English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2023, 23:26   #1
spacebiscuit
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 68
How to load an ISO

I read a recommendation to play Wasted Dreams which I found and downloaded as an iso. How can I load this on my real A600. I guess an iso is a disc image so is this for the CD32?

I have a compact flash in the PCMCIA which I use typically load games from WHDLoad.

Thanks in advance...
spacebiscuit is offline  
Old 23 January 2023, 23:50   #2
Snoopy1234
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 234
http://aminet.net/search?query=diskimage
Snoopy1234 is offline  
Old 24 January 2023, 00:06   #3
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 794
This Game doesn´t have any CD Audio Tracks, so if you have enough Space on your Compact Flash Card
then copy the files there and play it that way.

The Easiest way would to mount the Iso in WinUAE and then transfer the files.

Or you can "open" the Iso with 7Zip and copy the files directly to your Fat32 Formated
PCMCIA Card.

The choice is yours ... There are a few ways to do that.

(don"t waste space with the intro. The intro only works on AGA Amigas)

Hope that helped you.

Greetings,
Torti

PS: If you like i can upload it "ready" four you into the Zone

Last edited by Torti-the-Smurf; 24 January 2023 at 00:17. Reason: adding the PS
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 24 January 2023, 00:17   #4
spacebiscuit
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 68
Thanks, yes I copy the games to the CF in WinUAE with the compact flash mounted. So you are saying I should mount the actual Iso, if so that is neat and I didn't realise that could be done. With the contents copied across presumably I will end up with a folder which I can then browse to an executable?
spacebiscuit is offline  
Old 24 January 2023, 00:20   #5
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 794
exactly

Last edited by Torti-the-Smurf; 24 January 2023 at 00:38. Reason: shorten the text :)
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 24 January 2023, 00:32   #6
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 794
Hope you had success

Last edited by Torti-the-Smurf; 24 January 2023 at 14:43.
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 24 January 2023, 15:38   #7
spacebiscuit
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 68
I managed to mount the archive, but that just gives me access to the iso within the emulator where I am testing. How do I execute the iso, when I double click it it opens the "execute command" window, the commnad is the name of the file in quotations. If I click ok it tries to open it and I get "file is not executable".

I also tried mounting the iso as a CD/Drive but I do not get an icon on the workbench.

I guess I am missing a step?

Last edited by spacebiscuit; 24 January 2023 at 16:24.
spacebiscuit is offline  
Old 24 January 2023, 19:29   #8
Weasel Fierce
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Michigan
Posts: 608
For a couple of CD games I was able to copy over all the game files, then create an ASSIGN so the system thinks the folder is the CD ROM.

For mounting ISO images, I use Imagemount which is dead easy to use and runs fine on a modest system. Im not sure if it works on an unexpanded system.
Weasel Fierce is online now  
Old 24 January 2023, 19:56   #9
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 959
If you want to mount image in WinUAE you could add the ISO under CD & Hard drives -> Optical media options -> Select image.

If you want to mount the image under AmigaOS on real hardware you could try something like MountISO from Aminet.

If you're going to copy the files in the ISO to the Amiga, try doing it under Amiga environment (like AmigaOS in WinUAE) to keep the protection bits of the files etc.
Perhaps make a splitted lha archive or something like that.

EDIT: also note that you need 2MB + 1MB fast it seems to run it. http://hol.abime.net/1674

Last edited by fryguy; 24 January 2023 at 20:06.
fryguy is offline  
Old 24 January 2023, 23:51   #10
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 69
Posts: 7,784
On WinUAE it is also possible to mount the CD (ISO) in the traditional way through a Mountlist (CD0), you can also see the audio tracks.

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 25 January 2023, 03:42   #11
AmiClassic
Registered User

AmiClassic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: PL
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacebiscuit View Post
I read a recommendation to play Wasted Dreams which I found and downloaded as an iso. How can I load this on my real A600. I guess an iso is a disc image so is this for the CD32?

I have a compact flash in the PCMCIA which I use typically load games from WHDLoad.

Thanks in advance...
I don't know if you have a turbo card in this A600?

If DiskImage, then Thore Böckelmann's version is the best, but it requires an 020+ processor and then mounting ISO looks like this:
DiskImage - mount ISO

You can also try ImageMount and then ISO mounting looks like this:
ImageMount - mount ISO
AmiClassic is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pong 4k iso ItsTheSmell support.Games 4 04 December 2020 03:29
ISO images scuzz support.WinUAE 19 22 September 2020 02:15
Load CD32 games from an ISO? Akira support.Hardware 5 16 March 2014 20:22
CD ISO`s Megamix support.Other 6 03 September 2009 21:55
cd32 iso Ryan_clemens support.WinUAE 1 17 August 2002 07:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08142 seconds with 14 queries