English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 April 2022, 17:53   #21
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,364
After quick check: it crashes when level 3 interrupt returns with RTE because return address appears to be corrupted in stack.

Debugging more later today..

EDIT: Above was only a side-effect.

It probably does crash because new functions are NULL but DACSWITCH bit is set. "-p96test 1" will "fix" that. But didn't you say it also crashes _without_ the command line parameter?
So is there two different problems?

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 26 April 2022 at 18:13.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 April 2022, 21:21   #22
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 1,965
Yes, I can reproduce it even without "-p96test 1"
hexaae is offline  
Old 26 April 2022, 21:48   #23
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Yes, I can reproduce it even without "-p96test 1"
I meant the opposite. I can duplicate it without p96test but there is no crash with p96test.

Which means there must be some other reason too.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 April 2022, 22:00   #24
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I meant the opposite. I can duplicate it without p96test but there is no crash with p96test.

Which means there must be some other reason too.
Double checked and indeed you're right: my minimal HDF + included cfg + "-p96test 1" and I can't reproduce the crash here too!
hexaae is offline  
Old 26 April 2022, 22:27   #25
SID-6581
Registered User
SID-6581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Oldenburg/Germany
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I can't duplicate. More details needed (for example if it works in plain 3.1 WB)

It can't be uaegfx crashing because it is 99% of host side native code and if it crashes, whole emulator would crash

I also had a uaegfx error after using the P96 driver v.3.3.0. This happened to me with amiberry 5.1. I described the problem here: https://forum.icomp.de/index.php?thr...-3-0-released/


Apparently there is a uaegfx upstream bug. Since Dimitris writes there that he merges in any upstream changes from WinUAE directly into Amiberry, I hope not to be offtopic.

Last edited by SID-6581; 26 April 2022 at 22:33.
SID-6581 is offline  
Old 27 April 2022, 17:45   #26
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,741
Thanks Toni for working this out. So, I believe, we can close this issue now and mark it as resolved?
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 27 April 2022, 17:57   #27
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,364
It seems to be (bug report wasn't very clear..).

Unfortunately I am not going to release any updates soon so possible options are:
- WinUAE 4.9.0 or earlier.
- Older Picasso96.
- Temporary workaround added to Picasso96 that also checks NULL pointers even if DACSWITCH is set.
- EDIT: 4.9.1 + -p96test 1 command line parameter. (which is not something normal users want)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 April 2022, 09:21   #28
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 407
Older Picasso96 is a problematic solution for some - iComp shop only allows uou to download the latest one (shame on them!), there is no option to get the historic releases. And the free Aminet version is very dated and (in my experience) buggy.
Romanujan is offline  
Old 28 April 2022, 18:12   #29
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 1,965
I personally backup every release, but I agree iComp should keep old backup archives too.
hexaae is offline  
Old 28 April 2022, 21:25   #30
rutra80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 162
IIRC they even limit number of downloads
rutra80 is offline  
Old 29 April 2022, 06:54   #31
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,741
No, that's only the shop system. You can always ask for more downloads within your support period. Anyhow, keeping backups is a duty of your own.
Thomas Richter is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS4 crash with UAEGFx High Color @UAE support.WinUAE 1 26 August 2021 11:48
P96 UAEGFX / PicassoIV LoadView arcanist support.WinUAE 17 18 July 2019 18:32
Slow window dragging MCX2.8 and P96/UAEgfx Dunny New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 18 January 2018 22:40
OpenPCI-Permedia2 P96-Driver Ratte News 0 23 February 2015 11:00
Picasso96, how to activate uaegfx driver ? Maverick357 support.WinUAE 7 21 February 2011 14:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11861 seconds with 15 queries