English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 30 May 2005, 15:16   #1
Bane

PCMCIA network setup problems - Many pics

Firstly I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Amiga and networking (separately and combined), so this has been a disaster waiting to happen.

Using an A1200HD 3.0 ROM, a 1230 32MB accelerator, and trying to install an Amigakit (3Com 3CCE589ET PCMCIA) network adaptor. This has been my second mess up, so now after advice on what I'm doing wrong, or alternative software to use.

I sure the problem relates to installation of AmiTCP 3.

After going through installation I get a password block on bootup.

Pressing enter to the above beings the following

I can bootup with Workbench 3.1 disk and bypass this as a temporary work around. But that messes up general workings of Workbench as it's bypassing HD stored files.

Looking at the installation, for user database

Brings up the following

Pressing enter brings this screen

I had planned to reformat Workbench partition and start again, but wanted to know if I can recover from this first.

Trying to start Easynet brings the following

Which I guess is caused due to the password problems I've got as no password should exist.

Someone put me out of misery. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Bane; 07 June 2005 at 19:55.
Old 31 May 2005, 12:04   #2
rare_j
Zone Friend

I cant remember how I did this originally, but this should help.

Edit amitcp:db/passwd in your favourite text editor. The first line should be root's login settings. The second value in this pipe-separated list is root's password. It's probably set to *.

Replace the * with the value in the screenshot I've attached. This should set root's password to be "rubbish". you can then change this to whatever you like using the app amitcp:bin/passwd

I'm going to be reinstalling amiTCP myself in a few days using a 3Com, so if you can wait till then I'll post full installation and configuration instructions for you.