that would be if/when the game crashes with open file descriptors that were being written to.

Last edited by Karlos; 13 December 2022 at 12:23.
Karlos is online now  
Old 13 December 2022, 12:51   #1098
AlphaAmiga
Registered User
 
AlphaAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 163
That sounds quite sensible to me actually.

Would this be possible to implement do you think?

Could you also include a scan an output of the hardware on the system? E.g. 040 CPU AGA 2 MB Chip XMB Fast?
AlphaAmiga is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 13:29   #1099
grond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,918
Couldn't we just print to stdout? Amiga CLI does have some means of redirection, doesn't it?
grond is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 13:59   #1100
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
Couldn't we just print to stdout? Amiga CLI does have some means of redirection, doesn't it?
Sure, but the crash while streaming to disk scenario likely still applies there. I've had the game hard freeze on me and who knows what it might be doing in those circumstances.

The other thing is, given the typical state of Amiga IO, I wouldn't be surprised if any stream to disk would negatively impact the performance. If nothing else, consider the effect on CPU caches with all the buffers and what not.
Karlos is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
Karlos
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alien Breed 3D II The Killing Grounds RTG patch Angus Retrogaming General Discussion 63 14 December 2022 15:20
Alien Breed & Alien Breed '92: SE - delay when picking up items / opening doors Ian support.WinUAE 16 23 December 2016 15:50
Alien Breed 3D II : The Killing Grounds code booklet alexh support.Games 19 10 October 2012 22:17
Alien Breed 3D 2 - The Killing Grounds Ironclaw support.Games 12 13 September 2005 13:07
HD Version of Alien Breed I ? Kintaro request.Old Rare Games 20 31 July 2003 10:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:10.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16782 seconds with 14 queries