English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Creation > Graphics

Old 18 August 2022, 23:57   #1
arpz

Easy PC -> Amiga IFF workflow?

I'm sure this has been asked countless times before but I had a bit of a search and tried something that I expected to work, that didn't. I want to make a demo but I am by no means a pixel artist. I think I could probably make a bit of a logo in photoshop though... I tried to do this with just a bit of text, one colour (though I think the JPG compression probably added lots more), exported as JPG, Loaded into Xnview and then converted to Amiga IFF. Used ADF Opus to create a blank ADF, copied my IFF to it, tried to open in DPaint 3 but nothing appeared at all after asking if I wanted to use the image format. What did I do wrong? Is there a better way to achieve what I'm going on about? Thanks in advance, from a long time lurker
Old 19 August 2022, 00:29   #2
mrv2k

I had this problem as XNView was saving it in 24bit rather than 8bit. There's a setting somewhere in it to change the output. I can't remember where. I switched to the commandline version called nconvert. It gave me much more control and supports IFF compression.
Old 19 August 2022, 08:42   #3
fxgogo
Also known as GarethQ

You can also get Photoshop to export a limited colour palette for you. I would not use JPG as well. It only deals with 24bit images in RGB or CMYK colour spaces. Rather use PNG. It has good support for limited colour palettes. I have not used XNview, but I use Irfanview and it supports IFF. There is a useful batch conversion utility that I use all the time to automate conversion of image sequences.
Old 19 August 2022, 10:01   #4
arpz

Thank you both - I'll try a combination of these tonight, much appreciated
Old 19 August 2022, 10:09   #5
fgh

grafX2 is a dpaint like pc program that can load/save iff (ilbm) files.
(Back in the day I used ADPro on the amiga, that’s still an option as well)
Old 19 August 2022, 10:18   #6
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee