English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 August 2010, 20:07   #1
CrashMidnick
Registered User
CrashMidnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 197
SX-1 Problem

Hi,

I have a SX-1 (paravision) and I have troubles with it :

When I put a single sided SIMM RAM (4mo or 8mo), I have a red screen saying that the "part 129" is defective. When I put the Jumper 3 ON, evreything is OK but I have no FAST RAM as this jumper disables it... Do you have any idea ? Do I have to use specific SIMM module ?

Thanks for your help !
CrashMidnick is offline  
Old 07 August 2010, 20:41   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,796
I've no experience of the Paravision SX-1 but some Amiga and Atari addons don't like certain SIMMs due to either speed or banking.

Which ones have you tried? Give part numbers or post photographs where I can read the writing on the chips and I can tell you the banking configuration of each.

The SX-1 documentation says it needs to be 1, 2, 4, or 8Mbytes but must be 80ns or less, what were the speed ratings of the modules you tried?

Did you try these steps?

http://hardware.amiga.hu/manual/SX-1.pdf

Quote:
(18) Set jumpers 1 and 2 according to the particular size of SIMM you have installed. Set jumper 3, RAM Disable, ON for now. The RAM Test can be more thorough when AmigaDOS TM isn't already using the memory.
Quote:
(27) When the Workbench screen appears insert the SX-1 Utilities disk, double-click the SX-1 diskette icon, and then the MBRTest-2 drawer. Double-click the MBRTest-2 program icon. Select the area of memory labelled MBX12OOZ', select as many test options as you want, and check on the "START" button.
(28) If the RAM test runs without problem: turn off the power, set the Memory Disable Jumper (#3) 0FF, and close up the SX-l's top cover.
If you don't have this disk then you can get it here :

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/sx1

Last edited by alexh; 07 August 2010 at 20:53.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 August 2010, 21:14   #3
CrashMidnick
Registered User
CrashMidnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 197
My SIMM modules are 70ns ones so it is ok and work perfectly in my blizzard 1230...

I tried the SX1 disk utilities and checked my RAM. The SX1 always shows the simm module as 2 Bank (strange but why not ). The first bank is ok, the second one is defective !

I have checked the SIMM socket and one pin is missing (at the far right)

I will change the SIMM socket tomorrow to see if it solves the problem.

Thanks for you precious help !
CrashMidnick is offline  
Old 08 August 2010, 02:34   #4
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
If one SIMM socket looks different to the other then that could certainly be your problem, perhaps it was damaged by a previous owner or could have even come from the company untested?
Loedown is offline  
Old 08 August 2010, 17:49   #5
CrashMidnick
Registered User
CrashMidnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 197
I have changed the SIMM socket and now, everything is working. The SX1 is back to life

Thanks mates.
CrashMidnick is offline  
Old 08 August 2010, 21:46   #6
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Merci qui ?
Cosmos is offline  
Old 08 August 2010, 23:31   #7
CrashMidnick
Registered User
CrashMidnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 197
Thanks Cosmocat
CrashMidnick is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mike the Magic Dragon: in-game problem or WinUAE problem? petran support.WinUAE 22 25 October 2021 15:57
aspi problem (was: auto resize problem) Kyon support.WinUAE 34 31 May 2009 17:56
Problem with Kickstarts [rare problem with faulty scripts in early v1.1 release] Topgun project.MAGE 14 08 June 2006 23:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07427 seconds with 15 queries