English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

Old 12 September 2009, 19:24   #1
lilalurl
Global Moderator

Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
[Hired Guns: suggestion] Adding/Improving keyboard controls, notably for 1-player

Here are 3 suggestions to improve the keyboard gameplay of Hired Guns.
My main suggestion is suggestion #3 and the main idea is to enable keyboard input for 1 (and 2?) player games.

For the record: keyboard 1 and 2 (choice I and J) are mutually exclusive
The same goes for keyboard 3 and 4 (K and L).

I have made a sort of reference chart of the current keyboard layouts to ease the discussion. It is a quick and dirty job, as the only diagram of a Qwerty Amiga keyboard I could find was the diagram of an A1000 (+ I am far from a graphic artist ).

I will suppose that allowing fully user-customizable controls would be more difficult than just adding some controls, so the first two suggestions will refer to adding something rather than modify and add.

1) Improving multi-player keyboard controls by adding a 'drop item' key for each keyboard layout

There is already a 'pick up item' key, so why not add one to drop items (as can be done with a modified Mega Drive joypad).

As I am quite used to use my pinkies in video games, a 4-key in a row solution would not disturb me.

That would give the following keys the drop item function
K1: [/{ (right of P)
K2: U
K3: 7
K4: Well, there is nothing to the direct right of Return so either the white key (if it can be used) or Right Alt

Then, I know quite a lot of people have trouble or don't like using their pinkie. Besides it could seem a bit more logical to have the drop item key under the pick up item key.

In such a case:
K1: K
K2: F
K3: + (under - on a 1200 keyboard)
K4: Right Alt would be the best solution

2) Improving multi-player keyboard controls by adding strafing keys

Because:

a) you can already strafe when playing with the mouse