English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 March 2011, 12:26   #1
ruffian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: leeds/uk
Posts: 66
Help unpacking .lzx file

Hi

I've read some of the threads here about unpacking .lzx files but I'm still confused. Basically, I've got the .lzx file in the harddisks/programs folder of WinUAE but don't know how to unpack it?

Or can it be done in windows and then move the extracted files to that directory in WinUAE?

Thanks for your time.

(Using workbench3.1hdf on WinUAE1.5.0 and Windows XP)
ruffian is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 12:30   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
http://aminet.net/package/util/arc/lzx121r1 and

http://aminet.net/package/util/arc/LZX121r_pch

Use this command line utility from the shell within WinUAE or on a real Amiga.

There is a Windows command line utility to extract LZX archives called, IIRC UNLZX, but the Amiga application is far superior IMHO.

Edit: For an example of a Windows UNLZX application, have a look here:
http://www.mindcreations.com/projects/ports/lzx.php

Last edited by prowler; 18 March 2011 at 12:42.
prowler is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 12:45   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,364
Or use newer version and mount the file as a harddrive ("select archive or plain file") or drag and drop the lzx file to WinUAE window.

Then use some filemanager or shell to copy files from new virtual harddrive.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 12:48   #4
ruffian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: leeds/uk
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
http://aminet.net/package/util/arc/lzx121r1 and

http://aminet.net/package/util/arc/LZX121r_pch

Use this command line utility from the shell within WinUAE or on a real Amiga.

There is a Windows command line utility to extract LZX archives called, IIRC UNLZX, but the Amiga application is far superior IMHO.

Edit: For an example of a Windows UNLZX application, have a look here:
http://www.mindcreations.com/projects/ports/lzx.php
Ok, i downloaded that, where do I extract it to within UAE? The text file mentions that you must place the keyfile in the L: directory?

I'm afraid i'm not very good when it comes to using command lines..could you expand a bit further? Thanks.
ruffian is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 12:57   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruffian View Post
Ok, i downloaded that, where do I extract it to within UAE? The text file mentions that you must place the keyfile in the L: directory?

I'm afraid i'm not very good when it comes to using command lines..could you expand a bit further? Thanks.
You can extract the file unlzx wherever you wish within WinUAE. You won't need the keyfile for extracting files with this utility. However, for simplicity, you may wish to extract it to the directory containing the LZX archive you are trying to extract.

You can run it from the shell by navigating to the directory where you extracted the file and typing unlxz for a list of command line options.
prowler is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 13:08   #6
ruffian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: leeds/uk
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
You can extract the file unlzx wherever you wish within WinUAE. You won't need the keyfile for extracting files with this utility. However, for simplicity, you may wish to extract it to the directory containing the LZX archive you are trying to extract.

You can run it from the shell by navigating to the directory where you extracted the file and typing unlxz for a list of command line options.
Great! Thanks for that. I also want to shortly move my WinUAE from one PC HD to another? What would be the simplest way of doing this? If I saved the WinUAE HD to a memory stick, reinstalled WinUAE on the new PC HD and then copied the WinUAE HD back into it, would that work? I don't want to lose the WinUAE HD configuration but presumably, just copying the whole WinUAE folder to a stick wouldn't work as a reinstall of the basic program would be necessary?

Again, thanks for your time!
ruffian is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 13:31   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 24,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruffian View Post
I don't want to lose the WinUAE HD configuration but presumably, just copying the whole WinUAE folder to a stick wouldn't work as a reinstall of the basic program would be necessary?
Not really. Have a look here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=58153 (post #3)
TCD is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 13:47   #8
ruffian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: leeds/uk
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Not really. Have a look here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=58153 (post #3)
So how would I use "winuae -portable"? What would I practically have to do to get my current WinUAE and all is contents onto another PC...in simple terms that even I can understand
ruffian is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 13:55   #9
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 24,047
Well, since your HD settings are saved in a .uae file, you can simply copy your WinUAE folder over without caring about it being portable. WinUAE will start on the new machine and you will only lose your last disk and path information (should take max 2 minutes to set them again). That would be the easiest way
TCD is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 14:48   #10
ruffian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: leeds/uk
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Well, since your HD settings are saved in a .uae file, you can simply copy your WinUAE folder over without caring about it being portable. WinUAE will start on the new machine and you will only lose your last disk and path information (should take max 2 minutes to set them again). That would be the easiest way
I thank you!
ruffian is offline  
Old 20 March 2011, 02:58   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Edit: For an example of a Windows UNLZX application, have a look here:
http://www.mindcreations.com/projects/ports/lzx.php
Bahh...
You got me perfectly trapped with your "Windows UNLZX app"!

Because I was hoping so much that someone had finally started working on an unlzx port with a GUI, so that people do not always have to mess around in DOS prompt...
andreas is offline  
Old 11 May 2022, 01:54   #12
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Or use newer version and mount the file as a harddrive ("select archive or plain file") or drag and drop the lzx file to WinUAE window.

Then use some filemanager or shell to copy files from new virtual harddrive.
Thanks a lot Toni for this old post. I was going crazy trying to unpack a very large lzx file with DOPus (a lot of errors, dunno why), but using WinUAE and adding the lzx as a plain file it worked. I only found a "Fran"ais.info" file not found that I don't mind at all.

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 May 2022 at 02:00.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 May 2022, 02:38   #13
-TCB!-
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10
Or you can use Total Commander + unLZX plugin
https://totalcmd.net/plugring/UnLZX.html
-TCB!- is offline  
Old 11 May 2022, 07:55   #14
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 895
If you would have XAD installed on your Amiga setup, you could unpack amost any archiving format with just one command (for example, "xadunfile archive.lzx ram:" in the Shell). There are also many GUI programs for unarchiving that use the XAD system.
jPV is offline  
Old 11 May 2022, 13:08   #15
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,095
If somebody wants to extract lzx archives into Windows drawers he can also try Universal Extractor 2 (UniExtract2) from:
https://github.com/Bioruebe/UniExtract2#download

https://github.com/Bioruebe/UniExtra...ExtractRC3.zip

This tool can extract nearly everything under Windows.
PeterK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dms unpacking bug Crashdisk support.WinUAE 8 25 March 2012 00:14
Unpacking Dms files amigafan1200 support.Other 10 25 November 2009 20:19
Unpacking Quarterback archives mai request.Apps 5 11 January 2009 00:22
Problems unpacking games Gnorman project.WHDLoad 2 25 February 2006 01:50
LZX unpacking??? Medvind support.Apps 25 27 November 2002 12:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13608 seconds with 13 queries