English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2021, 19:32   #21
fxgogo
your average eccentric

fxgogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Richmond / U.K.
Posts: 468
Thanks for the heads up intric8. Another reason to love 1.3
fxgogo is offline  
Old 15 July 2021, 19:38   #22
powersofts
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8
Hi,
I have a500 ocs with kickstrart 1.3 installed and just installed disk mimic.
When i select several .ADF files I do see that the adf is mounted(see the floppy on the right of the screen).
But when i double click the fresh mounted adf floppy, Most of the time i do not see any icons in this adf disk.
So i cannot start the game.
I tried a lot of adf files and almost 90% i do not see the icons in the adf disk.
This is so strange!
What is wrong with my system?
regards
powersofts is offline  
Old 15 July 2021, 19:51   #23
intric8
AmigaLover

intric8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 75
Hi powersofts

It's possible you've selected ADF files that require being in the drive during bootup to run, which Disk Mimic doesn't currently support. He could have made it do that but would have eaten ~900K of RAM to hold the ADF in memory on a soft reboot.

In any case, what ADFs are you trying to load via the drive emulator?
intric8 is offline  
Old 15 July 2021, 19:54   #24
powersofts
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8
I think that is the case indeed. some adf's did gave the icons in the adf but that were a few and those were running. Later i will let you know which adf's are not showing up.
powersofts is offline  
Old 16 July 2021, 06:17   #25
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 1,099
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by intric8 View Post
@Jope

Since DiskMimic drives behave just like real drives, you can use Diskcopy to write and read ADFs to and from floppy disks - yes!

You can also create a blank ADF by making a copy of an ADF image, inserting that image into a DiskMimic drive, and then formatting it.

The ADFs used by Disk Mimic really do behave like a physical floppy disks. It's awesome.



mind officially b-l-o-w-n
klx300r is offline  
Old 17 October 2021, 13:05   #26
BastyCDGS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Freiburg / Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 172
Send a message via ICQ to BastyCDGS
Hi intric8!

Quote:
Originally Posted by intric8 View Post
All: Disk Mimic has been published on Aminet this morning as well.
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/DiskMimic
Thank you very much for this tool!

Works like a charm on my OS1.3 installation.

I just miss one thing: Support for .gzip compressed images (maybe there is a compatible zlib.library for OS1.3) similar to diskimage for OS2.04+.
BastyCDGS is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disk Mimic, an ADF mounter for WB1.3, has been released Radertified News 0 29 June 2021 21:22
"Voices8" 8 Channel Soundtracker "DemoSongI" song - "This is the Amiga with 8 Voices" DemosongIHunter request.Music 44 27 October 2019 20:04
Nuxelia (playable-demo) (AGA)[unreleased] - "HD install" --> "ADF" DamienD request.Old Rare Games 9 21 March 2017 07:52
A New Adventure: FaYoh 2 - "HD install" --> "ADF" DamienD request.Old Rare Games 7 09 June 2016 21:23
FaYoh - "HD install" --> "ADF" DamienD request.Old Rare Games 3 09 June 2016 21:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07252 seconds with 14 queries