English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hall Of Light > HOL data problems

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2021, 00:31   #1
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
Body Blows ECS/OCS has two versions!

Body Blows ECS/OCS: http://hol.abime.net/171

No mention there is a v1 and v2 version other than showing Version 1 / Version 2 on the Disk Scans! v1 has a confirmed mastering error on Track 5.0 of some copies and the v2 version was released to correct that error while adding extra features, cropped from an ebay listing:




So, should this informatione be included in the HOL entry?

It should also be mentioned that in THIS POST that refers to THIS ARTICLE that an upgrade disk was available seemingly before the release of the v2 version, you just sent your boot disk back with a cheque for £2.99 for the upgrade!
BarryB is offline  
Old 06 March 2021, 09:25   #2
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 43
Posts: 1,174
Very interesting. Sounds like their describing the AGA version, wasn't aware the ECS/OCS game got some nice improvements. Wonder if there's a version floating about the interwebs for download...
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 06 March 2021, 14:43   #3
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
There is the official IPF of the v2 version in the TOSEC SPS collection on the EAB Server in this folder:

/TOSEC/Games/SPS/Body Blows v2 (1993)(Team 17)[1147].zip
BarryB is offline  
Old 06 March 2021, 16:29   #4
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
There is the official IPF of the v2 version in the TOSEC SPS collection on the EAB Server in this folder:

/TOSEC/Games/SPS/Body Blows v2 (1993)(Team 17)[1147].zip
That is interesting! I'm sure I had the original game back in the day. I may still have it in storage! If I do find it, how can I tell which version it is?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 00:36   #5
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
v1 doesn't have any promo screens for Superfrog or Overdrive after the Team 17 logo fades out and there is no 'Arcade Game' option on the main menu!
BarryB is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 00:37   #6
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
v1 doesn't have any promo screens for Superfrog or Overdrive after the Team 17 logo fades out!
Someone .might have cracked this to 3 disks like the original.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 00:47   #7
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
Really? Who could that be? Did they ever release it?
BarryB is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 01:30   #8
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Really? Who could that be? Did they ever release it?
Apparently its being playtested to ensure the entire game is present.

There are.more.bugs in the game.

1. Track 5 mastering error (but it doesn't affect the game)

2. Adverts for other team 17 games missing

3. No shadows

4. Disk swapping routine often doesn't work beyond df1, so if you put all three disks in each drive, it often doesn't even search df2 for disk 3

5. when you fight against the t17 character, there is no speech to announce it, it just reuses the speech from the previous opponent.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 01:49   #9
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
Guess that's why v2 exists?
BarryB is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 11:31   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,093
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Guess that's why v2 exists?
very possibly !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 12:50   #11
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
v1 still needs a 100% crack though
BarryB is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 14:13   #12
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
v1 still needs a 100% crack though
I refer you to response #6 in this very thread
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 14:24   #13
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
I refer you to response #6 in this very thread
Which group is 'Someone' in then?
FAIRly sure it will soon come to LIGHT and give the SCOOP on the EXcellent cracker
BarryB is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 15:33   #14
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,805
Sadly I think someone has been messing with the collection! Its not in name order any more! Grrr... although I came across a familiar name @Bloodwych lol

Oh and another gem which really nice in game music : Blade of Destiny!

This one of 4 of such sized disks:

lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 22:09   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,093
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
What games do you have in this Posso box ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 23:16   #16
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
What games do you have in this Posso box ?
I was literally speaking to a friend and fellow EAB user regarding getting together at some point to collate all of these (when changes to lockdown allows)... I've got several apps/utilities too including the FinalWrite disks but I suspect a lot these are already available. If you had anything specific in mind, I could take a look but given the ordering seems to have been slightly out, it may take a while lol.

I will try and make a start if I can once things settle down...

Sadly, back in the day I didn't bother keeping boxes as they took up space and when I was storing these away I got rid of the manuals too!

A few years ago I gave my last remaining boxed games away to a friend who had a KryoFlux... he still has them, and still hasn't imaged the disks (not to mention the several hundred of the disks I gave him with apps, utils including atari disks - luckily the other 2 or 3 boxes of disks are still in storage at another friends place - unless he has thrown them out)

Last edited by lesta_smsc; 08 March 2021 at 08:52.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 17 March 2021, 13:44   #17
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
How is the crack/testing progressing?
BarryB is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 21:41   #18
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
Did Disk 2 ever have any errors? Have another version 1 copy that shows this for Disk 2 in disk-utilities:

T13.1: sectors 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11, missing
T14.1: sectors 6,7,8,9,10,11, missing
T15.1: sectors 9,10,11, missing
T16.1: sectors 11, missing
T17.1: sectors 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11, missing

Disks are clean, no dirt/mold on the surface and Disk 1 & 3 dump OK! Cleaned the upper surface to make sure but still get the same errors, even dumping those tracks on another drive, so bad disk or faulty mastering, leaning towards bad disk myself!
BarryB is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 21:48   #19
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Did Disk 2 ever have any errors? Have another version 1 copy that shows this for Disk 2 in disk-utilities:

T13.1: sectors 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11, missing
T14.1: sectors 6,7,8,9,10,11, missing
T15.1: sectors 9,10,11, missing
T16.1: sectors 11, missing
T17.1: sectors 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11, missing

Disks are clean, no dirt/mold on the surface and Disk 1 & 3 dump OK! Cleaned the upper surface to make sure but still get the same errors, even dumping those tracks on another drive, so bad disk or faulty mastering, leaning towards bad disk myself!
I would say bad disk. The reason is that PDOS disks need to be prepped first with a special PDOS formatter that sets the serial key for decoding, and its a one pass utility, where it can have start sector and amount of sectors to format, but it has no flexibility to produce the format like you describe.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 22:33   #20
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
I would say bad disk. The reason is that PDOS disks need to be prepped first with a special PDOS formatter that sets the serial key for decoding, and its a one pass utility, where it can have start sector and amount of sectors to format, but it has no flexibility to produce the format like you describe.
Thanks for the explanation, so it is a bad disk then! In fact, to back up what you wrote I just tried WHDLoad and it errors on track 27 on Disk 2 so it's definitely a bad disk!
BarryB is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Body Blows OCS/ECS Enhanced Version jurassicman support.Games 11 13 February 2021 18:43
Body Blows Ocs/ecs 3-disk Version? Old Fool request.Old Rare Games 6 10 April 2008 15:23
body blows ocs gifgit project.Sprites 5 24 May 2005 13:56
2 Body Blows questions: Body Blows: mirror effect, BBG: misplaced row. lilalurl support.Games 0 29 June 2004 14:01
Body Blows Galactic OCS and AGA - whdload new images haynor666 request.Old Rare Games 9 05 May 2003 20:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11969 seconds with 15 queries