English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2021, 23:21   #1
DanielAllsopp
Registered User
 
DanielAllsopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Northumberland, UK
Posts: 272
Infuriating vasm error

Evening each!

I've got a strange error using vasm, which is happening more and and more often at the minute.

The following simple instruction:

Code:
add.b #1,d0
Outputs the following error:

Code:
error 9 in line 122 of "main.s": instruction not supported on selected architecture
>  add.b #1,d0
Build flags are: -m68020 -Fhunk
Version is:
Code:
vasm 1.8h (c) in 2002-2020 Volker Barthelmann
vasm M68k/CPU32/ColdFire cpu backend 2.3k (c) 2002-2020 Frank Wille
vasm motorola syntax module 3.14 (c) 2002-2020 Frank Wille
vasm hunk format output module 2.12 (c) 2002-2020 Frank Wille
Any got any ideas as to why this would be? I'm about to go
DanielAllsopp is offline  
Old 08 November 2021, 23:34   #2
Cyprian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 187
for me works ok
Code:
vasm 1.8k (c) in 2002-2021 Volker Barthelmann
vasm M68k/CPU32/ColdFire cpu backend 2.3o (c) 2002-2021 Frank Wille
vasm motorola syntax module 3.14c (c) 2002-2020 Frank Wille
vasm tos output module 1.1 (c) 2009-2016,2020 Frank Wille

text(acrx2):               4 bytes
Code:
vasm 1.8k (c) in 2002-2021 Volker Barthelmann
vasm M68k/CPU32/ColdFire cpu backend 2.3o (c) 2002-2021 Frank Wille
vasm motorola syntax module 3.14c (c) 2002-2020 Frank Wille
vasm hunk format output module 2.13 (c) 2002-2020 Frank Wille

CODE(acrx2):               4 bytes
I would suggest to you update VASM to the latest version
Cyprian is offline  
Old 08 November 2021, 23:40   #3
gigabates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 57
It could be due to a non-ascii character, especially if you've copy/pasted the code from somewhere. I get the same error if I put a non-breaking space in place of a regular space between the instruction and the operands. Try deleting and re-typing all whitespace.
gigabates is offline  
Old 08 November 2021, 23:43   #4
DanielAllsopp
Registered User
 
DanielAllsopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Northumberland, UK
Posts: 272
Code:
vasm 1.8m (c) in 2002-2021 Volker Barthelmann
vasm M68k/CPU32/ColdFire cpu backend 2.4d (c) 2002-2021 Frank Wille
vasm motorola syntax module 3.15b (c) 2002-2021 Frank Wille
vasm hunk format output module 2.13a (c) 2002-2021 Frank Wille
This is the latest nightly source code and it's producing the same error!
DanielAllsopp is offline  
Old 08 November 2021, 23:47   #5
DanielAllsopp
Registered User
 
DanielAllsopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Northumberland, UK
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigabates View Post
It could be due to a non-ascii character, especially if you've copy/pasted the code from somewhere. I get the same error if I put a non-breaking space in place of a regular space between the instruction and the operands. Try deleting and re-typing all whitespace.
Thank you so much! That seems to have been the issue! Jesus wept, I nearly through my iMac through the window earlier.

Life saver
DanielAllsopp is offline  
Old 09 November 2021, 00:09   #6
gigabates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 57
No problem. I've encountered this kind of issue before and it's absolutely maddening! What appears to be the exact same code typed by someone else compiles/assembles just fine!

On a related note, there was a security exploit reported recently that uses hidden characters to insert malicious code that's effectively invisible to human code reviewers.
gigabates is offline  
Old 09 November 2021, 09:27   #7
Tigerskunk
Inviyya Dude!
 
Tigerskunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 2,775
Damn, that's a horrible bug to have.
Tigerskunk is offline  
Old 09 November 2021, 11:04   #8
roondar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,421
Yeah, I've seen similar things happen with several languages/compilers/assemblers. Really annoying.

For those who use Notepad++ to code, you can find such characters using Search ==> Find characters in range ==> Non-ASCII. Quite useful
Other editors might also have similar options.
roondar is online now  
Old 09 November 2021, 12:00   #9
DanielAllsopp
Registered User
 
DanielAllsopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Northumberland, UK
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
Yeah, I've seen similar things happen with several languages/compilers/assemblers. Really annoying.

For those who use Notepad++ to code, you can find such characters using Search ==> Find characters in range ==> Non-ASCII. Quite useful
Other editors might also have similar options.
That's a very good point roondar... I've just found this for the Atom editor if anyone else uses it:

https://atom.io/packages/highlight-bad-chars

Seems to be a more common problem than I thought!
DanielAllsopp is offline  
Old 09 November 2021, 13:41   #10
coldacid
WinUAE 4000/40, V4SA
 
coldacid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: East of Oshawa
Posts: 538
If I'm not mistaken, support to identify BiDi directional characters and other such Unicode miscreants has been added to VSCode as of late and enabled by default.
coldacid is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
compil error VASM LeCaravage Coders. Asm / Hardware 8 26 January 2021 15:05
VASM: strange behaviour, quits with error 8 buzzybee Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 07 August 2020 23:06
error compiling vasm on windows Ami030 Coders. Asm / Hardware 3 28 December 2019 16:07
vasm/mot: include failed error message guy lateur Coders. Asm / Hardware 6 23 December 2018 20:29
VASM fatal error.. jimmy2x2x Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 21 November 2014 10:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:31.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07509 seconds with 13 queries