English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 09 April 2008, 19:28   #1
CongealedWallrs

Is it worth investing in a real Amiga?

Hiya all,

I am very new to the Amiga emulation scene and have never owned an Amiga of any sort. I am very interested in whether it is a good idea to buy a real Amiga in order to play amazing Amiga games or if this will be very expensive and foolish.

I will mainly play games. But is WinUAE good enough for this or is it a good idea to buy a proper Amiga?

Also, if an Amiga is a good idea, how much would one expect to pay? I have seen a few on ebay and was tempted but I think the price was too high.

thank you kindly
Old 09 April 2008, 19:33   #2
blade002
Zone Friend

YES !!!!! buy a real Amiga

Get hold of an Amiga 1200 with at least a 68030 accelerator board and at least 8 Meg of Fast Ram minimum ( I would recommend 16 Meg Fast though ) and a Hard Drive.

Get a hold of ClassicWB by Bloodwych ( you can find the dude on this forum )

Then get a hold of WHDLoad and install virtually every Amiga game out there onto your HD.

As far as costs go, can't quite tell you about that one, but AmigaKit are selling A1200's that are either new old stock ( as in brand new A1200's from the Escom Days, Circa 1995/96 ) or refurbished models.
Old 09 April 2008, 19:33   #3
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

how long is a piece of string?

sorry, not a very helpful answer, but opinion is very much divided on this, and you will get a lot of people giving you a lot of very different "right" answers.

for many people winuae is fine for gaming, or even prefereable, for others it is far from either.
Old 09 April 2008, 19:47   #4
DDNI
Targ Explorer

Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
*cough* Absolutely, nothing can beat the feeling of tinkering with a real Amiga!

Buy an A1200 from me.....

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=35848

Old 09 April 2008, 19:51   #5
laser
Banned

Quote: