English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 July 2021, 14:11   #21
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by viddi View Post
Wasn't the Lionheart spider cave level EHB?
If you believe dlfrsilver then yes that was 64-colour EHB.

https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=810485&postcount=9

Last edited by alexh; 09 July 2021 at 15:15.
alexh is offline  
Old 09 July 2021, 14:27   #22
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If you believe DLFSLVR then yes that was 64-colour EHB.

https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=810485&postcount=9
I read some dev story decades ago and they said they could use EHB by using just one type of baddies...
viddi is offline  
Old 09 July 2021, 14:46   #23
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 8,998
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If you believe DLFSLVR then yes that was 64-colour EHB.

https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=810485&postcount=9
yes it is. The cave levels are in 64 colors EHB. It can be checked with maptapper, but also if you ripp the levels. with 5 bitplans, it doesn't work, but with 6 bitplanes, you have all the colors perfect
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 14 July 2021, 18:55   #24
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,688
I suppose that one-on-one fighters use that mode too if mirror matches are allowed (else it takes too much memory to store 2 characters with different colors).

You can enable 6 bitplanes, but never blit anything except the shade (desert strike) or the mask (mirror match), so the DMA isn't that sollicited. At least you don't use the blitter a lot. DMA just fetches 1 more bitplane to compute display. Just leave the bitplane to all zeroes for no effect on colors.

Or you have to design the palette so one particular plane is blitted somewhere else so it changes the colors (Supercars 2 and probably Lotus do that to draw the same bitmap with different colors)
jotd is offline  
Old 14 July 2021, 19:06   #25
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 8,998
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
There is a game i discovered lately that is 64 colors halfbright : Darkseed.

Good feat, it has also spoken dialogues on the disk version !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 15 July 2021, 06:33   #26
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 2,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
You can enable 6 bitplanes, but never blit anything except the shade (desert strike) or the mask (mirror match), so the DMA isn't that sollicited. At least you don't use the blitter a lot. DMA just fetches 1 more bitplane to compute display. Just leave the bitplane to all zeroes for no effect on colors.
Still a lot of DMA that gets lost this way... : /
Steril707 is offline  
Old 15 July 2021, 09:33   #27
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
There is a game i discovered lately that is 64 colors halfbright : Darkseed.
Darkseed uses a 3/4 bitplane hires interlace screen (BPLCON0 is set to either $3004 or $4004 in the copperlists).
StingRay is offline  
Old 15 July 2021, 09:35   #28
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Still a lot of DMA that gets lost this way... : /
Yeah, losing 5K cycles (assuming a 320x256 screen) out of 70K available isn't nothing
roondar is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 00:12   #29
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 1,169
How does Fightin' Spirit move such massive characters all over the screen in EHB at 50fps?
Cammy is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 00:31   #30
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
How does Fightin' Spirit move such massive characters all over the screen in EHB at 50fps?
ECS is in 25fps.
AGA maybe doesn't use EHB.
viddi is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 13:30   #31
alain.treesong
Aghnar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: France
Posts: 109
If my memory is good, pinball dreams (and probably the other OCS pinballs from DI) is in EHB.
alain.treesong is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 14:26   #32
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by alain.treesong View Post
If my memory is good, pinball dreams (and probably the other OCS pinballs from DI) is in EHB.
Pinball Dreams is EHB, but for that game, its not particularly stressed out.

Uses hardware sprites for the ball, the table is complete in memory, and the scrolling up and down is done by changing bitplane pointers.

Lots of the animations are simply colour changes, so this is an area where EHB really shines.

No wonder then it wasn't converted to Megadrive, whilst that machine can display 64 colours, its only has a palette of 512 versus the 4096 of the Amiga, so it wouldn't have been as well shaded on Megadrive.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 18:54   #33
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,912
Just curious what would be quicker 64 colour on AGA
or
EHB on 68020?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 20:49   #34
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,688
EHB or 6 plane KillEHB (real 64 colors) that's the same speed. Once color registers are loaded, looking them up isn't really a problem.
jotd is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 23:11   #35
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,912
so on a A1200 there would be no difference speed wise to using real AGA 64colours and ecs EHB 64 colours?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 09:44   #36
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,688
In terms of DMA bandwidth it's the same thing. It can be slower if you set the 64 colors in the copperlist instead of setting them with CPU beforehand.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 11:04   #37
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,912
Probably silly question to you but why include this 64 EHB mode in the chipset instead of real 64 colour if they have the same speed impact?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 11:33   #38
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,688
I already asked myself the same question. That can appear pretty much as a stupid idea... I suppose that creating more color registers was more expensive, plus most computers of the era had only 16 colors, so 32 colors was already a good improvement.

EHB was a good way to create shadows in 2D games too. Everything in Amiga is thought for 2D anyway.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 15:08   #39
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Probably silly question to you but why include this 64 EHB mode in the chipset instead of real 64 colour if they have the same speed impact?
ICS doesn't have EHB mode - 6 bitplanes was obviously for HAM and in OCS providing EHB (engineer way of thinking: we have only 32 color registers but 6 bitplanes and we don't want use HAM - what to do? Aaaa lets use 6-th bitplane as shadow as it is easy modification - set MSB to 0 in CLUT RGB value). was OK workaround for 6 bitplanes capability, no-HAM flag and only 5 bit CLUT entry.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 15:28   #40
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,688
makes sense. A kind of HoldAndModify but in another dimension
jotd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a given palette to Extra Half-Brite roondar Coders. General 19 11 July 2020 06:33
which game made the best use of half bright mode? donnie Retrogaming General Discussion 63 09 July 2020 09:45
Query about Extra Half-Brite (EHB) Foebane Amiga scene 15 13 September 2015 12:18
How do pseudo-3D racing game engines work? absence Coders. General 2 29 May 2010 00:05
[half OT] Good news! Winamp 5.0x no longer interferes with WinUAE (fullscreen)! andreas support.WinUAE 2 22 August 2004 02:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10528 seconds with 15 queries