English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 November 2022, 21:17   #941
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
Damn, I really need to write a new level editor. As good as 303 is, I get on average one crash or lockup per 3 zones when working on anything new.

This took a lot more effort and patience than was strictly necessary lol [ Show youtube player ]
The preview snapshot of this video coincidentally highlights an interesting recurrent bug in which occasionally walls just don't render properly, giving a solid colour region. This bug exists in the original team17 release so isn't anything new.
Karlos is offline  
Old 28 November 2022, 21:26   #942
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 603
yeah it happens a lot on the more complex levels at 'zone lines' PVS issue I guess?
abu_the_monkey is online now  
Old 28 November 2022, 21:34   #943
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
yeah it happens a lot on the more complex levels at 'zone lines' PVS issue I guess?
I think so, but I've also noticed a possible correlation with the presence of vector models. So maybe what we are seeing isn't a wall but some borked object polygon ...
Karlos is offline  
Old 28 November 2022, 21:41   #944
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 603
maybe, I know the last time I played the final level with that giant mantis, it (the mantis) was stuck with just its head and shoulders poking out of the ground. he seemed quite pissed about it (or having a seizure) didn't make it any easier to kill as I had jumped straight to that level with nothing but 20 shotgun shells that level was glitching all over the place
abu_the_monkey is online now  
Old 28 November 2022, 22:27   #945
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
lol

sorry AMOS pro...
Well, if AMOS is masochism, then what's AMOS Pro? Professional masochism.

Sorry to any AMOS fans. I know it was much loved, but I could never get on with it.
Karlos is offline  
Old 29 November 2022, 01:00   #946
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 603
just had a quick play with level P. in the editor I deleted all the enemies and pickups (left the control points in). there are still graphical glitches when walking around but mainly where you can see upper and lower zones at the same time, there are other glitches including multi coloured vertical lines that appear momentarily.
abu_the_monkey is online now  
Old 29 November 2022, 01:01   #947
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 524
There’s a bug that exposes a „halls of mirrors” effect in level A already. If you stand on the small ledge, across the hallway where the very first robot steps out and turn left/right it shows up.
pipper is offline  
Old 29 November 2022, 01:25   #948
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipper View Post
There’s a bug that exposes a „halls of mirrors” effect in level A already. If you stand on the small ledge, across the hallway where the very first robot steps out and turn left/right it shows up.
yes, I have just checked this out, but, in level P the glitches are not the 'hall of mirrors' seen in level A but a more 'random' texture is applied to what should be a passage way under an upper zone and occasionally large sections (but not all) disappear revealing the 'sky/backdrop' image. probably still part of the same bug though.

edit: added screen shots from level P
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	027.png
Views:	63
Size:	76.9 KB
ID:	77259   Click image for larger version

Name:	028.png
Views:	62
Size:	80.4 KB
ID:	77260  

Last edited by abu_the_monkey; 29 November 2022 at 01:41.
abu_the_monkey is online now  
Old 29 November 2022, 02:06   #949
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 603
a short clip of the multi coloured lines
[ Show youtube player ]

like in level A, just on the transition between 'zones'
abu_the_monkey is online now  
Old 29 November 2022, 02:14   #950
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 603
I will stress that these issues are present in the original ocean/team17 release and not introduced by any changes made to the code by pipper, Karlos or myself.
abu_the_monkey is online now  
Old 29 November 2022, 11:30   #951
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,432
I would watch out for some bug in the depth sorting algo (if present) or somewhere between point rotation/projection and texturing. I assume that point rotation/projection happens in one go and creates some intermediate data that links to fixed object data (texture information etc.) to be used for texturing and then proceeds to texture all visible walls in a second pass. There might be some bad data / links created between the intermediate data generated by the projection algo and the texturing info.
grond is offline  
Old 29 November 2022, 12:51   #952
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 800
I haven't gotten into the PVS / projection code yet. It does appear to rotate the entire set of map points which suggests it may be doing PVS in camera / screen space after rotation. This seems a bit wasteful but none of this is confirmed yet.
Karlos is offline  
Old 29 November 2022, 19:01   #953
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,524
Hello guys and thanks for your effort to this.

How difficult would be make save game system more useable? So that current game situation could be saved any point of game? Or at least add text that warns that savin middle of level, will start it from begining?
utri007 is offline  
Old 29 November 2022, 21:04   #954
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 603
@utri007
maybe pressing esc mid-game should just ask

Quit Game? Y/N

would be better/enough?

or change the wording from 'save/load position' to 'save/load level' ?

Last edited by abu_the_monkey; 30 November 2022 at 00:23.
abu_the_monkey is online now  
Old 30 November 2022, 23:26   #955
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
@utri007
maybe pressing esc mid-game should just ask

Quit Game? Y/N

would be better/enough?

or change the wording from 'save/load position' to 'save/load level' ?
"Saving restart level Y/N" would be best?
utri007 is offline  
Old 01 December 2022, 00:09   #956
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 524
I think best would be if ESC wouldn’t kill the current game in first place
pipper is offline  
Old 01 December 2022, 00:19   #957
AndyC
Registered User

AndyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Dunfermline
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by sokolovic View Post
I've played the last build now it works perfectly and no problem to save. Amazing job, really. The game really flies now on a 68030/50mhz compared to the original version
I Wonder if it is possible to somehow enhance others 3D Amiga games like Jurassic Park (the source code is included in the latest WHDLOAD install ).
Hi, latecomer to this thread - can someone tell me how to get this build and get it running on a real A1200? I'm running TF1260 full rev 6 so would love to see how quick this runs!

Thanks in advance!

A.
AndyC is offline  
Old 01 December 2022, 00:26   #958
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyC View Post
Hi, latecomer to this thread - can someone tell me how to get this build and get it running on a real A1200? I'm running TF1260 full rev 6 so would love to see how quick this runs!

Thanks in advance!

A.
In the Zone AB3DTKG-Blitz1260.lha is a working installation. You can add any new .exes to it.
Angus is offline  
Old 01 December 2022, 01:21   #959
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipper View Post
I think best would be if ESC wouldn’t kill the current game in first place
just bring up a menu with a few options when you press ESC?
but with a quit game option right?

this is a screenshot of the most basic option menu I have tried out.
just text, nothing fancy and only 2 options. yes or no.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	031.png
Views:	32
Size:	89.7 KB
ID:	77271  
abu_the_monkey is online now  
Old 01 December 2022, 01:53   #960
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 524
No I meant, when you press ESC, you leave the game to the main menu, but when you return via the “Play game” option, you’ll be as you were and your progress will not be lost.
pipper is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (2 members and 1 guests)
abu_the_monkey, Etze
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alien Breed 3D II The Killing Grounds RTG patch Angus Retrogaming General Discussion 63 14 December 2022 16:20
Alien Breed & Alien Breed '92: SE - delay when picking up items / opening doors Ian support.WinUAE 16 23 December 2016 16:50
Alien Breed 3D II : The Killing Grounds code booklet alexh support.Games 19 10 October 2012 23:17
Alien Breed 3D 2 - The Killing Grounds Ironclaw support.Games 12 13 September 2005 14:07
HD Version of Alien Breed I ? Kintaro request.Old Rare Games 20 31 July 2003 11:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15665 seconds with 16 queries