English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 November 2021, 01:18   #21
a/b
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: europe
Posts: 534
Use elimination: disable half the code and repeat, or disable everything and then start enabling things one by one, or similar.
a/b is offline  
Old 25 November 2021, 01:30   #22
Muzza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by a/b View Post
Use elimination: disable half the code and repeat, or disable everything and then start enabling things one by one, or similar.
Similar tactics are what I've used for many other bugs, but this one only happens on hardware I don't have access to.
I'm reliant on the kindness of others to continually run tests for me, which take a day or two to come back. Imposing on others to run dozens, maybe even hundreds of tests may not be possible.

Normally I'd output a detailed log file to find the spot that stops working, but on Amiga with a system takeover game running from hard drive, this requires constantly re-enabling/disabling the OS to write the file, which can cause new problems.

I thought about outputting a log file to the screen, and have it pause after every step so a tester could see how far it gets, but changing the display and pausing to display it is likely to modify the behaviour also. Still it might be better than nothing.
Muzza is offline  
Old 25 November 2021, 01:48   #23
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 53
Posts: 1,423
I often enough for bug hunting using WHDload. I had/created 2 slaves with Wepl help. One for kick 1.3 and one for kick 3.1. I copy buggy program to directory with WB 1.3 or WB 3.1. Run 1.3 or 3.1 slave (works as HD, not disk, then no problem for big files) and later run buggy program. WHDload give good bug report after program crash. You can try same. Send prepared 3.1 HD slave to tester. And after crash you will be have crash report.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 25 November 2021, 05:44   #24
Muzza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
I often enough for bug hunting using WHDload. I had/created 2 slaves with Wepl help. One for kick 1.3 and one for kick 3.1. I copy buggy program to directory with WB 1.3 or WB 3.1. Run 1.3 or 3.1 slave (works as HD, not disk, then no problem for big files) and later run buggy program. WHDload give good bug report after program crash. You can try same. Send prepared 3.1 HD slave to tester. And after crash you will be have crash report.

That sounds like a very good idea, thanks. I've been trying it but there is a lot to learn with these WHDLoad slaves. I'll make a new thread with some questions as it doesn't really fit here.
Muzza is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Killing caches: fool-proof method? Keir Coders. Asm / Hardware 40 05 July 2020 16:11
A1200 Early Startup Control vs CPU to disable caches! BarryB support.Games 25 20 May 2020 23:28
Selling A3660 CPU card, including Rev 5 CPU - NEW - professionally built tbtorro MarketPlace 1 17 June 2018 20:14
How to disable caches using MOVEC => CACR jotd Coders. Asm / Hardware 12 07 November 2017 21:45
How not to flush caches. Toni Wilen Coders. General 18 28 October 2011 11:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07229 seconds with 14 queries