English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 October 2012, 06:12   #1
zunebuggy
 
Posts: n/a
Roll eyes (sarcastic) Frustrating Issues With UAE Virtual HD

OK so after a couple of hours, I got a 2GB flash drive mounted as a virtual HD for the Amiga UAE. I assume I am doing something very wrong. I am a complete newbie to UAE. I have Workbench 1.3 in DF0 and it boots up and I can see the flash drive that is loaded with game .adf files. I doubleclick the drive in WorkBench and the window for the drive opens but has no icons or adf files. I can boot adf files easily from DF0 or DF1 by pointing them to individual adf files and saving that config and rebooting, but I would like to load the virtual HD with games and run them from the HD by booting up in Workbench and then opening the drive and double clicking the icon. Maybe that's not how the HD is supposed to work but if not I am totally lost and please walk me through it step by step as if I were a beginner because I am.

Thank you very much for your time.
 
Old 20 October 2012, 10:27   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,354
ADF files are backup images of floppy disks. There is no way to run games directly from ADF on an Amiga, no matter if real or virtual. Most games are supposed to be booted from floppy disk. They cannot even be installed to harddrive without changing the game's code.

The easiest way to run Amiga games from harddrive is to install them with WHDLoad.

You might need a later OS version, though. 1.3 is very limited.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magic mouse/virtual mouse driver issues mark_k support.WinUAE 2 04 December 2012 20:43
FS-UAE MacOs issues fnap support.FS-UAE 2 02 October 2012 20:27
FS-UAE: graphics issues themagicm support.FS-UAE 1 28 June 2012 11:50
Couple issues with E-UAE ( screen size and config related) kursad support.OtherUAE 3 11 December 2009 20:53
Seriously frustrating, what to do next? ORSM T support.Hardware 15 16 June 2007 12:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06655 seconds with 15 queries