English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 November 2013, 00:15   #1
chapas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lisbon/Portugal
Posts: 17
Connecting Amiga 1200/500 to Arcade Monitor

Hi I have been using an RGB to SCART cable on my TV with my Amiga 500 and 1200 and I am very pleased with the quality of the image.

I also have an arcade cabinet with MAME, it has an Hantarex Polo 2 screen supporting 15 and 25 KHz and I'm using it with J-PAC interface from UltimArc.com I was thinking about using this monitor with my Amiga's.

Does anyone have an idea if this will work or what kind of cable should I have two put the Amiga image on screen?

Maybe SCART coupler (female-female) and SCART to VGA (female) connected on the JPAC would be enough.

Best regards,
chapas
chapas is offline  
Old 14 November 2013, 00:27   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapas View Post
Maybe SCART coupler (female-female) and SCART to VGA (female) connected on the JPAC would be enough
Hi chapas, and welcome to EAB!

Yes, if the Polo 2 supports 15kHz horizontal refresh rate and the J-PAC interface has a VGA socket, then you should be good to go with that.
prowler is offline  
Old 15 November 2013, 15:34   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,564
It's a good idea to have the j-pac in the middle, it'll make your life quite a bit easier. Just use a silver adapter and you should be good to go.



I can't remember whether the j-pac amplifies the video signal.. If not, then you might get a dark picture and then you'd have to adjust the monitor chassis a bit. At least the MTC9000 has an actual brightness pot, perhaps the Polo 2 has one too.. I'm a Wells Gardner man myself, a bit rusty with Hantarex monitors. ;-)

Last edited by Jope; 15 November 2013 at 15:45.
Jope is online now  
Old 15 November 2013, 21:38   #4
chapas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lisbon/Portugal
Posts: 17
Thanks,
I will buy the cable and the SCART coupler and try, can't do any harm I guess. Maybe i can even hookup the arcade sticks to Amiga game port.

Regards,
chapas
chapas is offline  
Old 16 November 2013, 08:03   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,564
The arcade sticks work the same as Atari sticks, so yes, you can hook them up either via the JAMMA card edge or directly connecting the sticks to the joystick port..
Jope is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500+ to VGA monitor JonB support.Hardware 13 03 April 2013 17:21
Connecting Amiga 1200 to Hantarex Polo/3 Arcade Monitor Blip support.Hardware 5 23 November 2011 10:04
A2000 monitor connecting MrFluffy support.Hardware 12 27 October 2008 12:13
Help Needed Connecting A500 to Monitor PHPHPH New to Emulation or Amiga scene 39 22 February 2007 22:12
WTB: Amiga 600, 500, 500 +, 1200 (NTSC) JeremyDay MarketPlace 2 30 November 2006 03:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10264 seconds with 13 queries