English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 April 2022, 13:27   #1
sahowe1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Leicester
Posts: 5
Squamble background collision not working

Hi,

Playing PD game Sqamble. Everything is fine apart from the ship doesn't collide with the ground, has anyone got any idea if there is a WINUAE setting I should try.

This is the latest WINUAE 4.9.1 - KS1.3, OCS, with collision set to full.

Thanks.

Last edited by sahowe1; 26 April 2022 at 10:57.
sahowe1 is offline  
Old 25 April 2022, 13:49   #2
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 39
Posts: 941
Find "collision level" in chipset setting and thick full.
Cobe is offline  
Old 25 April 2022, 13:59   #3
sahowe1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Leicester
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
Find "collision level" in chipset setting and thick full.
Already tried this.

The last winuae I tried it on was 3.2.2 and it didn't work then either.

This was the first game I played on my shiny new Amiga 1500 back in '92 so I'd really like to play it once again!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	89
Size:	23.9 KB
ID:	75428   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture2.JPG
Views:	48
Size:	77.2 KB
ID:	75429  

Last edited by sahowe1; 25 April 2022 at 18:38.
sahowe1 is offline  
Old 25 April 2022, 14:35   #4
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,291
Just checked in the last official winuae 4.9.1 (QS A500 1.3 512+512 with chipset/collision level = Full) and its not working!? (last fine on winuae 4.9.0)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 25 April 2022, 15:33   #5
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 60
Posts: 756
Tried it with the last beta beta 0 and no collision with ground no matter what you set..

Nice find..
Mclane is offline  
Old 25 April 2022, 18:03   #6
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 405
Confirmed.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Squamble (19xx)(Skyline)[t +4 LGD].zip (183.3 KB, 18 views)
Zarnal is offline  
Old 25 April 2022, 18:33   #7
R-TEAM
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 72
similar problem ....
No collision from the player sprite to anything (weapons/enemys)


http://aminet.net/game/shoot/galactoid.lha


Regards
R-TEAM is offline  
Old 25 April 2022, 18:51   #8
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by R-TEAM View Post
similar problem ....
No collision from the player sprite to anything (weapons/enemys)


http://aminet.net/game/shoot/galactoid.lha


Regards

Exact. Since 4.9.0.

Last edited by Zarnal; 26 April 2022 at 10:51.
Zarnal is offline  
Old 26 April 2022, 10:50   #9
sahowe1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Leicester
Posts: 5
I just tried Squamble on 4.9.0 and the collision works perfectly! Thanks everyone
sahowe1 is offline  
Old 26 April 2022, 10:54   #10
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahowe1 View Post
I just tried Squamble on 4.9.0 and the collision works perfectly! Thanks everyone

Yes, but they no longer work with WinUae 4.9.1 (latest official version).

You have therefore discovered a new technical issue.

Last edited by Zarnal; 26 April 2022 at 11:00.
Zarnal is offline  
Old 27 April 2022, 15:04   #11
sahowe1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Leicester
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarnal View Post
Yes, but they no longer work with WinUae 4.9.1 (latest official version).

You have therefore discovered a new technical issue.
Yes agreed, actually after checking moving left (backwards) doesn't work correctly on Squamble in 4.9.0 but did work in 4.9.1
sahowe1 is offline  
Old 27 April 2022, 15:30   #12
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 405
Yes, the real problem with this game is that the collisions with the bottom of screen not currently work with WinUae 4.9.1 even in "Full" level collision mode.
Zarnal is offline  
Old 30 April 2022, 19:09   #13
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 405
We (AF) will be testing a real A500 soon (Squamble and Galactoid).

I will let you know as soon as they are finished.
Zarnal is offline  
Old 30 April 2022, 19:40   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,364
Statefile that shows the problem almost immediately would be nice
(still working with UAE 68000 IPL accuracy, not much time for anything else until it is done)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 April 2022, 20:16   #15
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Statefile that shows the problem almost immediately would be nice
(still working with UAE 68000 IPL accuracy, not much time for anything else until it is done)

Here are the statefiles:


Squamble : Collisions in red zone do not work. The ship enters the red background instead of exploding (Collision Level Full required). Since WinUae 4.9.1.



Galactoid : Alien shots have no effect on the ship. Same thing for the aliens that collide with the ship. Other collisions are working.
Note: The glitch ( it's other thing with this game ) on the left may be normal in OCS (I will see during the hardware test) because it is not present with ECS Agnus. Since WinUae 4.9.0.
Attached Files
File Type: uss Squamble.uss (344.4 KB, 19 views)
File Type: uss Galactoid.uss (111.0 KB, 19 views)
Zarnal is offline  
Old 01 May 2022, 16:46   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,364
Fixed. There was 2 bugs.

- sprite to bitplane collisions didn't work if display hdiw was "always on" (end position out of range).
- bitplane to bitplane collision only worked if same scanline had at least one enabled sprite.

I did test it with game Rotor which uses bitplane to bitplane collisions but unfortunately part of player ship is made from sprites..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 May 2022, 13:13   #17
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 60
Posts: 756
Hi Tony, are these fixes incorporated in the non beta beta ie

https://download.abime.net/winuae/files/b/winuae.7z

I checked the latest one with a timestamp of 15:58 yesterday but Squamble still not registering collision. Apologies if the fix is not in that version. I know it's not exactly an item that's top of your list at the moment.
Mclane is offline  
Old 02 May 2022, 13:17   #18
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclane View Post
Hi Tony, are these fixes incorporated in the non beta beta ie

https://download.abime.net/winuae/files/b/winuae.7z

I checked the latest one with a timestamp of 15:58 yesterday but Squamble still not registering collision. Apologies if the fix is not in that version.

All is ok for me with latest dev version.

Have you actived " Full Level Collisions " ( Chipset menu ) in your config ? It's required with this game. Standard Quickstart A500 is not enough.
Zarnal is offline  
Old 02 May 2022, 13:21   #19
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 60
Posts: 756
Same link as in my post?

I'm still getting the 15:58 one...

Not the end of the world

Thanks..
Mclane is offline  
Old 02 May 2022, 13:23   #20
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 60
Posts: 756
Ack, that could be the case, I forgot as standard it does not set it to full...Will test...Thanks for the tip!

Edit: Yup, that fixed it...My memory is getting bad...Thank you!
Mclane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Collision detection geldo79 Coders. Asm / Hardware 4 30 November 2020 13:17
Collision Detection sandruzzo Coders. General 5 10 June 2016 12:50
Sprite collision help Shatterhand Coders. Blitz Basic 8 12 December 2015 23:02
Collision detection: 2 doubts nandius_c Coders. Asm / Hardware 6 30 November 2014 00:53
Slamtilt and RTC collision Predseda support.Games 5 22 August 2009 22:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10023 seconds with 14 queries