English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 May 2013, 17:38   #1
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Hooooo Some of the keyboard keys not responding (A1200)

I took my keyboard apart and (thx Lord Aga for the advice!) cleaned the green membrane with 70% pure alcohol and reattached it. However, the same keys that didn't work before (arrow keys, HELP and "-" on the Numpad) are still unresponsive. The other keys work just fine. Not much of a big deal as very few games rely on arrow keys but I would still like to figure this out anyway. Could it be the cable ie. the part which plugs into the mainboard (at first I didn't think this might be the issue but now..)?

I haven't really looked into the keys as at the first glimpse, the contacts seem to be fine as well as the springs. So, hence my "Might it be the plug end of the cable" dillema..
Kenan is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 17:45   #2
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 41
Posts: 4,165
It could very well be the end of the cable which slots into the connector on the motherboard which has a problem. Sometimes people pull out the cable without releasing the clip and this wears down the cable a lot, causing these connection problems.
I had the same problem with my A1200, and I just replaced it with another used keyboard.

I did read about someone who cut off the end and carefully peeled off the plastic to reveal some fresh tracks and made it work again, however it didn't seem that easy to perform.
demolition is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 17:50   #3
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
^^Thx for the reply. Not sure I'm gonna go that road (peeling off stuff) perhaps try to reattach it and see if it works. If not, well, I could leave it as it is or perhaps buy a new replacement keyboard.
Kenan is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 18:01   #4
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
I did read about someone who cut off the end and carefully peeled off the plastic to reveal some fresh tracks and made it work again, however it didn't seem that easy to perform.
I did that once, it wasn't that difficult. There's a limit to how many times you can do that though, of course. I think I cut that one a bit short, it was a struggle to get it back in again but it did work.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 23:55   #5
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
I took the cable out and when I reconnected it, now the keyboard is totally dead.
On the second cleanup and the second attempt, I managed to break that little white plastic thingie that gets plugged in with the cabel (round of aplause please! Thank you, thank you.. ).

So, untill I fix it or get a replacement keyboard or whatever, I guess, in the meantime, I'm gonna be enjoying my A600.
Kenan is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 00:19   #6
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 43
Posts: 630
About cutting the end of the ribbon. It is really simple, no peeling back or anything required. Peeling back the plastic beyond the carbon contacts is really difficult, the adhesive is likely to tear the trace off the other side. What has often happened is the contacts on the motherboard connector have been wearing the same spot for years and maybe reseated a few times and worn right through the carbon coating and the metal trace at the point of contact. If you hold it up to a light you can see the worn spots. All you need to do is slice off maybe 1mm at most with scissors or scalpel to move the contact point up to a fresh area. With luck and care you won't have to do it again for another 20 years.

Careful what you clean the membrane with too. I think the green plastic might be alcohol soluble. My cloth went very green the first time I did it, I just use water now.

How broken is the clip? If it's just the little retaining tabs it will still work, if you somehow snapped it in half, not so much.
jimbob is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 00:24   #7
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
^^The clip attached to the motherboard is fine. I'm talking about the other part that goes with the cable. It's not "destroyed" but piece of it got disconnected so..
Kenan is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 01:14   #8
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 41
Posts: 4,165
That clip was missing in the A1200 I got, and instead it had a piece of cardboard stuck behind the cable to keep it tight, but it's not a good solution IMO as it could put too much pressure on the cable so I found a cheap replacement clip from our well-known Amiga parts pusher on Ebay.
Cutting off 1mm sounds like a good and easy to do solution, I will probably try that with my non-working keyboard to see if that will get it working again.
demolition is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 02:11   #9
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
I spent a whole hour trying to make it work. I failed. No matter how hard I pushed the cable the keyboard was dead. Yes, I clipped the top and everything but no luck. The cabel is either bust or I'm doing something wrong..either way, gonna leave my 1200 in the cardboard box..untill I figure out what to do ..I'm too disheartend to buy a new keyboard as I'm not sure if it would work at all OR if I'm gonna attach it properly..perhaps I should simply consider getting one of those pc keyboards extension instead..meh..
Kenan is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 10:35   #10
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 41
Posts: 4,165
The right way to connect the cable is to lift the clip, insert the cable as far as it will go and then push down the clip. Disconnecting is the reverse order and as with many other things, never use force.
demolition is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 10:41   #11
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
My clip is brokem (my fault), is there any way I can replace it with something else?
Also, is the cable folded on top while being inserted or is it straight, edges directly going in?

Thanks.
Kenan is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 10:47   #12
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails

Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenan View Post
On the second cleanup and the second attempt, I managed to break that little white plastic thingie that gets plugged in with the cabel (round of aplause please! Thank you, thank you.. ).
Oh man, I told you to use a screwdriver, not a piledriver
Lord Aga is online now  
Old 16 May 2013, 11:13   #13
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 41
Posts: 4,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenan View Post
My clip is brokem (my fault), is there any way I can replace it with something else?
Also, is the cable folded on top while being inserted or is it straight, edges directly going in?
How broken is the clip? It might still be functional.
And I'm not sure what you mean with 'cable folded'? There is only one way the cable can go in as seen in this picture:
demolition is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 11:45   #14
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
Oh man, I told you to use a screwdriver, not a piledriver
Screwdriver, piledriver..potatoes, tomatoes..



Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
How broken is the clip? It might still be functional.
And I'm not sure what you mean with 'cable folded'? There is only one way the cable can go in as seen in this picture:
I was refering to when you plug the cable (the very top of the cable) if it should be slightly bent (the very top, the part that enteres the motherboard) or should it go straight as it is.

Last edited by prowler; 16 May 2013 at 22:39. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
Kenan is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 11:49   #15
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 53
Posts: 2,824
if your not technicly minded just get a working keyboard there not that expensive.
or even just the membrane and just undu all the little screws from the backplate and replace the whole membrane.
if youve broken the plastic clip there dirt cheap on ebay,ive got a few spares but i dont know how much it would be to ship it.
roy bates is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 11:50   #16
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 41
Posts: 4,165
It should just be straight. And then when the clip is pushed down, it presses the cable against the contacts in the socket.
demolition is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 12:19   #17
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Tried, even fixed the clip which is now holding it down but no luck. Tried to plug it several times..Perhaps the cabel is simply dead.
Kenan is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 12:22   #18
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 41
Posts: 4,165
Very likely. I found a working replacement keyboard locally for the equivalent of £10, so they are not expensive. If you get one with a different key layout, you can just move the keys from the old keyboard.
demolition is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 12:25   #19
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Well, at least a valuable lesson has been learned (considering the clip usage). I'll be more careful next time.

Thanks guys for all your help and input regarding this matter.
Kenan is offline  
Old 18 May 2013, 18:17   #20
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
There is a solution!

Dead a1200 board - steal the clip from it. Highly unlikely as the board could well be harvested for parts

or

Find a dead/broken A500 keyboard, zero in on the controller board. If it has a single slot ribbon connector for the membrane, you can pilfer the plastic clamp as they are exactly the same type as the a1200 connector!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cleaning the keyboard. Pulling off the keys? Mr B support.Hardware 12 18 June 2012 10:08
I need a CDTV keyboard, any colour keys! CDTV1991 MarketPlace 4 16 April 2011 13:02
A1000 keyboard-keys compatible with Cherry keyboard-keys? Centerguy support.Hardware 5 09 August 2010 01:56
Keys on keyboard need fixing Blackadder support.Hardware 10 28 January 2009 05:42
Keys on keyboard sticking Graham Humphrey support.Hardware 6 31 December 2007 16:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10238 seconds with 14 queries