English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 January 2005, 12:27   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Piccolo SD64 empty socket. What's it for?

I just bought a PiccoloSD64 RTG , in order to replace the picassoII I have, hoping that the SD64 behaves better with its autoconfig data on my busboard... But on the pic, I see there is an empty socket... what goes there? for what IC ? and for what reason?
Also, anyone has one? Is it good?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	piccolosd64.jpg
Views:	348
Size:	82.4 KB
ID:	7869  
keropi is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 13:18   #2
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 947
As this card can have either 2MB or 4MB of video RAM, I'd guess the socket is for a 2MB upgrade. Looks like it should be user-upgradable, too. There's a bit of info about the card here, but not much:

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showha...cgi?HARDID=454
ant512 is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 13:24   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
No, the ram sockets are above that "empty socket" see? some are even inside a rectangular, meaning that this is where u must place the extra 2mb... and the card already has 4MB installed... the empty socket reminds me of the vga bios, that many isa/vesa/pci cards have....
keropi is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 17:35   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,752
Just guessing, that's probably a socket for an "RTG ROM" (which most likely doesn't exist).
Jope is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 19:54   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
rtg rom????
keropi is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 21:57   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,752
You know, a ROM with RTG components in it so you can use the board's screen modes without installing CGX or P96.
Jope is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 07:44   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
ahhhhh..... it sounds nice.... if only it existed!
keropi is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 07:50   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,752
Well, the real benefits would probably be pretty small in comparison to a separately loaded RTG suite. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 08:11   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
nice then
keropi is offline  
Old 04 February 2005, 12:46   #10
chiark
 
Posts: n/a
Blimey someone else with one of these. I thought I was alone.

I *think* it's for an upgrade or sorts which will enable the SVHS and composite outputs, but it was never released. I'll update the Amiga Guide with stuff that I know about this - I still have the manual.
 
Old 04 February 2005, 13:24   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
ah, so the vhs and svhs do not work out of the box...
keropi is offline  
Old 04 February 2005, 13:30   #12
chiark
 
Posts: n/a
Unfortunately not. I don't think (and I could be wrong - I stopped amiga'ing in 1996 and have only just got back in the saddle) that Ing. Helfrich ever released any planned modules for it.
 
Old 04 February 2005, 13:41   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Fortunately I don't care about those outputs
How's the card though? Is it good? I am still waiting for it to arrive....
keropi is offline  
Old 04 February 2005, 16:42   #14
chiark
 
Posts: n/a
It's not bad. I reviewed it for CU Amiga or Amiga Computing "back in the day" and ended up buying it - it was that good.

A year or two later, I reviewed the CyberVision 64, which comprehensively beat it in terms of performance, but this could be because of the driver software rather than the card. I'd also got the CyberStorm 060 to review at the same time, and that combo really flew :-)

It'll come with EGS (Enhanced Graphics SOftware) by default, though both Picasso 96 and CyberGraphics have drivers for it. I'm just about to replace the EGS suite with Picasso 96... I'll let you know if there's any difference in performance.
 
Old 05 February 2005, 22:23   #15
Alex
Amiga Hardware Database
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiark
I don't think that Ing. Helfrich ever released any planned modules for it.
The video module was released, it activates the S-VHS and Composite outputs. Here's a photo of it: amiga.resource.cx/photos/photo.pl?id=piccolosd64
Alex is offline  
Old 05 February 2005, 22:41   #16
Alex
Amiga Hardware Database
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Posts: 23
Many other Amiga RTG cards have such an EPROM socket (EGS 28/24 Spectrum, EGS 110/24, Merlin, Piccolo, Rainbow II, Retina Z3, Visiona) but only the Retina Z3 has a ROM chip in it. The socket of Merlin is labeled as "RTG/device EPROM".
Alex is offline  
Old 06 February 2005, 11:55   #17
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
that module goes to the other connectors... so there was an eprom planned...
keropi is offline  
Old 06 February 2005, 12:36   #18
Alex
Amiga Hardware Database
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Posts: 23
As Jope said the ROM socket was meant for RTG drivers.
If Commodore had released official RTG librarires (and included them in Kickstart), graphics cards would have their specific drivers in their own ROM. This way the early startup menu would retarget too.
Alex is offline  
Old 07 February 2005, 11:08   #19
chiark
 
Posts: n/a
I stand corrected - thanks!
 
Old 11 February 2005, 07:36   #20
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I got and installed yesterday the SD64.... it is a very good card! Now I can ever use the os3.9 ROMUPDATE again, because the piccolo does not dissapear like the pII on my setup
but the picture has less quality than the pII one... it is not that clear...
keropi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating an empty hdf file Harko33 support.WinUAE 1 25 September 2011 23:46
Indivision with Piccolo SD64 slk486 support.Hardware 6 13 May 2010 10:40
Piccolo SD64 not working on Micronik busboard v4.02 Flashlab support.Hardware 9 08 October 2005 22:07
Piccolo video card colors dmrvf support.Hardware 0 02 June 2003 09:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10398 seconds with 14 queries