English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 May 2021, 00:30   #1
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,378
Formula 1 Grand Prix - Working Reliably

Heya guys,

As posted in my collection thread, Formula 1 Grand Prix is flaky as hell

Maybe one time out of five the game doesn't get stuck here, and actually makes it to the menu screen:
Tried all available .ADFs / IPFs and numerous OCS / ECS Agnus configurations / Quickstarts but continues to occur.

I'm not really sure how to fix this one... any help would be much appreciated
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 02:28   #2
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,378
Ok, so tried every conceivable OCS / ECS Agnus configuration / Quickstart with the .IPF but still no joy...

I must have tested 10 times and not once did the game make it to the menu screen

I then tried in "WinUAE v4.9.0 Beta 19" and this actually worked first go:
...but there's an issue. Movement is massively delayed, moving down through each option takes 5+ seconds of holding down.

Tested another 3 times, made it to the menu screen again but same issue with movement.

I then tried with "WinUAE v4.3.0". Here the game makes it to the menu screen everytime and also no issue with movement

So the problem seems to be "WinUAE v4.4.0" related.
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 02:46   #3
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,281
Regarding 1988 the one possible "correct" configuration for that game could be the A500 OCS 1.2 512 chip ram (I haven't tested it, just guessing)! (also need to check is it PAL or NTSC)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 11:54   #4
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Regarding 1988 the one possible "correct" configuration for that game could be the A500 OCS 1.2 512 chip ram (I haven't tested it, just guessing)! (also need to check is it PAL or NTSC)
Of course, given that game's age.

As mentioned though, I've tried every conceivable OCS / ECS Agnus configuration / Quickstart with the .IPF but still no joy...

It's a WinUAE v4.4.0 problem.
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 13:37   #5
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
It's a WinUAE v4.4.0 problem.
In which 4.4.0 beta this problem first appears?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I then tried in "WinUAE v4.9.0 Beta 19" and this actually worked first go:
...but there's an issue. Movement is massively delayed, moving down through each option takes 5+ seconds of holding down.
I tried to play with the Chipset/Options "Keyboard connected" and got it to work after a few times poking!

Last edited by amilo3438; 10 May 2021 at 13:57.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 14:34   #6
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
In which 4.4.0 beta this problem first appears?
Not sure, haven't bothered to find out as yet... as a busy day at work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
I tried to play with the Chipset/Options "Keyboard connected" and got it to work after a few times poking!
Works fine in v4.3.0.
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 16:09   #7
Rotareneg
Registered User
Rotareneg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 256
On 4.4.0 it'll run "fine" on an A1000. I say "fine" in quotes because it's one of the worse games I've seen.
Rotareneg is online now  
Old 10 May 2021, 18:20   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,075
It seems to work fine in current 4.9 development version (not available yet, too many things are broken).

btw, I thought this was Microprose F1GP and was wondering what is going on because it is quite system friendly and very good F1 game. Fortunately it was some crap game which explained everything
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 May 2021, 19:15   #9
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,378
Yeah, it's most definitely not the best game... but closest we get to say Pole Position I guess
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 May 2021, 17:40   #10
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It seems to work fine in current 4.9 development version (not available yet, too many things are broken).
Tested in latest WinUAE4900 Beta20 (A500 1.2 512Mb) and the lag keyboard in the menu problem is still there!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 18 May 2021, 04:22   #11
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,289
in GameBase Amiga 1.6 with WinUAE 4.2.1, it works perfectly without any problems. kick 1.3 and 512k chip ram configuration.
Seiya is offline  
Old 18 May 2021, 14:46   #12
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
in GameBase Amiga 1.6 with WinUAE 4.2.1, it works perfectly without any problems. kick 1.3 and 512k chip ram configuration.
Not very helpful..

I've already mentioned that the game works fine in any pre WinUAE v4.4.0.

...and it works in v4.4.0 using this config:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotareneg View Post
On 4.4.0 it'll run "fine" on an A1000. I say "fine" in quotes because it's one of the worse games I've seen.
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 September 2021, 22:29   #13
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,281
[A500 1.2 OCS 512] From WinUAE 4900 b32 it stops at track 43! (never goes to menu)(fine in b31)
amilo3438 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Formula 1 Grand Prix + F1GP-ED xubidoo support.Games 3 14 April 2019 00:06
Microprose Formula One Grand Prix Gordon project.WHDLoad 2 15 March 2019 12:29
Formula One Grand Prix (MicroProse) Bamiga2002 HOL data problems 3 07 February 2012 11:21
Formula One Grand Prix (MicroProse) mai HOL data problems 1 30 November 2009 09:06
Formula One Grand Prix...keyboard control? NovaCoder support.Games 3 22 February 2009 11:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08447 seconds with 15 queries