English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 January 2023, 16:27   #21
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 47
Posts: 1,207
I have a TF1230 with 128mb ram on my A1200 and it also stops on this part. Very strange issue as the music keeps playing and the light ball just keeps spinning but it won’t load the next part.

I am running it via WHDload so it seems that makes no difference.
Superman is offline  
Old 10 January 2023, 17:04   #22
avongil
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Easton
Posts: 81
yes! That is what im talking about! If you wait long enough the music stops and then you just get the spinning ball.

I think the only thing I have not tried is pulling the 1230
avongil is offline  
Old 10 January 2023, 21:09   #23
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,611
funnily enough, that's the exact spot Nexus 7 fails under E-UAE on OS4.1 as well
vulture is offline  
Old 10 January 2023, 22:30   #24
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 1,354
The demo runs 100% perfect on original Amiga 4000/030
nikosidis is offline  
Old 11 January 2023, 05:03   #25
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 1,323
just tried on my 1200T (OS3.2.1 with 3.2 roms) with TF1260 (latest firmware) and can't get past first initial screen with music and clicking mouse gives a black screen and system hang. My A1200 with M-Tec030@50 runs its great so I'm assuming this demo was catered for an AGA 030 not 060.

I'm curious if the WHDLoad version would work on my TF1260 but does anyone know where to find the disk that the loader is asking for
klx300r is offline  
Old 11 January 2023, 08:34   #26
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 1,354
The demo was made for Amiga 1200 standard. 2MB chip.
The thing is that 030 is basically a 020 with more cache so it
is very compatible.
This demos is the best ever done for standard A1200.
Quite strange that there are so few demos with this configuration
as it is not difficult to see how great they can be.

Last edited by nikosidis; 11 January 2023 at 08:45.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 11 January 2023, 13:20   #27
lilwshu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 222
There is a known issue with this demo and a TF1260, it’s been identified so should be fixed in the next firmware release.
lilwshu is offline  
Old 11 January 2023, 13:44   #28
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
just tried on my 1200T (OS3.2.1 with 3.2 roms) with TF1260 (latest firmware) and can't get past first initial screen with music and clicking mouse gives a black screen and system hang. My A1200 with M-Tec030@50 runs its great so I'm assuming this demo was catered for an AGA 030 not 060.

I'm curious if the WHDLoad version would work on my TF1260 but does anyone know where to find the disk that the loader is asking for
Retroplay's stash includes all WHDfied demos https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61028

Nexus 7 (WHDLoad) only works on the original TF1260 firmware, lot of games and demos got broken with beta/alpha FW.
Aardvark is offline  
Old 11 January 2023, 15:55   #29
koobo
Registered User

koobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilwshu View Post
There is a known issue with this demo and a TF1260, it’s been identified so should be fixed in the next firmware release.
Do you perhaps know what the issue is?
koobo is offline  
Old 11 January 2023, 16:09   #30
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by koobo View Post
Do you perhaps know what the issue is?
TF explained it here at 32:34 mark [ Show youtube player ]
Aardvark is offline  
Old 11 January 2023, 20:04   #31
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 1,323
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardvark View Post
Retroplay's stash includes all WHDfied demos https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61028

Nexus 7 (WHDLoad) only works on the original TF1260 firmware, lot of games and demos got broken with beta/alpha FW.

ah thanks didn't know this
klx300r is offline  
Old 11 January 2023, 20:06   #32
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 1,323
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
The demo was made for Amiga 1200 standard. 2MB chip.
The thing is that 030 is basically a 020 with more cache so it
is very compatible.
This demos is the best ever done for standard A1200.
Quite strange that there are so few demos with this configuration
as it is not difficult to see how great they can be.

amazing that it runs on stock 1200 with no Fast Ram
klx300r is offline  
Old 11 January 2023, 20:33   #33
paraj
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denmark
Posts: 500
FWIW on my Blizzard 060/50 it gets stuck in the initial spinning galaxy part in a similar way (music+effect keeps going on) even with caches disabled. I can't be bothered to debug it, but I think it's likely the demo is simply syncing with the music by checking if it's reached a specific pattern/row using an equality comparison and running it with a too fast setup makes it never progress.

(Which is why I disable the accelerator and boot with no SS when I want to see it , remember to have it available on a non-PFS3 volume though)
paraj is offline  
Old 14 January 2023, 09:40   #34
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 314
This is apparently a caching niggle, and was addressed in an update as a "feature" toggle for the ACA1234 cards. You can read a bit more about that here.

Can confirm that the demo works flawlessly on the ACA1234 with the setting enabled.
Damion is offline  
Old 17 January 2023, 04:58   #35
avongil
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Easton
Posts: 81
So, I got it running with the accelerator in place!

Disabled cache and set to PAL mode. The PAL mode is key, just disabling the cache does not work. This is now possible because I fitted an Indivision AGA MK3.

Not sure what magic happened, but it works!

By god, is that an amazing demo. If I would have seen that in 94, I would have not believed it - especially on a 14mhz 020 with 2mb of ram total.

avongil is offline  
Old 17 January 2023, 14:05   #36
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 47
Posts: 1,207
Nice that you got it running finally. NOCACHE tooltype doesn't fix it for the TF1230 card though unfortunately.
Superman is offline  
Old 17 January 2023, 16:03   #37
avongil
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Easton
Posts: 81
I rebooted , held in the two mouse buttons did it there... Maybe try that. Did the PAL switch there too. Started without startup sequence and ran it from the shell.

Last edited by avongil; 17 January 2023 at 16:16.
avongil is offline  
Old 26 January 2023, 17:16   #38
avongil
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Easton
Posts: 81
I replaced my Apollo with a TF1230. Boy is it much nicer in every way!

Nexus7 does work, but you must start up in PAL mode. Not sure why, but it works! Give it a shot.
avongil is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AGA Demo that is actually a ECS Demo Torti-the-Smurf support.Demos 10 12 April 2021 19:32
Genesis Demo and 3.9 key hangs on A600? amigappc support.Apps 6 29 January 2021 13:35
Yet another "plz help me find a demo" thead! AGA demo w/ texturemapped building ruinatokyo request.Demos 1 26 September 2013 17:29
FIXED: Speedball (Hangs during demo play) amiganer project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 21 07 August 2007 15:25
Nexus7 BippyM support.Demos 8 23 July 2005 09:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14058 seconds with 14 queries