English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 07 December 2017, 12:31   #1
jagLally

Amiga A500 setup for development

Hi,

Many moons ago, when I was a lot younger, I had an Amiga A500 and wanted to program in C and Assembler on it. But beer and other fun at university prevented that happening. Recently I found myself wanting to scratch that itch - call it the geek midlife crisis with a computer rather than a Porsche/motorbike.

So I downloaded FS-UAE and written a "hello world" in C using vbcc. But it still wouldn't satisfy the itch and I set about purchasing the real thing.

It seems Amiga A1200 would have been my best bet but the prices... my god!! for a 30 year old hardware are astronomical on ebay. So I bought a A500 instead. I'm mainly going to write small programs to mess around with graphics etc in C and Assembler and an A500 would do I thought. I'm a Java programmer writing business software by day and feel the need to go to bare metal - kind of like hot rodding on cars.

Now I need to set up it up for a convenient workflow. I'm familiar with unix like environments so I intend to cross compile in vbcc on my Mac and then transfer to real hardware.

After all my rambling; the big question: What is the best way to expand and set up A500 for development convenience?

Hard Drive:

Is SCSI to Micro SD adaptor the best option? SCSI2MSD on amigastore.eu and ADASCSMSD on amigakit.amiga.store. They look like the same thing to me. Any other solutions out there for attaching a hard drive to A500 on kickstart 1.3?

Screen to Monitor:

I need the best picture quality. Using Amiga to Scart cable and then scart to HDMI converter and then finally a HDMI to DVI cable. My spare DELL monitor 2407wfpb has RGB, DVI and VGA input but no HDMI. I couldn't find any direct AMIGA to RGB cable and thought a scart to HDMI is a better bet to act as a scan doubler as well.