English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 September 2017, 07:19   #1
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
Cannot access The Zone!

I don't have the privileges, it seems. All I wanted to do was to access the Gamebase 2 ADFs. How do I get those?
Foebane is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 07:34   #2
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Age: 43
Posts: 4,390
ftp://ftp:any@grandis.nu/Commodore_A...se%20Amiga%202
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 28 September 2017, 09:38   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
I don't have the privileges, it seems. How do I get those?

RTFM! http://eab.abime.net/faq.php
thomas is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 13:01   #4
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
Have I broken a rule? What is CAPS/SPS? I can only imagine game disk images, but I don't know what the acronyms mean.
Foebane is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 13:09   #5
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
What is CAPS/SPS?
See here. The files created are .IPFs.

You can use .IPF files in emulators by adding in the required DLL.

...unfortunately though you cannot request them on EAB: SPS (formerly CAPS) FAQ - DO'S & DONT'S
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 13:21   #6
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
Sorry. I was only after ADFs (if that's also not allowed, sorry) and I read here once that the Gamebase Amiga ADFs were the true intact originals.

Feel free to delete this thread if you like.
Foebane is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 13:35   #7
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Sorry. I was only after ADFs (if that's also not allowed, sorry)
Of course you can request .ADFs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
and I read here once that the Gamebase Amiga ADFs were the true intact originals.
...no, GameBase .ADFs are ones that have been tested thoroughly by Belgarath and pretty much guaranteed to work 100%. Saves you trawling through the sea of TOSEC files to find 100% working ones.

The majority of these are cracks / trainers etc. They are not originals; these are SPS / .IPF files as explained in my post #5 above.
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 13:52   #8
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Of course you can request .ADFs


...no, GameBase .ADFs are ones that have been tested thoroughly by Belgarath and pretty much guaranteed to work 100%. Saves you trawling through the sea of TOSEC files to find 100% working ones.

The majority of these are cracks / trainers etc.
Ah, cracking, the Dark Side of the Demoscene as I call it, even though groups would like to totally separate them 100%.

And yes, TOSEC: there are tens of thousands of ADFs there and yet so many broken ones, makes you wonder why they keep the latter, really.
Foebane is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 14:20   #9
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 57
Posts: 1,292
TOSEC keeps the broken one's too for completeness. GameBase just has the working one's as already said.
If your wanting the GameBase collection there is a torrent of it out there, it is large though so takes a while depending on number of seeds!
If your just after the odd game your better off just downloading the .adf's as you want them from the ftp or one of the Amiga web sites.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 15:59   #10
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptyerman View Post
TOSEC keeps the broken one's too for completeness. GameBase just has the working one's as already said.
If your wanting the GameBase collection there is a torrent of it out there, it is large though so takes a while depending on number of seeds!
If your just after the odd game your better off just downloading the .adf's as you want them from the ftp or one of the Amiga web sites.
I've got a source for Amiga games, on HDD, called WHDownLoad, and the vast majority of those work fine. It was only an issue I had with the WHDLoad version of Shadow of the Beast 3, where the music is slower tempo than it should be. But it's really minor.
Foebane is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 16:14   #11
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 47
Posts: 3,746
Mind you, WHDownLoad hasn't been updated in years, use the ftp instead.
Grab Beast 3 v1.6 from there and see if that solves your problem.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61028
Retroplay is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 18:02   #12
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
Thanks, Retroplay, that did the trick!
Foebane is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 22:37   #13
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Have I broken a rule?
Not sure what you mean. I tried to hint you towards the big red "How do I get access to the zone?" link on that page.
thomas is offline  
Old 30 September 2017, 00:23   #14
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Not sure what you mean. I tried to hint you towards the big red "How do I get access to the zone?" link on that page.
Ah. OK.

Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i access the zone? carvedeye Amiga scene 3 21 November 2014 00:14
How do i access the zone! ? iandsm1 support.Other 10 09 May 2013 19:11
how do i get access to the zone? skeldol New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 28 May 2007 02:56
How do I get access to The Zone? Paul New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 25 October 2006 11:50
Why can't I access the Zone? Galaxy project.EAB 5 08 October 2005 08:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09609 seconds with 13 queries