English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 November 2021, 22:49   #1
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 470
California Games World Of Wonders Crack

Is there anyone who has California Games as completely flawlessly running game with the World Of Wonders cracktro?
I downloaded several versions of California Games, but either they're not with this cracktro or they are but not completely intact.
Thanks in advance.
Zak is offline  
Old 20 November 2021, 10:36   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,156
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
requires KS1.2
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 20 November 2021, 18:47   #3
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 470
I have California Games disks working fine under Kickstart 1.3, but it's just not World of Wonders. I don't think that Kickstart 1.3 is the problem, but that the disks get easily corrupted and people don't notice, because you have to play all events to notice the issue.
Zak is offline  
Old 21 November 2021, 01:46   #4
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 572
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
As dlfrsilver said, that cracktro is KS 1.2 only. Having said that, it appears the Midnight Maniac (watch your step ) fixed this issue. He also slapped his own intro. Grab this version, and give it a try (with KS 1.3) :

Code:
California Games (1988)(Epyx - U.S. Gold)(Disk 1 of 2)(Program)[cr WOW][h TBC].zip
So it's the WOW version, only it was hacked (modified) by the Midnight Maniac afterwards... for the better apparently, since WOW cracktro is now displayed properly on my A500.
SquawkBox is offline  
Old 21 November 2021, 16:07   #5
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 470
O.K. I finally seem to have a working version!
Zak is offline  
Old 21 November 2021, 16:17   #6
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 572
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Good, and thanks for letting us know about this crack, since WOW seems to have done a better job than Quartex this time.
SquawkBox is offline  
Old 22 November 2021, 01:21   #7
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
requires KS1.2
Wow ... I regret getting rid of my KS 1.2 A500 with red LED! Is there a way to kickback to 1.2 the usual way as it is for 1.3? Does that resolve this compatibility issue or is more required?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 24 November 2021, 22:02   #8
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 572
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Is there a way to kickback to 1.2 the usual way as it is for 1.3?
Nope, you need a separate machine to load the "KS 1.2" or "Amiga 1000" stuff. Some games have been fixed to work on all machines e.q. "AGA fixes" (compatibility goes both ways; Of course, once it's fixed, it's not considered KS 1.2 anymore). I know of a game that one can get to work although it can clearly be labelled KS 1.2 title : Archon I. Hit the space bar before the logo falls, and the game starts as it should, but it's an exception.
SquawkBox is offline  
Old 25 November 2021, 19:10   #9
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 470
I know there was a software to kickback from Kickstart 1.3 to 1.2, but it's only to load Dos programs afterwards. You can't boot a disk afterwards. I don't know on which disk it was anymore, I saw it on a tools and utilities disk with several tools on it, but I don't know the name.

Also, I knew people around town back in the 90's that had a Kickstart switch board with both Kickstart ROM's in their Amiga 500. I have such a board in my A1200 to switch between 3.0 and 1.3. But it is difficult to get such a board today.
Zak is offline  
Old 25 November 2021, 23:48   #10
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 572
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
I have such a board in my A500. I will argue there weren't that many 90's titles that used to require KS > 2.04, you probably have noticed these are few and far between, especially among commercial releases : Theatre Of Death, Minskies Furballs...

Last edited by SquawkBox; 27 November 2021 at 15:07.
SquawkBox is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found some old sourcecode (Defjam & CCS + Megaforce & World of Wonders?) LOGIK123 Amiga scene 7 24 February 2013 21:55
Another World Flashtro crack MethodGit request.Old Rare Games 8 03 May 2011 22:38
World of Wonders - Sword of Sodan Adropac2 request.Other 11 08 September 2008 22:46
California Games II myself support.Games 2 28 September 2006 20:02
California Games 2 Maverick357 support.Games 3 22 October 2001 19:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13414 seconds with 15 queries