English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 27 February 2012, 21:53   #1
TKM21

Retro Gaming: your thoughts?

Hello there!

I’m a student from Staffordshire University in his final year of study. I’m doing my final year project on retro games and how much they impact games of today. I’d like to know what you guys think about retro games.

Feel free to talk about anything retro, like why you like retro to your favourite retro game. Talk about modern games as well if you want. It will all help!

Thanks in advance for the help!

Old 28 February 2012, 08:18   #2
lesta_smsc

Well firstly good luck with your project!

I think retro is something people hold dear as it reminds them of 'their' past... In todays day and age, we see very few of the younger generation wanting to embrace in purchasing consoles/computers of the days gone by... Whereas those who were brought up with such consoles remember the many hours of fun they gave, the friends they made due to it, and can relate to wanting to establish the old consoles on the consoles of today - hence emulation!
Old 28 February 2012, 10:45   #3
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

Why I like retro? Well I come from a time where they weren't retro Compare it to music; people nowadays still listen to music from the 60's, 70's, etc. There are also people like me who listen primarily to music from that era even though I wasn't even born yet then; I acknowledge the passion and the honesty in the music made then. Likewise there are also young gamers who reach back to the games of ye olde days for the same reasons, possibly with a little encouragement from dear old dad.