English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

Old 30 June 2023, 03:16   #1
kipper2k

Another new A500+ motherboard

Hi All,

I haven't been online a lot lately, lot of things going on, however...

Here is my latest creation based on Sukkoperas A500 remake. I have made a lot of changes. I have been using Eagle for the last 10 years and i decided to start using Kicad... *beginning of May this year, then i find out Eagle Cad is being cancelled so it was a case of necessity to learn Kicad, and as luck would have it i found it extremely easy to use. It has only taken a few weeks to get to this point...

I am not sure if i will make more substantial changes/additions. 8MB fastmem and IDE are a good possibility.

I will show the pictures first...

There is the board, it has a few additions to it and you can notice for the most part it is mostly SMD....

(Marios, thanks for your help. i got busy and sidetracked, sorry

here is next picture...

Talking about the features, ...

2MB Chipmem (Thanks Liv2)
on board Gotek
USB Smally Mouse (Thanks to Simon Inns)
Allows 27cxxx eproms up to 4 ROM images, auto switch (Thanks to Mike Stirling)

I am working on some others. The board is still 2 layer. I can now remove the old RAM footprints and probably add 8MB fastmem and IDE, we'll see

I would like to put on Action Replay 3 but i dont have code/schematics, if someone willing to allow me to add it let me know

Last edited by kipper2k; 30 June 2023 at 03:28.
Old 30 June 2023, 08:37   #2
bugsymalone666
Amiga baby yeah!

This is awesome, I love how more than 30 years after they stopped making them! I think the only other upgrades I can think of that might commonly be used is:
usb keyboard, I have an adapter thing I bought off ebay, I towerised my a500 so it makes it easier for plugging in external keyboards as my original failed.