English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 March 2023, 23:42   #1
RetroHut
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Replace Amiga 1200 Caps Led

Hi All, Greetings from Aus


I'm repairing a Amiga 1200 no caps light issue have have discovered that the keyboard LED is totally missing along with the little black piece that holds it in (see Photo)


Whilst I have a replacement LED I don't have the replacement black holder piece. So my question is can I add some hot glue or similar instead? Anyone solved this differently?


Thanks in advance

Photo https://ibb.co/QdXzg7z

Last edited by RetroHut; 20 March 2023 at 23:52.
RetroHut is offline  
Old 21 March 2023, 01:14   #2
Snoopy1234
Registered User

Snoopy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 430
the rubber is conductive, separated by a plastic insulator in the middle. It conducts current from the membrane to the led pins. You'll definitely need one or something similar. Also the led's are polarized and don't work the other way round.
Snoopy1234 is offline  
Old 21 March 2023, 01:56   #3
RetroHut
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoopy1234 View Post
the rubber is conductive, separated by a plastic insulator in the middle. It conducts current from the membrane to the led pins. You'll definitely need one or something similar. Also the led's are polarized and don't work the other way round.

Thanks Snoopy, I might have to get creative with the 3D printer and some remote control spare rubbers
RetroHut is offline  
Old 21 March 2023, 16:19   #4
Boing-Ball
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroHut View Post
Thanks Snoopy, I might have to get creative with the 3D printer and some remote control spare rubbers
It’s a graphene conductive layer. You can use a rubber but it won’t be conductive.

Try using a conductive paint instead. Search EBay for it.
Boing-Ball is offline  
Old 22 March 2023, 02:17   #5
RetroHut
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Thank you, does anyone have a photo and possible dimensions?
RetroHut is offline  
Old 22 March 2023, 04:10   #6
Snoopy1234
Registered User

Snoopy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 430
I think the A500 mitsumi keyboard would have the same component.... Can not confirm that though. Here's one. https://allegro.pl/oferta/amiga-500-...ck-12287711275
Snoopy1234 is offline  
Old 22 March 2023, 06:02   #7
mja65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Spotswood, Australia
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boing-Ball View Post
It’s a graphene conductive layer. You can use a rubber but it won’t be conductive.

Try using a conductive paint instead. Search EBay for it.
Hi All

Also (coincidentally) greetings from Australia - looks like a few of us on this thread!

I have an Amiga 600 with the same missing part (confession time in that I stupidly lost mine down the kitchen sink!) so reading this thread with interest.

Excuse my ignorance, but how would I use the conductive paint? Is this as simple as cutting some non conductive rubber and painting all over it such that the painted rubber is touching both the membrane and the LED legs?
mja65 is offline  
Old 22 March 2023, 06:17   #8
Snoopy1234
Registered User

Snoopy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by mja65 View Post
Hi All

Also (coincidentally) greetings from Australia - looks like a few of us on this thread!

I have an Amiga 600 with the same missing part (confession time in that I stupidly lost mine down the kitchen sink!) so reading this thread with interest.

Excuse my ignorance, but how would I use the conductive paint? Is this as simple as cutting some non conductive rubber and painting all over it such that the painted rubber is touching both the membrane and the LED legs?
I'd think so but in two halves. each pin of the LED conducting to the corresponding contact point of the membrane. These must be seperated.
Snoopy1234 is offline  
Old 25 March 2023, 23:23   #9
RetroHut
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by mja65 View Post
Hi All

Also (coincidentally) greetings from Australia - looks like a few of us on this thread!

I have an Amiga 600 with the same missing part (confession time in that I stupidly lost mine down the kitchen sink!) so reading this thread with interest.

Excuse my ignorance, but how would I use the conductive paint? Is this as simple as cutting some non conductive rubber and painting all over it such that the painted rubber is touching both the membrane and the LED legs?
I actually just in the process of doing this with some silver trace repair paint (great minds). I'll be doing some testing today and post some pics ?
RetroHut is offline  
Old 29 March 2023, 06:06   #10
mja65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Spotswood, Australia
Posts: 25
By all means please let me know how you got on! Btw (since you are also in Australia), where did you get the repair paint from? I had a quick look in Jaycar and the conductive paint I saw was $45! Ouch!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroHut View Post
I actually just in the process of doing this with some silver trace repair paint (great minds). I'll be doing some testing today and post some pics ?
mja65 is offline  
Old 29 March 2023, 16:17   #11
Boing-Ball
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 362
Have a look on EBay for conductive paint. It’s used for circuit board repair on traces. Bought some in the U.K for roughly £6.
Boing-Ball is offline  
Old 30 March 2023, 05:46   #12
RetroHut
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by mja65 View Post
By all means please let me know how you got on! Btw (since you are also in Australia), where did you get the repair paint from? I had a quick look in Jaycar and the conductive paint I saw was $45! Ouch!
No worry's I'm using this one. https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/14457094...mis&media=COPY
RetroHut is offline  
Old 04 April 2023, 08:32   #13
mja65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Spotswood, Australia
Posts: 25
Thanks - I ended up going to Altronics where it was a little cheaper. In any case, I didn't need it. Some good old blue tack and some careful positioning seem to have done the trick!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroHut View Post
mja65 is offline  
Old 04 April 2023, 09:32   #14
Shaytan
Registered User

Shaytan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by mja65 View Post
Thanks - I ended up going to Altronics where it was a little cheaper. In any case, I didn't need it. Some good old blue tack and some careful positioning seem to have done the trick!!
Is blue tack conductive?
Shaytan is offline  
Old 04 April 2023, 10:06   #15
mja65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Spotswood, Australia
Posts: 25
Nope - but it raised the legs sufficiently they make contact with the keyboard membrane.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaytan View Post
Is blue tack conductive?
mja65 is offline  
Old 10 April 2023, 13:41   #16
mja65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Spotswood, Australia
Posts: 25
Turns out I was a little premature and my solution was a little erratic. I bought a new LED and found the legs were a lot longer than the LED already installed which made it a lot easier to raise the legs to make contact with the membrane.

I had also bought some conductive paint. This didn't work at all. I think this was a combination both of the contact to the membrane as well as it was difficult to provide contacts both to the legs of the LED and whatever I attached to the legs. Not sure how others have got on?
mja65 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 Floppy LED Dwarfboysim support.Hardware 3 05 October 2022 17:03
Amiga 1200 Black Screen, Power LED Green, no Caps Lock LED tiim support.Hardware 4 28 November 2020 22:32
Specification for A1200 Caps Lock LED? rikbliz support.Hardware 7 20 January 2013 00:59
A600 caps lock LED majsta support.Hardware 2 14 February 2012 00:04
How to replace a harddisk from an amiga 1200 MadDonna support.Hardware 10 15 September 2005 19:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15465 seconds with 15 queries