English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

Old 26 February 2021, 00:53   #1
carls

Question Freeing large linked lists

Greetings!
Complete newbie question, this one. I'm a rookie at C programming and certainly C programming on Amiga.

* I've written a program that constructs an arbitrarily-sized linked list of char pointers.
* I use malloc() for each item.
* free():ing the items gets rather slow even for "smallish" lists (say, 500 items or so).

If I don't free the list, the used memory is freed anyway by the OS - and it's blazingly fast! Should I even bother with free()? Is there another way to free the memory?

Considering the nature of my program I could pick a different approach than a linked list, but I'm curious about this particular issue. Any advice would be highly appreciated!
Old 26 February 2021, 01:28   #2
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer

Quote:
If I don't free the list, the used memory is freed anyway by the OS
This is not generally the case on AmigaOS, are you sure it is being freed?
Old 26 February 2021, 01:34   #3
carls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
This is not generally the case on AmigaOS, are you sure it is being freed?

I'm using a small program called MemLeak that counts the memory before and after execution. It reports no discrepancies, neither does Avail.
Old 26 February 2021, 01:45   #4
DMWCashy

If all the objects are the same size, you could use an arena memory pool, and then you only have to free the pool at program close. If you are creating and freeing the objects during runtime, you can create a free link list, and pull a slot out of there first before pulling more from the memory pool.

This also uses less memory, as each malloc has a header block of 8 bytes, which soon adds up. Heavy malloc use is not recommended on any platform.

Last edited by DMWCashy; 26 February 2021 at 01:53.
Old 26 February 2021, 02:01   #5
carls

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMWCashy View Post