English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 October 2021, 17:33   #2881
NLS
Ancient User
NLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 47
Posts: 706
That is not an Amiga question...

Yet I can give you a reply.

CPC6128 coexisted with 464/664. So everything came "prepared" for extra bank of 64K. It was the same code, just some extra data.

Spectrum 128, not so much, but not as bad as 128.
When Spectrum 128 came out, it was followed by further models all with 128K. The 48K was very old by that time. So it was considered the successor and follow up and had its independent line of software.

When C128 came, we were almost in Amiga era already. It didn't have time to flourish.
Also C64 mode, had an IMMENSE library of software (bigger than CPC and Spectrum) and people didn't feel the urge to make something for the 128 side (most C64 games were already better than their CPC and Spectrum counterparts - with exceptions of course, but stlll).
Also C128 was a far more complex machine in hardware.
It had 2 CPU (not running concurrently ok), it had 2 independent IC to handle graphics (with different palettes!).
NLS is offline  
Old 22 October 2021, 18:09   #2882
Lektroid
Registered User

Lektroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by kremiso View Post
i see a lot of cool new CPC 128k games, coming out occasionally
something good also for the Speccy 128

almost zero for the Commodore 128, why ?
has a great arcade game ever been released specific for the c128?
Part of the reason it never really took off was 1, the price and 2, the lack of support from game developers, and why would they when the C64 userbase was way bigger; I can't imagine any games developer worth their salt would invest in coding and marketing for something that has a fraction of the existing userbase. After seeing what can be done with the C64 on the demoscene, I reckon it could be capable of some amazing feats too.

I recently saw a C128 for sale for less than half the going price, but I passed it by for this very reason. Seems pointless to own something I wouldn't use for anything more than my existing C64's. Shame really.
Lektroid is offline  
Old 22 October 2021, 21:00   #2883
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLS View Post
That is not an Amiga question...

Yet I can give you a reply.

CPC6128 coexisted with 464/664. So everything came "prepared" for extra bank of 64K. It was the same code, just some extra data.

Spectrum 128, not so much, but not as bad as 128.
When Spectrum 128 came out, it was followed by further models all with 128K. The 48K was very old by that time. So it was considered the successor and follow up and had its independent line of software.

When C128 came, we were almost in Amiga era already. It didn't have time to flourish.
Also C64 mode, had an IMMENSE library of software (bigger than CPC and Spectrum) and people didn't feel the urge to make something for the 128 side (most C64 games were already better than their CPC and Spectrum counterparts - with exceptions of course, but stlll).
Also C128 was a far more complex machine in hardware.
It had 2 CPU (not running concurrently ok), it had 2 independent IC to handle graphics (with different palettes!).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lektroid View Post
Part of the reason it never really took off was 1, the price and 2, the lack of support from game developers, and why would they when the C64 userbase was way bigger; I can't imagine any games developer worth their salt would invest in coding and marketing for something that has a fraction of the existing userbase. After seeing what can be done with the C64 on the demoscene, I reckon it could be capable of some amazing feats too.

I recently saw a C128 for sale for less than half the going price, but I passed it by for this very reason. Seems pointless to own something I wouldn't use for anything more than my existing C64's. Shame really.
thank you for the replies, i see, complex hw than c64, unlike cpc;
yup, really a shame, another machine we'll never know about gaming full possibilities

sorry for the off topic post, completely forgot that it is an Amiga only thread
i need new glasses lol
kremiso is offline  
Old 22 October 2021, 21:09   #2884
NLS
Ancient User
NLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 47
Posts: 706
This is an Amiga only FORUM, actually. The whole place.

But 8bit Commodore have our love (at least they have mine).
NLS is offline  
Old 23 October 2021, 00:33   #2885
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLS View Post
This is an Amiga only FORUM, actually. The whole place.
honestly, i think that this embarrassed questions thread could perfectly fit into the Retrogaming General Discussion section, and that was the probably reason of my error

Last edited by kremiso; 23 October 2021 at 02:12.
kremiso is offline  
Old 25 October 2021, 15:56   #2886
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,819
Feel free to add a retrogaming questions you've always been too embarrassed to ask thread in the retrogaming general discussion subforum. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 18 November 2021, 21:44   #2887
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 324
QUESTION:

Could it be said that the Transformer emulator from 1985 was the first emulator "as we know it" for a personal computer?
Estrayk is online now  
Old 19 November 2021, 11:13   #2888
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,819
PET Emulator for the C64 1983.

Allen & Gates wrote the first 8-bit BASIC using a 8080 emulator running on a mainframe in the mid 70s.
Jope is offline  
Old 21 November 2021, 18:11   #2889
NLS
Ancient User
NLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 47
Posts: 706
I remember the VERY GOOD - BASIC ONLY - Spectrum emulator from 1985. I am sure there were attempts before that.
What is the Transformer emulator???
NLS is offline  
Old 21 November 2021, 18:38   #2890
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLS View Post
What is the Transformer emulator???
It's a PC emulator that was shipped with the A1020 5.25" drive. PC compatibility was deemed an important thing and the Transformer was even demonstrated at the launch of the Amiga.

It was a stop gap measure until the sidecar and later bridgeboards came along.
Jope is offline  
Old 21 November 2021, 22:01   #2891
NLS
Ancient User
NLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 47
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
It's a PC emulator that was shipped with the A1020 5.25" drive. PC compatibility was deemed an important thing and the Transformer was even demonstrated at the launch of the Amiga.

It was a stop gap measure until the sidecar and later bridgeboards came along.
Ah... Yes I know Transformer for Amiga.
Somehow I was thinking of Transformer for... C64.

You see, it would never be possible for Amiga to have the first emulator.
There were emulators (for much simpler machines) before the Amiga was born.

Technically speaking, emulation is an integral part of advancing from a machine generation to the next, since the first machines.
NLS is offline  
Old 22 November 2021, 03:37   #2892
Gorf
Registered User

Gorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 1,452
There is also the "ST XFormer" - a very early emulator for the Atari 8bit on the ST.
It uses some kind of "PJIT" - the same method Buffee is now implementing.

https://www.atarimagazines.com/st-lo...ST_XFORMER.php
Gorf is offline  
Old 24 November 2021, 22:41   #2893
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 2,070
Here's a question I've been wondering for a while..
What spec Amiga would it take to run something like KickOff2 in 640x256?
All those top down footie games could use higher resolution..
And is could AGA even do it at 50Hz, where are we hitting bottlenecks?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 25 November 2021, 03:36   #2894
lmimmfn
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Here's a question I've been wondering for a while..
What spec Amiga would it take to run something like KickOff2 in 640x256?
All those top down footie games could use higher resolution..
And is could AGA even do it at 50Hz, where are we hitting bottlenecks?
Not really answering your question but 320x256 was clear on tv's back in the day. There was very little to be gained by going 640x256, it was slightly better in definition but nothibg like a monitor at that res.

For footie gamed AGA could have been used to use high res sprites with a low res background, however limired by Amiga sprites in general.

The bandwidth is too low for ECS/OCS models to do a game like Sensi Soccer in 640x256.
lmimmfn is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamebase Amiga - 2 Questions Fiery Phoenix New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 13 August 2012 13:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 17:27
A few general Amiga questions. Hougham support.Hardware 6 30 April 2008 23:13
Amiga A4000 Questions mfletcher support.Hardware 8 29 April 2008 11:51
Amiga 600 Questions JDunlap support.Hardware 14 20 January 2008 20:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17295 seconds with 16 queries