English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 February 2021, 18:14   #21
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeberbach View Post
You need one of these:

http://digicoolthings.com/eprom-adap...back-in-stock/

to burn Amiga ROMs with the TL866II. I'm sure there are cheaper ones but this is a quality item, happy I bought it.
For me to get that from Australia would be too expensive.

I see them same things assembled for around £20 but they have to come from Poland and since UK left EU () postage has become shocking.



Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Yes if you use the 27C800 (1mb) eprom then just write the file to both banks First bank 0 then bank 1, otherwise obviously if using the 27C400 (512kb) then just write to bank 1
Dont forget when using the eprom adapter to write the bins you select the AM27c4096 from the IC/device list when programming the eproms

The TL866 is a great little programer

I knew I read something like this but I couldn't re-call which rom it was and what have you.

I'm still in two minds about getting one, for all the use I will get out of it.

Got to think about it.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 07 February 2021, 14:53   #22
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,369
Well thankfully ebay exists and I won a programmer (TL866II Plus) for £10 less than it costs on Amazon. That will take the sting out of the adapter cost I hope I don't regret this!

Just curious, I also had my eye on a programmer that had a parallel port connection, could I have got that to run on y Amiga?

I haven't seen a parallel post on a PC in a long time.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 10 February 2021, 13:34   #23
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,369
What is the name of this adapter I need? Is it a AM27C400 TL866II adapter?
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 10 February 2021, 13:42   #24
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Krypton
Posts: 1,121
One of these or similar
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/133120100...YaAtzqEALw_wcB

or here
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Adapter-f....c100010.m2109
supaduper is offline  
Old 10 February 2021, 13:51   #25
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Thanks for that
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 27 February 2021, 15:19   #26
Gunship
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 5
hi everyone
when using 27c800 is it possible to to use in a rom switcher eg 1.3 & 3.1.4 and how.
i presume write one to bank 0 and one to bank 1
and what is the purpose of byteswapping

Last edited by Gunship; 27 February 2021 at 15:26.
Gunship is offline  
Old 27 February 2021, 16:44   #27
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunship View Post
hi everyone
when using 27c800 is it possible to to use in a rom switcher eg 1.3 & 3.1.4 and how.
i presume write one to bank 0 and one to bank 1
and what is the purpose of byteswapping
Yes this is possible, in fact, I think there is a similar product on eBay with official licenced ROMs if you want a ready made solution with the ROM itself:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-Licen...-/123235816403
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 28 February 2021, 01:57   #28
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,702
I've just ordered a TL866II Plus programmer, and also getting Keir Fraser's EPROM adapter v4:

https://github.com/keirf/PCB-Project...ROM-Adapter-v4
solarmon is offline  
Old 28 February 2021, 12:51   #29
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
I've just ordered a TL866II Plus programmer, and also getting Keir Fraser's EPROM adapter v4:

https://github.com/keirf/PCB-Project...ROM-Adapter-v4

Is it possible to buy this adapter anywhere or do you get it straight from Keir?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 28 February 2021, 12:56   #30
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiz12 View Post
Is it possible to buy this adapter anywhere or do you get it straight from Keir?
I couldn't find the v4 adapter sold on eBay. Yes, I have purchased the adapter in kit form direct from Keir.
solarmon is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 11:33   #31
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,369
It took a long time, but I finally burned roms and I think they are working believe it or not.

Of course I had to build a little adapter to allow 25c400 to be burned but I surprisingly managed that even with tiny components I could barely even see!!

So I burned the Hi rom first. Next I tried to burn the lo rom. But it kept failing. I tried another 27c400 and it seemed to burn fine.

Two questions, why might one chip fail to burn?

2nd question. Do these rom chips erase in sunlight or did I just make that up? Do I need to sticker them up covering that little window?

Any advice would be great so thanks in advance.

It was nice to finally find out that my programmer isn't fake, unless it is a fake but happens to work!!
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 12:55   #32
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Krypton
Posts: 1,121
Yes chips can and will be faulty like any eproms I have had many no good.

Best to sticker over the window as it will just protect it from early erasure, sunlight would take weeks/months to erase one, its the ultraviolet spectrum that is used to erase them.
A cheap chineesium ultraviolet erasure is about 20 quid, you will need one if you did lots of eprom programming

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/383939652...Cclp%3A2334524
supaduper is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 13:43   #33
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Yes chips can and will be faulty like any eproms I have had many no good.

Best to sticker over the window as it will just protect it from early erasure, sunlight would take weeks/months to erase one, its the ultraviolet spectrum that is used to erase them.
A cheap chineesium ultraviolet erasure is about 20 quid, you will need one if you did lots of eprom programming

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/383939652...Cclp%3A2334524
Ok so perhaps I got a dud.

Anyway of using software to check if it's a the chip is a dud? Or is the fact I'm using a programmer not really designed for 27C400 compromise this or retrieving worthwhile data?

I'll sticker the two roms up that seem to have been successful. Now I only checked the version in early startup boot with no startup sequence, where I got kickstart 47.96, would this be ok to assume the roms have been programmed ok? I didn't go further as it was on an Amiga with 3.0 installed so all kinds of errors where happening when I tried to let WB load.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 13:56   #34
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Krypton
Posts: 1,121
The adapter you used to program is designed for the 27c400 and 27c800 so no problem there, if you are coming up with errors on boot then it must be the system you have installed, what have you flashed on the eproms..3.1 ? and what system are you running on the A1200 ?
supaduper is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 14:18   #35
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
The adapter you used to program is designed for the 27c400 and 27c800 so no problem there, if you are coming up with errors on boot then it must be the system you have installed, what have you flashed on the eproms..3.1 ? and what system are you running on the A1200 ?
Ok so I was lazy! I was just checking with the Amiga as is right now you see. I have another Amiga1200 (the one I tested on) and it has a mechanical HD with WB3.0 on it. The roms I programmed where the OS3.2 roms so I know I'd need some changes made for that WB3.0 drive to work. But since I'm not keeping the drive as it's tiny I was just testing as is before I stick a CF hard drive in there with either 3.2 or 3.1. I have both setup on cards. Not quite ready to give up on 3.1 yet I was just wondering have I been successful or not, but I assume as I ran that command and got 47.96 back that I've done the job ok.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 14:24   #36
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Krypton
Posts: 1,121
Yeah really I would just go with 3.2 system as you will be chasing your tail trying to get it to run with 3.0 or 3.1
supaduper is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 15:01   #37
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,369
Happy days!



I have actually managed to get it work ok with 3.1, just need to add the workbench.library and icon.library from 3.2 and cancel a loadmodule scsi line from startup sequence!

I am now able to program roms
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 15:14   #38
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Krypton
Posts: 1,121
Well done, its all great fun aint it
supaduper is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 15:42   #39
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Well done, its all great fun aint it
the best fun I ever had
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 19:30   #40
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
A cheap chineesium ultraviolet erasure is about 20 quid, you will need one if you did lots of eprom programming
I love the fact these Chinese UV erasers use a *clockwork* timer
nogginthenog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPROMs too slow? A500Man Amiga scene 17 24 April 2022 18:37
Kickstart burning/flashing which eproms to use? arjanv support.Hardware 3 03 September 2015 09:46
27C1000 EPROMs alexh MarketPlace 13 31 March 2014 12:54
cdtv 27C1000 eproms Arnie Hardware mods 9 30 June 2013 22:14
EPROMs alexh support.Hardware 17 05 August 2010 09:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11568 seconds with 14 queries